Author Topic: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)  (Read 138210 times)

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #125 on: 2012-06-01 07:50:41 »
Yeah ts goes a bit nazi with the error checking, but it's for my own sanity and allows me to offload things like file format errors on whoever made them. I'll have another look at the hardcore scene when possible.

AlbusJC

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 1
  • If you really love something let it go
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #126 on: 2012-06-01 08:51:11 »
Thank you very much luksy.  :)

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #127 on: 2012-06-01 10:37:00 »
That is a known issue and is his fault not Luksy's.  He has been told about it .  Hopefully Luksy can find reason for his bad scene but he needs to fix it in future.
« Last Edit: 2012-06-01 10:46:42 by DLPB »

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 13
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #128 on: 2012-06-17 00:28:22 »
Will Touphscript support inserting the Japanese text back into the English game?

I tried inserting a Japanese dump but Touphscript generates invalid character errors and fails to insert any text.

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #129 on: 2012-06-17 01:17:00 »
It may eventually, one thing I keep forgetting to check is if the Japanese extra charmaps are still in the data or not, do you know? If they are then all that needs to be changed is main charmap, although unless someone can be bothered to redraw the ENTIRE Japanese map anyone who uses it will be stuck with the old font + windows.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 13
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #130 on: 2012-06-17 02:02:41 »
Asa is the expert on the Japanese font.

Changing the language of the US FF7 is a popular request.
French, German, Italian and Spanish text works for the most part.

How the US engine reads the Japanese charmap is unknown.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #131 on: 2012-06-17 02:37:55 »
I don't think it exists in PC and the window bin values are all set to 1.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 13
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #132 on: 2012-06-26 23:40:57 »
Once the omitted scenes are enabled with Touphscript, is there any way to run Touphscript again and disable them?

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #133 on: 2012-06-26 23:50:33 »
I don't think I can ever support rollbacks, the whole reason to hash the scripts in the first place is to guarantee that I'm modifying an original file; if I were to do the reverse more often than not it would simply fail to match the hash, once you consider the window resizing combined with the retranslation / multiple languages. The easiest way is to simply make a backup of flevel before ts runs.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #134 on: 2012-06-27 01:17:49 »
Precisely.  People need to do their bit too...  I always back flevel up for menu project for example.

shikulja

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #135 on: 2012-07-09 11:37:04 »
ofter run and enter - d or e
Fatal error: basic_ios::clear

Naitguolf

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #136 on: 2012-07-10 18:50:18 »
Well, im trying to extract all spanish data from Sflevel.lgp (also tried to rename flevel.lpg) and english flevel.lgp, but no luck. After some files extracted, that error happened:

fship_4 patch failed, not original script

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1427
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #137 on: 2012-08-16 01:52:47 »
Ran into a weird error after trying to use TS to dump all the text
the tool crashes when hitting 4/729 in flevel.lgp ( this is with bootleg, aerith revival + gjos hardcore mod )

Error in ancnt1: converting to field failed, Attempted to read 31746e63 bytes from 4beb

Error in ancnt2: converting to field failed, Attempted to read 32746e63 bytes from 4bfe

Error in ancnt3: converting to field failed, Attempted to read 33746e63 bytes from 3c15

any way to make it dump only the exe and nothing else?


tried an older version of TS and it dumps fine ( v 098 ) but I'm not sure it'll encode it right, so holding off on it
« Last Edit: 2012-08-16 01:59:21 by KuugenTheFox »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #138 on: 2012-08-16 02:07:13 »
These errors are most likely to do with flevel code being bad either by hardcore or aerith.  use clean flevel.

And yeah, that is one thing I requested from Luksy.  The ability to decode/encode specific files.  Depending on if the txt files exist in the folder.  At the moment if it fails beforehand it does not do it.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1427
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #139 on: 2012-08-16 03:16:34 »
Got it to work
had some more problems but the .exe and world edits I wanted are in. MAN it was a pain to check which .exe entry for the chocobo race met the original flevel field entry which I then had to cross check against my overhaul

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #140 on: 2012-08-23 03:20:21 »
Ignore.
« Last Edit: 2012-09-15 03:13:47 by DLPB »

Lex Tertia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #141 on: 2012-08-24 16:52:39 »
Hey I almost don't dare to ask but do you have the possibility to make the output files compatible to Poedit?

roxas010394

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #142 on: 2012-08-26 05:14:19 »
i have a problem when i press d or e, I get a message saying Cannot Open the registry

ManuBBXX

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 281
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #143 on: 2012-08-27 19:29:58 »
So, it's possible with Touphscript by this way to have the game traduced same with MO installed ?
I don't understand all, but I only have dialogs traduced in fr( for me ), after selecting the French translation at bootleg's installation.

MJarcos

  • Guest
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #144 on: 2012-08-28 16:59:08 »
The tool will be compatible with version 2012?
Thanks

Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #145 on: 2012-08-29 16:57:30 »
Hello luksy

I have a few minor problems with touphScript.

The prehistory.
I have the German version of FF7 and am already registered here for a while.
I wanted to check what mods can use it for my FF7 and how to best integrate.
Some smoothly, with some others you have to cheat a little, but then it goes.
DLPB's Game Converter sounded like a project that could be useful.
Since I can deal with some hex editor, I thought, rib the text from the German exe and paste it into the prefabricated of DLPB table.
As easy as I thought it was not that.
Some of the lines I had never seen before in the game, the table, where you can name the character is longer, the German keyboard layout is a bit different, ...
I then integrated the English EXE in my game, renamed a few files, and tested whether the game runs.
It seems to run.
Then I have figured out how to expand the table for naming by one column, so that German special characters can be used.
After a few attempts, I then made ​​a translation whereupon DLPB asked me if you can use them now with touphScript.
Then I got me first your touphScript


Quote
German, French & Italian exes will not work with touphScript.
I read this and understand why. If you want to change that, perhaps I can help.
But now I had the English EXE.
The dump of the texts worked (in a few 0_scene.bin.txt appeared "encount error"), but I was shocked at the number of text files.
Then I first set all parameters in the INI to 0.
That didn't helped; touphScript still has extracted all text.


My first question: Could you fit a way with which you can edit only certain files?
In the INI could be something like the following to be present
convert_flevel.lgp = yes
convert_world_us.lgp = yes
convert_scene.bin = no
.
.
.


I then replaced the English 0_ff7.exe.txt with my 0_ff7.exe.txt.
Quote
D:\_Entpacktes\touphScript>touphScript e

Encoding flevel.lgp
729Fatal error: Couldn't copy file C:\Users\[Username]\AppData\Local\Temp\ts4E86.tmp to C:\Spiele\Final Fantasy VII\data\field\flevel.lgp
After some experimenting I found out then that the write protection flag was set.
In the German version, almost all files are installed with write protection, do not ask me why.
Remove write-protection solves the problem

Quote
Couldn't encode exe: Unexpected continuation byte: 2
touphScript seems not like the German special characters, although in the other texts were all right there.
Without these characters, the game is not really correct.
Can you possibly allow these special characters?

EDIT: Convert it into UTF8 format seems to fix that, sorry my fault ::)



Quote
0_ff7.exe.txt line n.89 4294967292 char(s) too long
I then checked with Notepad + +, line 89 contained only 2 letters.
I then removed one letter, the same error.
Then I removed in line 90 characters, now it worked (at least at this point).

Obviously starts touphScript count the lines from 0 instead from 1


Quote
0_ff7.exe.txt line n.154 4294967292 char(s) too long
I wanted there to insert Num. +, but it had to N. + Cut before touphScript was satisfied (4 characters).
If I want to change the keyboard layout and some advices on this button, N. + Num. 1 is displayed.
At this point the EXE, the keys are all completed with an additional 0x00, otherwise the text is displayed to the Nearest 0.
In the example above, so are only 3 letters allowed, it must be followed by the 00th


Although touphScript obviously had integrated all text came at the end the following message:
Quote
Couldn't encode exe: Unexpected continuation byte: 9
Unfortunately, I do not understand this message. But I'll try next.
EDIT: Convert it into UTF8 format seems to fix that, sorry my fault ::)


I hope I could help a bit, and await your answer.

Greetings Kompass63
« Last Edit: 2012-08-29 18:40:18 by Kompass63 »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #146 on: 2012-08-29 16:59:59 »
I have already discussed this with Luksy.  You have to make sure the 0_ff7.exe.txt file is saved in UTF8 format.  The other error is correct that the length is too long to fit into ff7 english (you will have to reduce the size.  Wait for me.  I have already got a list of what needs doing), it just gets the length wrong.


Kompass63

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 703
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #147 on: 2012-08-29 17:17:22 »
Edit:

That seems to help a bit, I must let the convert, not only save....
« Last Edit: 2012-08-29 17:32:50 by Kompass63 »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #148 on: 2012-08-29 17:23:31 »
There must be a character there that ts doesn't like.  Do you think you can figure out the offending character?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 250
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [v1.2.8] touphScript - FFVII-PC text editor
« Reply #149 on: 2012-09-15 03:06:49 »
Periodic Report to Dr. Luksy

CONFIDENTIAL

Code: [Select]
1.  Because menu overhaul is now moving to memory,
some values needed by ts will no longer be read
(all the ones in ff7.exe that ts uses).  If possible
ts needs to support these values in ini.
Possibly if values exists in ini, they will override the exe values.
Hopefully this will not be too difficult to do. 

2.  ts needs to support skipping of files when their
corresponding text file is not present.   If scene.bin
txt file is missing, kernels table would also be left
alone.  World map, ff7.exe and kernel2 would
all be skipped as well if corresponding text file
missing.  Sometimes a modder may only want to
update 1 file or not update others.

3. ts is missing entry in ff7.exe.txt due to my own
error.  Entry is BOARD between OFF and SLEIGH
at 555804, 8 chars.  OFF is 4chars at 555800.  A note of this will need to be made to
modders so they can add the line to their existing
work if updating ts.

4.  Certain lines when wrong length are being
reported with wrong number of chars over limit.

5.  Log should start with line number, then file,
then char over limit in this format which is better
for readability.  Note file name in square brackets.

Line 762 [0_ff7.exe.txt]: 4 char(s) too long.

As opposed to

0_ff7.exe.txt line n.762 4 char(s) too long

6. The log should not pop up on simple
    "script is not original" errors.

7. ts does not work with 2012 FF7 version.
   Unknown reason.  Crashes during decode/encode.
   Flevel is same as 1998 version apart from some fixes.

8. Model at gold saucer being wrong size and very
annoying needs fixing with script fix. Not priority.
« Last Edit: 2012-09-15 03:50:28 by DLPB »