Author Topic: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)  (Read 138315 times)

Jairus

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #400 on: 2019-06-17 20:10:07 »
I wasn't saying anything about now, I was just asking a question, that's all. I didn't mean to come across otherwise. Sorry if I did.
« Last Edit: 2019-06-18 16:32:00 by Jairus »

ExDuelist

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #401 on: 2019-06-18 02:57:08 »
Anyway, this tool extracts basically every text string of the game, except for "Level" on the saveslot and the chocobo prizes right before racing starts, if i'm wrong prove it telling me the locations.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 251
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #402 on: 2019-06-23 20:14:00 »
I'm now working with Luksy to resolve the remaining issues from the previous page. He's back coding.  Stay tuned :)

ExDuelist

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: -1
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #403 on: 2019-07-11 00:31:06 »
Guys, any help to translate:

Chocobo Prizes
Chocobo Gender
"Level" string on savefile

these things don't seem to be editable...

luksy

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 378
  • Karma: 48
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #404 on: 2019-10-21 16:55:06 »
Latest source here in case anyone still cares, will get around to uploading the binary at some point

https://github.com/ser-pounce/touphscript

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 251
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #405 on: 2019-10-21 20:24:18 »
and I'll update the readme for it.  There's been quite a few changes by Luksy.  8)

Chrysalis

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #406 on: 2020-01-28 12:37:55 »
Some feedback from myself.

Note I am running this on Windows 8.1 64bit.

The dump feature seems to not do anything, I get an entry in the log reporting the registry location, and nothing else.  In the command window I do see a bunch of numbers indicating it is reading the flevel file, but nothing gets written, so I am unable to get text files from flevel.lgp.  This happens regardless if I set the paths or if I let it use defaults.

Download link to latest version is broken 1.3.1.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 251
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.3.0)
« Reply #407 on: 2020-01-28 12:49:45 »
see my post above

jt31431

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #408 on: 2020-03-05 12:08:05 »
New here and I feel kind of stupid were is the readme on how to get this going I try and it always says No FFVII installation found
.ini not found / unreadable, options disabled
Error creating spacing table

opengrip

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #409 on: 2020-03-15 17:50:19 »
I also can not find the read me on this thread or the github link. Can someone please point me in the right direction

To clarify... i downloaded the release for 1.4.0 and all it came with was 1 file called touphScript.exe... i put it in a folder and ran it and then tried to (d)ump. It created an empty text folder and a text document which i assume is a log file which said:

"Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
.ini not found / unreadable, options disabled
FF7.exe not found, using spacing values in config file."

There is no read me to be found on the front page of this thread and none on the github... it didnt come with the release download or generate after using the exe.

I assume I'm missing an ini file which is probably used for locating the correct file paths. Maybe I am blind and just didn't see it or maybe it was forgotten about during the last latest release update... i didn't see any previous releases on the github either so i can't even check to compare.

« Last Edit: 2020-03-16 01:27:56 by opengrip »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 251
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #410 on: 2020-03-16 02:42:51 »
Latest source here in case anyone still cares, will get around to uploading the binary at some point

https://github.com/ser-pounce/touphscript

In other words, wait for new release.

opengrip

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #411 on: 2020-03-16 06:14:50 »
In other words, wait for new release.

I'm not even sure if this was responding to me... and if it was I am still not sure if that github link with the latest source was supposed to help... and on top of that waiting for a new release comes off as super unhelpful especially since that post that you quoted was from a half a year ago. Is this tool nonfunctional currently? Is there an older version or another tool that people are using now? Is it currently being worked on? Like DLPB how about you take a little more time when responding to give an answer that will actually help me with regards to my question. Someone else asked for the read me on march 5th as well and no one even responded to them...

Loki_

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #412 on: 2020-04-20 19:04:43 »
Some feedback from myself.

Note I am running this on Windows 8.1 64bit.

The dump feature seems to not do anything, I get an entry in the log reporting the registry location, and nothing else.  In the command window I do see a bunch of numbers indicating it is reading the flevel file, but nothing gets written, so I am unable to get text files from flevel.lgp.  This happens regardless if I set the paths or if I let it use defaults.

Download link to latest version is broken 1.3.1.

Same issue here. Dump command doesn't do anything and on log i only have this Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII

I'm on Win 10 x64.

Anyone would suggest any other tool to change text on exe?

usb

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #413 on: 2020-04-21 11:22:07 »
Latest 1.4 version is missing some text files. These are inspired from Reunion R06 installer and should work with this 1.4

Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8-bom, named Chars.txt and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/D4SkFSN1 (this is vanilla chars table)
Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8, named touphScript.ini and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/XQ7UAHbd

Put both file where is touphScript.exe

In touphScript.ini the part under:
# Override common spacing values
#override window.bin  - spacing table
are disabled (the values are from my italian reunion port and not vanilla game, don't know what appen in vanilla game so better leave disabled... to enable delete #)
« Last Edit: 2020-05-04 09:58:30 by usb »

Khrone

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #414 on: 2020-04-21 13:43:02 »
Latest 1.4 version is missing some text files. These are form Reunion R06 installer and should work with this 1.4

Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8-bom, named Chars.txt and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/D4SkFSN1 (this is vanilla chars table)
Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8, named touphScript.ini and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/XQ7UAHbd

Put both file where is touphScript.exe

In touphScript.ini the part under:
# Override common spacing values
#override window.bin  - spacing table
are disabled (the values are from reunion and not vanilla game, to enable delete #)

I've tried with this solution. Something changed, but still it doesn't work.
This is the log now:
Code: [Select]
Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
Error creating spacing table
Cannot read / error reading flevel
Couldn't dump world_us: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump scene: converting to scene failed, basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel2: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump exe: basic_ios::clear: iostream error

The problem seems to be a missing spacing table. I've tried re-enabling the one under #override window.bin - spacing table, but it doesn't work and says:

Code: [Select]
Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
FF7.exe not found, using spacing values in config file.

And that's probably because I'm trying to use it on the 7H FF7.exe while the string, as you said, is thought for use with Reunion.
Well, I actually don't know, I'm just guessing.
« Last Edit: 2020-04-21 13:49:19 by Khrone »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10638
  • Karma: 251
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #415 on: 2020-04-21 14:16:55 »
This isn't the latest version of ts and wont work right with R06.  Wait until it's released.

And def know what you're doing beforehand.

usb

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #416 on: 2020-04-21 19:13:19 »
I've tried with this solution. Something changed, but still it doesn't work.
This is the log now:
Code: [Select]
Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
Error creating spacing table
Cannot read / error reading flevel
Couldn't dump world_us: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump scene: converting to scene failed, basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump kernel2: basic_ios::clear: iostream error
Couldn't dump exe: basic_ios::clear: iostream error

The problem seems to be a missing spacing table. I've tried re-enabling the one under #override window.bin - spacing table, but it doesn't work and says:

Code: [Select]
Registry values found:SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
FF7.exe not found, using spacing values in config file.

And that's probably because I'm trying to use it on the 7H FF7.exe while the string, as you said, is thought for use with Reunion.
Well, I actually don't know, I'm just guessing.

never tried 7th exe but try in #Override paths to write the full path of every files, like
flevel = C:\Users\touphScript 1.4\flevel.lgp
and so on for the other

if you don't want to dump text from a specific file in # Dump Text set it to 0

basic_ios::clear: iostream error     
Cannot read / error reading flevel 

in my test they appear when it's missing the file (dump enabled but not path set)

don't use override spacing
« Last Edit: 2020-04-21 19:20:41 by usb »

Loki_

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #417 on: 2020-04-21 20:35:47 »
Latest 1.4 version is missing some text files. These are form Reunion R06 installer and should work with this 1.4

Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8-bom, named Chars.txt and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/D4SkFSN1 (this is vanilla chars table)
Create a file with notepad++ in utf-8, named touphScript.ini and paste the code here https://pastebin.com/XQ7UAHbd

Put both file where is touphScript.exe

In touphScript.ini the part under:
# Override common spacing values
#override window.bin  - spacing table
are disabled (the values are from reunion and not vanilla game, don't know what appen in vanilla game... to enable delete #)

Before, thanks for helping, really appreciate :)
 
With your tips now dump and encode work good. thanks again ;)
« Last Edit: 2020-04-25 10:05:11 by Loki_ »

Spellshade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #418 on: 2020-04-28 04:25:06 »
Is there updated documentation for this tool?

I am looking to edit in-game dialogue, but touphScript doesn't seem to accept different line counts.
I know it's possible because Beacause does it, but...

usb

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [PC] Text editor - touphScript (v1.4.0)
« Reply #419 on: 2020-05-04 10:00:44 »
Is there updated documentation for this tool?

I am looking to edit in-game dialogue, but touphScript doesn't seem to accept different line counts.
I know it's possible because Beacause does it, but...

touphScript doesn't accept different line counts. If you want to add new text you need to use makou reactor to add new text entries (and change field script)