Author Topic: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem  (Read 10207 times)

Tabizzle

  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Whenever I run the team avalanche graphical overhaul setup, it says I do not have Aali's custom driver installed (But I do!). I read the FAQ, and it told me to download Aali's custom driver 0.7.5 as well as the reg file. I downloaded 0.7.5 as it told me to, however I do not see any ff7_opengl.reg or ff7_opengl_vista64bit.reg. I have windows 7 64 bit, can somone upload ff7_opengl_vista64bit.reg separately for me?

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #1 on: 2010-08-11 17:11:07 »
You don't need to do that any more. Download the latest version of Aali's driver (0.7.8b) and follow the instructions. Make sure that ff7.exe is upgraded with the ff71.02 patch as well. No more fiddling with .reg files is needed.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #2 on: 2010-08-11 17:42:52 »
You don't need to do that any more. Download the latest version of Aali's driver (0.7.8b) and follow the instructions. Make sure that ff7.exe is upgraded with the ff71.02 patch as well. No more fiddling with .reg files is needed.

Actually this is untrue. The installer looks for the driver in a way that is incompatible with the newer versions. So the installer thinks the driver is not installed. So the reg file from the old version is needed for the installer to think that the driver is installed. I should get around to fixing this...

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #3 on: 2010-08-11 17:44:22 »
Really? I'm sure that I didn't have any .reg files lying around the last time I installed the overhaul...

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #4 on: 2010-08-11 17:58:51 »
Really? I'm sure that I didn't have any .reg files lying around the last time I installed the overhaul...

If you had ever had an older version of the driver installed the proper info would be in your registry already.

edit: download 0.7.3b, it contains the reg files.
« Last Edit: 2010-08-11 18:04:19 by sl1982 »

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #5 on: 2010-08-11 18:06:04 »
I don't think this was the case; I built my current PC in May. I'll have a look into it.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #6 on: 2010-08-11 18:27:53 »
What does it check for anyway? The relevant registry entries are still set, so does it actually check for the .reg file or what?

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #7 on: 2010-08-11 18:29:54 »
It checks to see if HKLM SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Graphics\ Driver = 3 or HKLM SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Graphics\ Driver = 3 depending on 32/64 bit

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #8 on: 2010-08-11 18:32:32 »
But the modified FF7Config sets those, so you'd just have to run that.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #9 on: 2010-08-11 18:36:32 »
But the modified FF7Config sets those, so you'd just have to run that.

Well I guess the installer is doing its job and people aren't setting up your driver properly before they install.

Tabizzle

  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #10 on: 2010-08-11 19:56:26 »
Thanks, it worked after I used the registry files. But there's a little glitch. Barret's BLACK! and so is Cloud's sword:

(Im using the high res mod)
« Last Edit: 2010-08-11 20:12:48 by Tabizzle »

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #11 on: 2010-08-11 20:15:44 »
Thanks, it worked after I used the registry files. But there's a little glitch. Barret's BLACK! and so is Cloud's sword:
(Im using the high res mod)

Except that it is not working. Run the FF7config and set the graphics to custom driver. You may also need to run as admin.

Tabizzle

  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #12 on: 2010-08-11 20:31:12 »
Thanks, it worked after I used the registry files. But there's a little glitch. Barret's BLACK! and so is Cloud's sword:
(Im using the high res mod)

Except that it is not working. Run the FF7config and set the graphics to custom driver. You may also need to run as admin.
I ran FF7 Config as admin, a window popped up saying I passed the test, and I set it to custom driver. Barret still appears black.
Edit: i fixed cloud's sword by replacing battle.lgp with a backup.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #13 on: 2010-08-11 20:46:50 »
I meant run ff7 as admin.

Tabizzle

  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #14 on: 2010-08-11 20:56:48 »
Still doesn't work :/
But the weird thing is that after I uninstalled overhaul, the glitch is still present.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #15 on: 2010-08-11 21:08:10 »
Because the uninstall isn't functional.

Tabizzle

  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #16 on: 2010-08-12 14:25:40 »
So is there a way to fix this? :(

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3746
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Team Avalanche Graphical Overhual Installation problem
« Reply #17 on: 2010-08-12 16:37:34 »
Yeah, get aali's driver working properly and you will be able to play things just fine.