Author Topic: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)  (Read 137546 times)

Caledor

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
    • Facebook Page
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #75 on: 2011-11-20 20:41:29 »
I know this might seem a very stupid question... but i can't manage to compile this program under windows 7... what should I use?

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #76 on: 2011-11-20 22:30:57 »
MJarcos: please send me the affected scene.bin, kernel.bin and scene.bin.txt

Dei92: I used mingw, you'll have to mess around with the makefile if you want to use something like VS

Caledor

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
    • Facebook Page
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #77 on: 2011-11-21 14:59:53 »
Thanks a lot luksy, I managed to do it somehow. One curious thing is that my exe is more than 1,5 Mb bigger than yours but I honestly don't care a lot as long as it works  :P

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #78 on: 2011-11-21 15:47:57 »
Luksy used upx to shrink the exe.

Caledor

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
    • Facebook Page
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #79 on: 2011-11-21 16:10:18 »
Understood, i'll try that too. Thanks ;)

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [WIP] [v0.9.9.3] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #80 on: 2011-11-21 22:23:15 »
If you use the makefile the "release" switch will automatically strip and compress the exe, assuming UPX is installed.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.0] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #81 on: 2011-12-15 06:59:13 »
A tentative 1.0 release is out! Interesting new options are unused script deletion and dumping of all window parameters, together this means that only the text that can appear ingame is dumped, and all windows should be resizeable. Keep in mind this may still not be ready for primetime, only time will tell, please let me know of any issues.

As the text files are largely incompatible with previous versions,

do not use text dumped from previous versions
« Last Edit: 2011-12-15 07:46:02 by luksy »

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #82 on: 2011-12-22 04:08:58 »
update to 1.1, params are changed again but these are final, fixes for numeric displays, as with 1.0, don't use previous text files, make sure you start with clean files copied from the original disks. This is pretty much final and the only major changes from now on will be bugfixes.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #83 on: 2011-12-22 04:45:14 »
So comes to an end weeks of hard slog :)  8-)

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.1.4] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #84 on: 2011-12-30 14:38:38 »
Small bugfix, I overlooked the fact that you can't actually add text to fields anymore, so the option's been dropped.

edit: updated to 1.1.2, couple of issues fixed.

edit: updated to 1.1.3, bugfix for deleted scripts

edit: updated to 1.1.4, long jump opcodes fixed.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-08 12:38:38 by luksy »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.1.4] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #85 on: 2012-01-10 13:13:27 »
bwhahahaha  I haven't finished with bug reports just yet ;)  I am sure there be a few more minor after our latest.

But this is definitely looking like the completed article now.  Great work.  8-)

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.1.5] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #86 on: 2012-01-11 02:37:30 »
Damn you!!

1.1.5, another two bugfixes.

edit: 1.2 is up, new script patching options to fix bugs and unlock extra dialogues / cutscenes, so far the following are available:

  • Enable extra Barret cutscene in Gongaga (gonjun1)
  • Enables original clock minigame difficulty in Temple of the Ancients
  • Activate Gongaga village elder extra dialogue immediately after other two (instead of having to ask 10 times)
  • Enable Kalm old guy's 3 random dialogues (only 2 shown normally).
  • Enable Aerith's dialogue when attempting to pass Mithril Mine before Kalm (incorrectly uses Tifa's)
  • Change Tifa & Aerith's lovepoints check to > 40 in Gongaga (was > 120, i.e. impossible without cheating / exploting Tifa lovepoints bug)
  • Fix Barret infinite lovepoints bug in Cosmo Canyon (gives +6 points if you hear him out to the end, otherwise none)
  • Fix Tifa infinite lovepoints bug in Shin-Ra Bldg. Prison
  • Modify battle game odds in Golden Saucer, shorten game to 5 rounds & fix battle end after 4th opponent.
  • Enable extra cutscene at Mount Corel Bridge (text needs to be copied over from PSX version)
  • Insert extra Barret dialogue if not in party when receiving PHS in Kalm
  • Patch for touphScript compatibility in Aerith's house 2F, in case Marin's question to Cloud needs to be modified.

Many thanks to Shademp & DLPB for these.

As a safety measure, each field script is compared against a hash, so these patches will only work on original, untouched scripts.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-14 05:28:32 by luksy »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #87 on: 2012-01-22 16:55:09 »
Script error:

lastmap
18: MESS
script 6
byte 43

If Var[6][6] < 120 (else jump to byte 56)

That gives the FMV more time to fully complete and ends at correct time.  originally it chops the end off.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #88 on: 2012-01-23 01:09:04 »
1.2.1 has a couple new script mods, that one and the tv text switch in min51_1, plus longer vals for some text in exe I forgot to update :P

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #89 on: 2012-01-29 01:18:38 »
Hi, I'm using this program to dump the whole spanish ff7 texts but I encounter a problem while dumping flevel.lgp:

touphScript v1.2.1 --- a FFVII text editor

(d)ump or (e)ncode?
d
Dumping flevel.lgp
586Fatal error: std::bad_alloc

I know from this topic that this has been achieved before without problems, but apparently with an older version:
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=12530.0

Any ideas as to why this might be happening? I'm using a clean installation of ff7 spanish, with the files renamed to their us counterparts to use the utility. I have the script patches disabled on the ini file.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-29 01:21:32 by sylandro »

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #90 on: 2012-01-29 01:25:44 »
Try uploading your flevel somewhere so I can have a look.

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.1] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #91 on: 2012-01-29 08:05:34 »
Here it is luksy, I uploaded it here: http://www.mediafire.com/?37g7c637lanvx53

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #92 on: 2012-01-29 09:30:12 »
The first AKAO pointer is off by 1 byte in loslake2, are you 100% sure this is the original file? If so I can add a patch for it.

edit: Ok I've uploaded 1.2.2 that fixes the files, blue_1 also had exactly the same issue, note that the patch will only work if loslake2 and blue_1 are the original versions, as soon as you have edited them once with ts the patch will not apply any more, so you'll have to start with an original flevel.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-29 11:24:19 by luksy »

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #93 on: 2012-01-30 00:22:34 »
Yes, I copied the file directly from my installation dir. The Modified Date attribute even says 1998, so it's definitely the original sfield.lgp

I tried the new version and it works like a charm. One really minor thing though, you forgot to comment this line in the .ini after you finished testing  ;D:

# Override paths
flevel = .\flevel.lgp

BTW, I can upload the unmodified dumps from the spanish version if someone wants them, I know they could be valuable for the community.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #94 on: 2012-01-30 00:38:38 »
Durr thanks, I'll make sure to fix it. As for the files I believe Pitbrat and UGerstl will be handling those so I think it's ok for now, thanks!

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #95 on: 2012-01-30 00:48:34 »

I tried the new version and it works like a charm.

Get used to that where luksy is concerned.  8)  ts is an impressive little number.

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.2] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #96 on: 2012-01-30 03:12:01 »
Two things...

First, when I tried to insert the text I extracted from the spanish version into the (untouched) us version I got the following errors:

Code: [Select]
Error in blin62_2: Incorrect number of entries: 21/22
Error in rcktin5: Incorrect number of entries: 97/96
Error in las3_2: Incorrect number of entries: 7/6
Error in las3_3: Incorrect number of entries: 8/7
Couldn't encode scene: Incorrect number of entries

When I opened blin62_2 I noticed that there was an additional dialog that wasn't on the spanish version (oddly, some dialogs are in english even in the spanish version). This didn't make sense to me since there should be a 1:1 match in the used scripts...

I proceeded to dump the text without stripping unused text and now I get the following error:

Code: [Select]
touphScript v1.2.2 --- a FFVII text editor

(d)ump or (e)ncode?
d
Dumping flevel.lgp
387Fatal error: vector::_M_range_check

I know, the foreign versions are a headache :/

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.4] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #97 on: 2012-01-30 03:41:20 »
Yeah don't worry I'm on it, I fixed rcktin5 because by pure chance the delimiter (-------) actually appears in the Spanish text

{CID}
“¡¡MALDI-------------CION!!”

As for the others it looks like the Spanish script doesn't reference some of the text, for instance:

blin62_2
------------------------------
16   Modern history of
{CHOICE}Midgar space program vol. 1

I'll have a closer look at the others when I have a moment.

Ninja edit: the text section in Spanish shpin_22 is completely borked, it' s been overwritten by part of another file, I should be able to fix it.

Another edit:

las3_2's problem is that for some reason the English version doesn't check to see if your Materia list is full before adding Magic Counter to your inventory...i.e. the Spanish version is correct! I may be able to fix the English version but for now you'll need to delete the following entry from spanish if you want it to encode


No puedes aceptar más Materia.
Por favor, descarta algo de Materia.
------------------------------

las3_3 has exactly the same issue for Mega All

So to recap:

blin62_2: add the extra English entry (the reason they are in English even in the Spanish version is because of the mayor's quiz & lazy programmers not wanting to change the script).

las3_2 & 3: delete the extra Materia text

rcktin5: I've fixed it

file 387 i.e. shpin_22: fixed by me too. I'll upload shortly.

I'll check scene in a minute.

ok to get Spanish scene to work with English scene you need to delete the line "ÜÉ ËÄÍ." along with an extra newline in file #4, i.e. the text "# File 5" needs to start on line 210; it should then work.

uploaded 1.2.3, see if it works!

------------------
edit:
1.2.4 is up, it should now work with all language versions.

If you want to insert other languages into the English version, the  following caveats apply:

All field file operations refer to files from stripped fields.

All languages:
   Delete line "ÜÉ ËÄÍ." + 1 newline at the end of file 4 in scene.bin.txt

All except Italian:
   Delete too many materia warning text in las3_2 & last3_3
   
   add new text entry to psdun_2 if using script patch option:
   
Quote
{AERIS}
   “{CLOUD}!
   “{CLOUD}!
      If we continue this way,
      we'll get farther and
      farther away from Kalm.”

   same for elminn_1
   
Quote
{BARRET}
   “As long as we got {PURPLE}[PHS]{WHITE},
      we can always reach each other.
      Use it if something happens.”
      
      
Spanish -> English
   Add extra entry in blin62_2
   
   
Quote
16   Modern history of
   {CHOICE}Midgar space program vol. 1
   ------------------------------

German -> English
   delete entry in blin 62_2
   
   
Quote
4   Midgar crime white paper
   ------------------------------
   
   Delete empty entry in life and life2
   

German, French & Italian exes will not work with touphScript.
« Last Edit: 2012-01-31 01:08:13 by luksy »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10612
  • Karma: 244
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.4] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #98 on: 2012-01-31 01:12:01 »
Having fun?  :evil:

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.4] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #99 on: 2012-01-31 05:12:37 »
Excellent job luksy! Thanks to the new version, I managed to transfer the full spanish script to the english version.

Here's some screenshots of the accomplishment:

ff7.exe:


scene.bin & kernel2.bin:


field.lgp:


world_us.lgp:


Now I only have to patiently wait for DLPB's M005...
« Last Edit: 2012-01-31 05:18:19 by sylandro »