Author Topic: [FF8PC-2000] Project SeeD - FF8 GUI overhaul (2.0)  (Read 153557 times)

vilykings

  • Guest
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #100 on: 2012-02-16 12:54:18 »
Quote
In your mods folder create another folder called avalanche. Stick the menu folder in the avalanche folder. Change your modpath so it reads "modpath = avalanche" and be sure to check the Use High Res Font box in FF8Config.

I'm not sure the directory of the Menu folder should be /mods/avalanche/Menu or /mods/avalanche/data/eng/Menu. Because before making the change, my old directory is Mods/data/eng/Menu.
And when I try the "/mods/avalanche/Menu", the game runs okay on Geforce card but it uses the old, bad, low-resolution graphics.

Can changing from using the "/Mods" folder directory to "/mods/avalanche" help my situation?

And I'm not sure the "code" I should use is "Yes/No" or "On/Off", can you tell me again?

Thank you for your time. I really appreciate it.

EDIT: I did it, thanks to your information. I change my director to /mods/avalanche/data/eng/Menu, and it works :D. SO great

Thank you so so much dude. Great job :D
« Last Edit: 2012-02-16 13:13:13 by vilykings »

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #101 on: 2012-02-16 16:15:58 »
Hi vilykings,

good to see that it worked for you (/mods/avalanche/data/eng/Menu).

Q: And I'm not sure the "code" I should use is "Yes/No" or "On/Off", can you tell me again?
A: Use the parameters exactly as i have written.
     I asked Aali long time ago about it, but he never answered.   :'(

Hi Aali,

i have a question for "ff7_opengl.cfg".

Normally this parameter is correct:  minigame_framelimiter = on  / off
Is this value also correct:                 minigame_framelimiter = yes / no

Greetings from Germany

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #102 on: 2012-02-16 17:51:53 »
on/off, yes/no, true/false and probably some more variations on the same theme are completely equivalent

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #103 on: 2012-02-16 17:57:55 »
@Aali: Thanks for enlighten me (and all of us).

falkTX

  • *
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #104 on: 2012-02-16 18:03:02 »
# Disable Error Notifications   add these lines at the bottom
disable_popup = on                "Glitch .... something .. texture"
I didn't know about this one, it was not on the config file.

Now I don't see those yellow glitch messages anymore, thanks!
« Last Edit: 2012-02-16 18:20:32 by falkTX »

kabooz

  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #105 on: 2012-02-18 11:08:45 »
HI, I still haven't done anything on the mod just thought I come by and give a link to the reuploaded german version
Project SeeD german
« Last Edit: 2012-02-18 11:20:09 by kabooz »

Alkor

  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • O_o
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #106 on: 2012-02-23 09:40:46 »
Hi ppl. Still can't understand why it not work for me -_-
A get this way for mod: C:\Program Files\Final Fantasy 8\mods\avalanche\data\eng\menu
In config i have this: mod_path = /mods/avalanche/data/eng/menu
High font is on and render is direct3d
Help plox :'(

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #107 on: 2012-02-23 09:51:42 »
@Alkor: This should work:  mod_path = avalanche

              If black boxes are displayed while you are playing,
              change the Renderer to Software.
              And/or deactivate Antialiasing in your graphics card
              driver setup. (if possible)
« Last Edit: 2012-02-23 09:56:06 by UGerstl »

LeonhartGR

  • *
  • Posts: 2538
  • ~Whatever...~ Enjoy life!
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #108 on: 2012-02-23 11:31:19 »
Thank you so much for this project! It means there is still hope for ff8 "GIGA" fans like me ;) I haven't tried it yet because of lack of time (NWO, financial crisis, and such virtual reality issues :P :P ) Do you advise me to wait for the final version? Do this work with the high def avatars?

UGerstl

  • *
  • Posts: 376
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #109 on: 2012-02-23 11:39:23 »
@Leonhart7413: I advise you to wait for the installation documentation,
                            which i am just writing/testing/verifying.    ;)

LeonhartGR

  • *
  • Posts: 2538
  • ~Whatever...~ Enjoy life!
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #110 on: 2012-02-23 11:52:09 »
@Leonhart7413: I advise you to wait for the installation documentation,
                            which i am just writing/testing/verifying.    ;)

Confirmed! :)

PanDa

  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Just another FF fan
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #111 on: 2012-03-02 19:16:28 »
   SeeD v1.0b.rar
   MediaFire or https://rapidshare.com/files/3746332808/SeeD_v1.0b.rar

Edit: MediaFire link added
        (01/23/2012)

Thanks!!!! this really comes handy now that Megaupload is gone

Thank you UGerstl you're a life saver.

tbogard

  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #112 on: 2012-03-11 03:19:19 »
If i want to start a project in spanish, there is a way i can extract the textures? thanks

savage-xp

  • *
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #113 on: 2012-05-06 21:32:09 »
Good news ! After several tries, i managed to get high fontos! Awesome, it`s possible to do with the field backgrounds?

LeonhartGR

  • *
  • Posts: 2538
  • ~Whatever...~ Enjoy life!
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #114 on: 2012-05-07 12:46:14 »
Good news ! After several tries, i managed to get high fontos! Awesome, it`s possible to do with the field backgrounds?

Thank you so much!

Final Fantasy VIII EXTRA : Non Aprite Quella Porta

Final Fantasy VIII EXTRA: Laguna's Car

FINAL FANTASY VIII-0 The Movie: Laguna Loire's Adventures
« Last Edit: 2012-05-07 13:18:15 by Leonhart7413 »

Omik

  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #115 on: 2012-05-21 11:29:08 »
HI, I still haven't done anything on the mod just thought I come by and give a link to the reuploaded german version
Project SeeD german
dude, throw please on other hosting )

Squall_1904

  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • "As long as I have my sword..."
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #116 on: 2012-05-24 08:48:46 »
I can still see the original numbers when the numbers are fading after an attack. A minor problem.
However when a character is dead de "0" number stays yellow instead of turning red. Can this be fixed?

kabooz

  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #117 on: 2012-05-28 10:00:31 »
HI, I still haven't done anything on the mod just thought I come by and give a link to the reuploaded german version
Project SeeD german - 4shared
alternative link - mediafire
« Last Edit: 2012-05-28 10:03:51 by kabooz »

Omik

  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #118 on: 2012-05-30 02:33:02 »

Laughingbox

  • Guest
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #119 on: 2012-06-15 01:16:43 »
Aaaand.. is this a necro post? It's half a month, give or take.

This mod looks really, really cool, but I'm having a really difficult time getting this thing to run. I've read the thread and it looks like my problem hasn't been seen yet (I could be wrong). The game recognizes the mod, but the text boxes look.. ugly. I've tried both versions 10.b and 10.c and no good results.

I have High Res fonts on, mod path is C:\Games\FFVIII\mods\avalanche\data\eng\menu, not sure what else I have to do here...

Here's what my ff8 config file looks like:
Code: [Select]
## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF8
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 1024
window_size_y = 768
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = yes

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
# does not affect the old external textures feature, those should still go in textures/
mod_path = avalanche

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = yes

# allow FF8 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

And.. this is what it looks like. Help.

AnghellicKarma

  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #120 on: 2012-08-02 01:26:14 »
I've just started this and am trying to get it all working... I'm not sure I have it, though...
 
Here's an image of my Config menu, to compare to the one shown on the first page:
http://www.wspentertainment.com/ff8/FF8%202012-08-01%2021-17-03-50.jpg

Also, here's an error I get on the title screen (also mentioned by someone else in this thread, here):
http://www.wspentertainment.com/ff8/FF8%202012-08-01%2021-22-38-10.jpg
 
 
For good measure, here is my config file:
http://www.wspentertainment.com/ff8/ff8_opengl.cfg

My directory is as follows:
- Game is installed to C:\Games\FF8
- I have a directory there called mods
- Inside mods is data
- Inside data is eng
- Inside eng is menu
- Inside menu is a ton of PNGs as well as a folder called hires with even more PNGs

Lastly, I DO have "Use High Res Fonts" checked in FF8Config.exe
 
 
 :|


EDIT: For some reason, my screenshots (taken via Fraps hotkey) are 640x480, whereas it looks like the screenshot of the same Config menu on the first post is much larger. This is odd, since the game is running at full screen for me (it also makes comparing them difficult), and I use the FF8_Launcher (v1.31) to start the game, selecting 1920x1080 for Display Mode. Not sure if any of this is relevant (even if it does confuse me), but just trying to include as much info as I can for a resolution :)


EDIT2: I also get this error whenever a random battle occurs:
http://www.wspentertainment.com/ff8/FF8%202012-08-01%2022-13-51-00.jpg
« Last Edit: 2012-08-02 03:33:23 by AnghellicKarma »

Omik

  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #121 on: 2012-09-05 07:03:21 »
EDIT2: I also get this error whenever a random battle occurs:
http://www.wspentertainment.com/ff8/FF8%202012-08-01%2022-13-51-00.jpg
you need to add disable_popup = on somewhere at the bottom ff8_opengl.cfg

Zen

  • *
  • Posts: 403
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #122 on: 2012-09-18 17:13:36 »
How come Zell's and Ward's portraits look different from the others? They look like upscaled low-res pictures while all the others are high-res.


Squall_1904

  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • "As long as I have my sword..."
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #123 on: 2012-10-08 05:02:56 »
How did you fixed the black screen thing? I can't fix it... My GUI overhaul was great on my previous instalation, but I had to reinstall the game and now I have this kind of black menu and I can't make it right. 

Squall_1904

  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • "As long as I have my sword..."
    • View Profile
Re: [REL/FF8] Project SeeD (FF8 GUI overhaul)
« Reply #124 on: 2012-10-10 02:32:31 »
Well looks like I found a strange solution on the same day I was having this problem. O.O If someone is having this black menu prob just go to your registry, H_KEY_LOCAL_MACHINE >> SOFTWARE >> Squaresoft, Inc >> FINAL FANTASY VIII >> 1.00 and where is says "Graphics" there should be like "0x10100001". Just change the last 2 numbers to 21 so it'll be like "0x10100021" and the menu prob will be fixed. ^^
I found it by comparing my actual registry with my last installation's registry.