Author Topic: Multiple problems with new intall.  (Read 5063 times)

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Multiple problems with new intall.
« on: 2011-08-06 21:54:40 »
Ok here should be an easy #!, you see the black lines surroudning all the models? I want that gone, how would I do that?




My next problems are as follows;

Text - The text looks horrible, all splotchy and white outlined, how do I fix it

Slowness - the game seems to be running super slow(see battles and opening with biggs and wedge) How do I fix this?


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tjRfgYSLc0g



While Im here how do I remove the borders from the battle windows? thanks a bunch.

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • *
  • Posts: 730
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #1 on: 2011-08-06 22:00:14 »
1. I don't see any black outlines on the models.
2. The text can be fixed by installing Avalanche's mods, GUI and High Res or the Menu Overhaul.
3. Typical of an AMD CPU. No but seriously I don't know about this one.

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #2 on: 2011-08-06 22:09:22 »
1. There are CLEARLY black lines around cloud and sword and hand pointer in the provided pic

2. I installed using The bootleg installer, and added the option for the text mods, yet it looks to be an old crappy version, I also installed DLPB's menu mod

3. I have no idea either


NEW

4. I installed the hardcore mod, yet the footage I provided seems to be normal gameplay...am I wrong? Im killing MP's in one hit.

5. the slowdown happens without fraps or monitoring proggy's, if your wondering.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3938
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #3 on: 2011-08-06 22:19:21 »
It's hard to tell in a dark environment and at such a low resolution, but I simply cannot see the black outlines on Cloud or the sword. I'm pretty sure the hand pointer always has outlines, it's part of the image itself.

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #4 on: 2011-08-06 23:36:56 »
Heres a larger image, look at his hair, and the back edge of the sword


sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3755
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #5 on: 2011-08-07 01:00:56 »
I believe that is part of the shading of the model itself.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #6 on: 2011-08-07 01:02:18 »
It is and if you remove it, it will look awful.

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #7 on: 2011-08-07 02:20:31 »
Ok since thats a no go, what about my other problems, just need to get these fixed to start with Lets Play: FF7 Hardcore

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #8 on: 2011-08-07 02:35:10 »
The hand graphic however has got a problem...  Seems transparency isnt being handled well there at all.  I will bring that up with aali.  When I changed the hand to be a bit more smooth it came out with a big horrible dark outline.

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #9 on: 2011-08-07 03:59:21 »
Please someone give me a hand. I have been wanting to play this game all day.  :(

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #10 on: 2011-08-07 04:07:57 »
I honestly don't know why it would be running slow.  Check the app log, send it here.   The shadow is normal, the dark outline is aalis problem to solve (and TA original hand graphic has a dirty black outline). 

Your text needs updating via menu overhaul or TA menu update.  Choose one and install it.  If you are using TA try using mine. 

Main point, we need app.log sending here so we can see what the driver is reporting.
« Last Edit: 2011-08-07 04:10:27 by DLPB »

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #11 on: 2011-08-07 04:23:07 »
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series 4.1.10907 Compatibility Profile Context
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1920x1080, internal resolution 1920x1440
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 16384, frag uniform 16384
INFO: vertex shader compile log:
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: fragment shader compile log:
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: main program link log:
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; rawvideo/null 364x353, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 0.066667, frames: 1
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII\movies\sqlogo.avi; h264/aac 1280x896, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 14.533333, frames: 218
INFO: vertex shader compile log:
Vertex shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: fragment shader compile log:
Fragment shader was successfully compiled to run on hardware.

INFO: yuv program link log:
Vertex shader(s) linked, fragment shader(s) linked.

set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc\Final Fantasy VII\movies\opening.avi; h264/aac 1280x896, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 119.533333, frames: 1793
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
GLITCH: Vsync seems to be forced ON, battle swirl framelimiter will not work
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 300
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Begin main battle loop
[BATTLE] End of current battle
[BATTLE] Begin end battle stuff
stop_sound
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_QUIT
[BATTLE] endof battle.
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_QUIT
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
cross play music: 0
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=4
set music volume: 127
WM_CLOSE
Field Quit
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD




Also, It seems as if the modpath doesnt work. I loaded facepalmers files in and some battle files of mine and it did not work, and furthermor, screwed with the text.

Also is this correct for the modpath if the mods are in the install folder thne mods/avalanche?

mod_path = avalanche        should it be mods\avalanche?
« Last Edit: 2011-08-07 04:25:30 by jeffdamann »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #12 on: 2011-08-07 04:27:12 »
Make sure you clean the cache first by deleting the cache folder.  Also "Compress textures" set to NO (in ff7_opengl.cfg) for testing.

Quote
GLITCH: Vsync seems to be forced ON, battle swirl framelimiter will not work

That is 1 reason why your PC may be having trouble.  You should not be forcing Vsync.  Turn it off (that is let it use application controlled) in your graphic card.


mod_path = avalanche would be correct.  You would then place files inside mods/avalanche/ folder.
« Last Edit: 2011-08-07 04:28:44 by DLPB »

jeffdamann

  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • The ORIGINAL!
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #13 on: 2011-08-07 04:40:49 »
Actually mods/avalanche worked, but not for facepalmer or my battle files, It only made the menu mod work.

I still have really bright pink and blue battle bars that suck,I wish I could fix that.

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • *
  • Posts: 730
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple problems with new intall.
« Reply #14 on: 2011-08-07 05:55:46 »
You could install the mods manually, one at a time rather than using bootlegger. There may have been a mistake using it and caused some mods to not function properly.