Author Topic: SOLVED: FF7 fails to load, error message at startup  (Read 2284 times)

surnek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hello. I decided to play FF7 again but this time I wanted to mod it. This was my first attempt at running any mods. I decided to follow the guide here--->http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=11248.0. All was going well I was able to run the game using remix but after I moved on to the next step "Installing the latest custom Aali graphics driver for FF7." I could not get the game to load and would get an error message telling me "oops, something very bad has happened." I don't know if that tells you anything. after I failed I started over from scratch and the same thing happened. This time I decided to complete the guide anyway to no avail. as far as I can tell I followed the directions to the letter.

Here is my app.log

INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.10b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series 4.0.10151 Compatibility Profile Context
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1600x1200, output resolution 1600x1200, internal resolution 1920x1440
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 64, vert uniform 1024, frag uniform 1024
INFO: vertex shader compile log:
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: fragment shader compile log:
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.
INFO: main program link log:
Fragment shader(s) linked, vertex shader(s) linked.

INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth, mid=1, pid=27,
midi data type: GENERAL MIDI
using midi data file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\Data\midi\midi.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED
ERROR: unhandled exception



Please ask me for any information you might need to help you help me.
« Last Edit: 2011-06-28 00:26:55 by Bosola »

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3573
  • Karma: 16
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #1 on: 2011-03-19 06:03:15 »
Turn off texture compression in ff7opengl.cfg

therage800

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • TheRage800
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #2 on: 2011-03-19 06:18:29 »
Does anyone ever actually read the forums before posting a problem? This same question has about 10 threads now...  ::)

surnek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #3 on: 2011-03-19 06:37:52 »
Turn off texture compression in ff7opengl.cfg

Thank you this worked.

Does anyone ever actually read the forums before posting a problem? This same question has about 10 threads now...  ::)

Is this a common problem? sorry about that I read through the first 5 or so pages of posts and could find nothing similar to my problem. and had no luck with the search function since I didn't really know what I was doing wrong :)

Thanks again for your help its much appreciated.


Also just had to edit again even after only a few minutes of playing this feels like a whole new game. so a big thanks to everyone who came up with these mods. they look great!
« Last Edit: 2011-03-19 06:52:57 by surnek »

Jaitsu

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: 0
  • DON'T FWOOSH ME BRO
    • View Profile
    • Jaitsu Studios
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #4 on: 2011-03-19 07:01:37 »
least he's polite and honest, better then some new guys from the past

therage800

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 178
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
    • TheRage800
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #5 on: 2011-03-19 08:38:42 »
least he's polite and honest, better then some new guys from the past

Yep, I agree. Now that that's out of the way, surnek, welcome to the Qhimm.com forums. BTW, Jaitsu, how come you don't post on the off days?
« Last Edit: 2011-03-19 08:41:25 by therage800 »

Jaitsu

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: 0
  • DON'T FWOOSH ME BRO
    • View Profile
    • Jaitsu Studios
Re: FF7-Game fails to load, error message at startup
« Reply #6 on: 2011-03-20 06:54:49 »
least he's polite and honest, better then some new guys from the past

Yep, I agree. Now that that's out of the way, surnek, welcome to the Qhimm.com forums. BTW, Jaitsu, how come you don't post on the off days?

meh, just ever depends on what's interesting to me and my mood :P