Author Topic: [FF7PC-98] The Reunion (OLD THREAD, SAVED FOR POSTERITY)  (Read 1006008 times)

Assassin1344

  • Guest
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #150 on: 2011-06-28 01:18:28 »
I found this site about 3 days ago and I'm loving the improvements to FF7 that I never knew existed.  However when I try and run the game with this mod It pops up with a box that says "You have an error in your config file, some options may not have been parsed.(no such option 'mod_path')" then when I close that box the game crashes. I know next to nothing about how to even attempt to fix it on my own which is why I am asking for help. I have FF7 remix and AC avatars installed if this mod is incompatible with either of those. I apologize if this is a stupid question.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #151 on: 2011-06-28 01:22:28 »
You obviously ain't got aalis driver installed properly.  The file is trying to locate mod path and other strings in the ff7_opengl.cfg file

Does this file exist and if so, is it correct?

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • *
  • Posts: 730
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #152 on: 2011-06-28 01:24:21 »
The remix patcher comes with an old version of Aali's driver, before there was an option for mod paths

-Ric-

  • *
  • Posts: 321
  • .
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #153 on: 2011-06-28 01:28:26 »
1.  The new time can reach 999 hrs, so that is intended.

2.  I can't explain that.  Did you use blackchocobo or some editor thats buggered the next level bar?

1: ups didn't know about that change, my bad  :-[

2: nope.. the save file was never edited with any tool.. also tried on a new game as u suggested but still same issue :-\

im also getting a crash in battles  :-\



app.log here: http://pastebin.com/QPxy5Rqx


DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #154 on: 2011-06-28 01:43:19 »
There is no way that can happen...

unless you installed on wrong exe or something?  or installed over my old exe from the old menu project which I said not to do. (and if you did, you will have to run the uninstall option from BOTH installers)

Install on a clean 1.02 exe and see what happens.


You must also have newest aali driver.  Do not use the remix patcher.  Install mods separately.
« Last Edit: 2011-06-28 01:56:51 by DLPB »

-Ric-

  • *
  • Posts: 321
  • .
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #155 on: 2011-06-28 02:13:12 »
There is no way that can happen...

unless you installed on wrong exe or something?  or installed over my old exe from the old menu project which I said not to do. (and if you did, you will have to run the uninstall option from BOTH installers)

Install on a clean 1.02 exe and see what happens.


You must also have newest aali driver.  Do not use the remix patcher.  Install mods separately.

weird.. it was the exe indeed, now everything is running fine and the "next level" bar issue is fixed aswell  :-D
thanks for the fast answers and the great patch!

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #156 on: 2011-06-28 02:15:32 »
Somethin must have altered your other exe, probably something awful from the remix patch?

-Ric-

  • *
  • Posts: 321
  • .
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #157 on: 2011-06-28 02:20:00 »
Somethin must have altered your other exe, probably something awful from the remix patch?

well i never ran the remix patch... i had just the TA patch and gjoerulv's hardcore patch.. oh and some models but none of that messed with the exe file..  :-\

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #158 on: 2011-06-28 02:25:16 »
TA does edit the exe but thats because of a patcher that I made.. I will be sure to look into that for next release.  As for that battle corruption.... no idea, that was probably aalis driver being old?

-Ric-

  • *
  • Posts: 321
  • .
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #159 on: 2011-06-28 02:27:07 »
TA does edit the exe but thats because of a patcher that I made.. I will be sure to look into that for next release.  As for that battle corruption.... no idea, that was probably aalis driver being old?

just the clean exe seems to have solved it aswell  :o

KaidenJames

Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #160 on: 2011-06-28 02:32:51 »
Dude, fantastic job. Everything looks great. I only have one issue and that's menu lag. Main menu and after battle EXP lag. Even a little during battle too. I also had this issue with TA menu overhaul so I don't really know what it is that's causing the lag.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #161 on: 2011-06-28 02:37:52 »
That's aalis driver.  When you have cache textures off (compress_textures = no) the game will lag as it first loads textures into memory.  For example when a character dies, it lags because it is loading the red font into memory.  A faster hard drive is the only way to cure that if cache is off.

I did mention this to aali and he did express some interest in pre loading the textures so that this didn't happen.

KaidenJames

Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #162 on: 2011-06-28 02:42:25 »
That's aalis driver.  When you have cache textures off (compress_textures = no) the game will lag as it first loads textures into memory.  For example when a character dies, it lags because it is loading the red font into memory.  A faster hard drive is the only way to cure that if cache is off.
Hmm, well compress textures is set to on, so I guess I need a new HD? I thought for awhile it could be my resolution but I lowered it and it didn't help much. Guess i'll just have to deal. Thanks again for the amazing work man!

luksy

  • *
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #163 on: 2011-06-28 02:45:33 »
Awesome work man, you probably need a break  ;D

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #164 on: 2011-06-28 02:49:53 »
Hmm, well compress textures is set to on, so I guess I need a new HD? I thought for awhile it could be my resolution but I lowered it and it didn't help much. Guess i'll just have to deal. Thanks again for the amazing work man!

That's strange, but it should only lag ONCE.  Once those textures have been loaded all should be cool :)

Awesome work man, you probably need a break  ;D

heh no rest for the wicked, got more options to add, but English tea I can get!

KaidenJames

Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #165 on: 2011-06-28 02:57:32 »
That's strange, but it should only lag ONCE.  Once those textures have been loaded all should be cool :)


heh no rest for the wicked, got more options to add, but English tea I can get!
You were right. Just tested it again and no lag. Now time to lose my self in pure epicness!

robolink

  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #166 on: 2011-06-28 03:59:01 »
I want everyones opinion thats using this.

preserve_aspect = yes
or
preserve_aspect = no

Which do you like better.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #167 on: 2011-06-28 04:10:24 »
You should preserve and if possible

960*720 window

1280*960 window or full. 


robolink

  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #168 on: 2011-06-28 04:32:31 »
Yeah, preserve is better. The windowed resolution works fine but I cant get that fullscreen. Ive got a native 1366x768 but it looks beautiful.

ProtoX

  • Guest
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #169 on: 2011-06-28 05:03:06 »
it seems ff7music isnt working with this. before this it worked fine

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #170 on: 2011-06-28 05:05:03 »
hmmmm that  IS a puzzle if true?  Sure support definitely changes when using the installer?

Rheikon

  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #171 on: 2011-06-28 05:06:04 »
it seems ff7music isnt working with this. before this it worked fine

works fine here.

ProtoX

  • Guest
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #172 on: 2011-06-28 05:10:45 »
this is what the error states
Quote
access violation at address 00000000. read of address 00000000

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #173 on: 2011-06-28 05:16:57 »
are you sure it worked fine beforehand?  Check the exe which is now in BACKUP-menumod

ProtoX

  • Guest
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #174 on: 2011-06-28 05:19:49 »
backup seems to have no problem