Author Topic: [FF7PC-98] The Reunion (OLD THREAD, SAVED FOR POSTERITY)  (Read 258849 times)

Hellbringer616

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1874
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #975 on: 2012-02-17 04:28:24 »
Maybe my screen isn't "Big" but at 1080P everything looks perfect to me

Prince Lex

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 879
  • Karma: 1
  • Opinionfact is Redundancy
    • View Profile
    • Myspace Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #976 on: 2012-02-17 22:49:14 »
Maybe my screen isn't "Big" but at 1080P everything looks perfect to me

Same. Doesn't the text size increase with the screen size? I play on a 47" HDTV at 1080p and the text is frickin huge.

ajthedj747

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 312
  • Karma: 1
  • Now using AMD PowerColor HD 7970 for FF7 + Skyrim
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #977 on: 2012-02-19 06:24:27 »
Thank you so much for M004. It works great.  :D

sunz

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1120
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #978 on: 2012-02-19 13:57:38 »
Same. Doesn't the text size increase with the screen size? I play on a 47" HDTV at 1080p and the text is frickin huge.
I played on a 32" crt tv i think everything looked small kos of the cable i used ah well doesn't matter anymore i switched back to my normal pc monitor

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2082
  • Karma: 22
  • ~Whatever...~
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #979 on: 2012-02-19 14:15:30 »
I played on a 32" crt tv i think everything looked small kos of the cable i used ah well doesn't matter anymore i switched back to my normal pc monitor

I'm on 32'' Samsung lcd widescreen. I use 1920x1080 resolution in opengl.cfg, videos encoded in 1280x960. DLPB's menu overhaul mod with break9999limit disabled. Looks fine ;). I wonder if there's any way to skip sqlogo.avi without skipping prelude credits. I use new prelude with Sephiroth Cloud Background.
« Last Edit: 2012-02-19 18:27:56 by Leonhart7413 »

UGerstl

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 4
  • Backup Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #980 on: 2012-02-19 14:29:33 »
Hi Leonhart7413,

to skip sqlogo.avi you can use a dummy movie like this:
   http://www.mediafire.com/?eaxi86a195qabpn

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2082
  • Karma: 22
  • ~Whatever...~
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #981 on: 2012-02-19 14:38:48 »
Hi Leonhart7413,

to skip sqlogo.avi you can use a dummy movie like this:
   http://www.mediafire.com/?eaxi86a195qabpn

Hey thanks for replying. I thought of that. Tried renaming my eidoslogo.avi dummy file into sqlogo.avi and sqlogo.avi into eidoslogo.avi, but it skips direct to the loading screen :(

UGerstl

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 4
  • Backup Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #982 on: 2012-02-19 15:05:14 »
@Leonhart7413: I have no problems to see the credits when i use my dummy movie.
                            Replaced eidoslogo.avi and sqlogo.avi with it.
                        !  Don't make any input (mouse, keyboard), just wait a little.
« Last Edit: 2012-02-19 15:39:17 by UGerstl »

sunz

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1120
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #983 on: 2012-02-19 16:08:42 »
I wonder if there's any way to skip sqlogo.avi without skipping prelude credits. I use new prelude with Sephiroth Cloud Background.
You could try just deleting that video? i tried it and it works and goes straight to the prelude :)

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2082
  • Karma: 22
  • ~Whatever...~
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #984 on: 2012-02-19 17:48:35 »
You could try just deleting that video? i tried it and it works and goes straight to the prelude :)

Thanks for dealing with this issue. Well as you understand I use my own fmv that I renamed as sqlogo.avi. Now after following your instructions I renamed my sqlogo avi (which is apparently a non official ff video which i converted to use in the game) into eidoslogo.avi and I renamed sqlogo.avi into sqlogo_bkp.avi so the program will not be able to use it. As I formerly reported when I press A button in my xbox controller it keeps skiping the video and goes straight to the loading screen (I use the background with Crisis Core Cloud). Either I'm doing something wrong nor there's no way to reach the prelude screen without watching the whole sqlogo or eidoslogo video. Thanks for replying but I'm still searching a way to solve this. Until then I'm preparing a new fmv for sqlogo and opening from crisis core ending mixed with the technical demo which I hope to release in your forum when it's finished. Thank you!
« Last Edit: 2012-02-19 17:50:59 by Leonhart7413 »

UGerstl

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 4
  • Backup Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #985 on: 2012-02-19 18:10:33 »
@Leonhart7413: You are totally right, when you make any input (keyboard, mouse,
                            xbox controller, ...) the movie ends and the prelude screen is not shown.
  • Start FF7

  • Show movie eidoslogo.avi    IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen
  • Show movie sqlogo.avi         IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen
  • Show prelude screen            IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen

  • loading screen
« Last Edit: 2012-02-19 18:24:00 by UGerstl »

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2082
  • Karma: 22
  • ~Whatever...~
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #986 on: 2012-02-19 18:29:53 »
@Leonhart7413: You are totally right, when you make any input (keyboard, mouse,
                            xbox controller, ...) the movie ends and the prelude screen is not shown.
  • Start FF7

  • Show movie eidoslogo.avi    IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen
  • Show movie sqlogo.avi         IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen
  • Show prelude screen            IF any input THEN GOTO loading screen

  • loading screen

Thanks for confirming... i wish there was a command line to skip step by step.

Idec Sdawkminn

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 0
  • -im the real idec (REALLY)-
    • View Profile
    • My Facebook
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #987 on: 2012-02-21 22:26:14 »
DLPB: I'm having a major problem with this mod, specifically with the battle menu switcher. I have a 55" TV in the same room as my computer. It's an old rear projection TV. The keyboard cord isn't long enough to reach where I have to sit to be in front of the TV, so I have to sit to the side and the colors look horrible when sitting to the side like that. Also the DVI-to-HDMI converter puts "black snow" all over the screen.

Can you or Aali have an option during installation that changes the color to compensate for having to play it at this extreme angle? I read the whole first post and the readme and they didn't talk about this at all.

On a serious matter, my wife told me that if I buy her a Wii, she will agree to play FF7 and FF8. This is a huge deal, as she has avoided any games I've tried to get her to play in the past (besides Facebook games and Mahjong), partly because her ex-husband was into FF7. I'm hoping this mod and maybe the retranslation one will be done by that time so she can experience FF7 the best way possible. So, M005? Yes?  :D  ;)

EDIT: This makes reply #1,000.
« Last Edit: 2012-02-21 22:28:22 by Idec Sdawkminn »

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2082
  • Karma: 22
  • ~Whatever...~
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #988 on: 2012-02-21 22:42:53 »
DLPB: I'm having a major problem with this mod, specifically with the battle menu switcher. I have a 55" TV in the same room as my computer. It's an old rear projection TV. The keyboard cord isn't long enough to reach where I have to sit to be in front of the TV, so I have to sit to the side and the colors look horrible when sitting to the side like that. Also the DVI-to-HDMI converter puts "black snow" all over the screen.

Can you or Aali have an option during installation that changes the color to compensate for having to play it at this extreme angle? I read the whole first post and the readme and they didn't talk about this at all.

On a serious matter, my wife told me that if I buy her a Wii, she will agree to play FF7 and FF8. This is a huge deal, as she has avoided any games I've tried to get her to play in the past (besides Facebook games and Mahjong), partly because her ex-husband was into FF7. I'm hoping this mod and maybe the retranslation one will be done by that time so she can experience FF7 the best way possible. So, M005? Yes?  :D  ;)

EDIT: This makes reply #1,000.

lol Squall: [Whatever...]

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #989 on: 2012-02-24 08:19:42 »
getting there.  To make installer cleaner and compatible with the Unified Model Installer I am rewriting a lot of it. 


DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #990 on: 2012-02-25 15:50:35 »
I know I keep saying it but... gettin' there.

Today I wrote a little program to edit any and all text at runtime, so that a few options have been added like 3-d battler fix (from tS).

So what is to do?

1.  Final graphics by felix.
2. Translation polished up to where we are at.
3. Series canon item changes reflected in menu ordering in game.
4. Testing.

I have also made it so that UMI and MOP share the same backup folder from now on and uninstall is done via selection and then manually deleting the backup folder.

I don't know how long this will take from this point, but most of the work was done today.  The changes are:

Code: [Select]
M005

1. Retranslation Project Revision 002. Up to Shin-Ra Building (and other maps are done.  34% game dialogue).
2. "500 years later" text updated.
4. Smoother opening menu transition. Thanks to Dziugo for his help!
5. FeliX magic barrier graphic fixed (very slight issue).
6. Materia exchange menu fix (original game has an annoyance where the cursor moves to 8th slot all time).
7. British spellings in ff7.exe also changed with option.
8. Full font support for foreign languages.
9. Rebirth Sephiroth battle "Worried about..." option fixed.
10. touphScript update to fix broken world map dialogue.
11. touphScript update to fix certain dialogue boxes that were not being resized.
12.  Possible "invalid colour type" error has been fixed with the mods\flevel items.
13. Various options for minigame fixes added
14. Grimmy's coloured item pictures
15. Option to change series canon item names in retranslation
16. Option to allow disabling of mouse input in game.
17. Philman's coloured FF9 battle interface

I may also add the ability to install any part of the installer rather than force certain ones as before.


« Last Edit: 2012-02-26 06:24:49 by DLPB »

philman

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #991 on: 2012-02-26 05:07:25 »
DLPB i have one idea to put on the next releases of menu overhaul.

Some people don't will waste time on color the battle font of FF9 style of menu overhaul,i've colored and just want show it here.

http://s809.photobucket.com/albums/zz12/philmansp/?action=view&current=MenuOverhaulbattlefont.png

the idea is pick the non colored font and make different colors,and in the releases put this like a option,for example:
Font color
Name = blue
hp = red
Mp = green
Atb = gray (original)

it's just a idea,what  you think?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #992 on: 2012-02-26 05:40:12 »
If people are happy with that you can send me the texture and I will add it.  I like it.

I can't put more than 1 i n though, too much messing.  The one you have above will do fine.
« Last Edit: 2012-02-26 06:01:25 by DLPB »

philman

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #993 on: 2012-02-26 06:16:50 »
I send the texture to you,but you've blocked pm.

if you let me do,i put the link here:

Edit: included in M005
« Last Edit: 2012-03-09 03:58:55 by philman »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #994 on: 2012-02-26 06:20:12 »
Nice :)

I will use this :)
« Last Edit: 2012-02-26 06:22:04 by DLPB »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #995 on: 2012-03-09 00:41:19 »
M004d is now removed.  Please await M005 in the next few days.  Credit list on main post is updated.

AlbusJC

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 1
  • If you really love something let it go
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #996 on: 2012-03-09 09:55:39 »
I've been waiting for this new version. Thank you very much for your work DLPB. :)

Jayke

  • Guest
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #997 on: 2012-03-10 13:55:01 »
Hey guys, don't suppose any of you could upload their M004d.exe? I know M005d is out very soon but it would be awesome to be able to play this weekend before going back to work, cheers!

ProtoX

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 3
  • For Every Unoffical There Must Be A Prototype
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #998 on: 2012-03-10 14:46:13 »
Okay this is odd, your music mod DPLB has some how stoped the lucky tifa patch that i had when your mod was out. now its just back to the default setting for tifa's limit break

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 5370
  • Karma: 106
  • The King of the Rumbling Spires
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Menu Overhaul Project
« Reply #999 on: 2012-03-11 00:45:07 »
The only way that is possible is if it took the backup from the backup folder and it was an earlier version, hence me asking for people to wait for M005 and so on.


other than that I don't see a way it could have reverted it.  The audio mod does not affect ff7.exe in any way that could change those things.