Author Topic: [FF7] Change movie path - FF7MovieDir (v2)  (Read 18484 times)

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
[FF7] Change movie path - FF7MovieDir (v2)
« on: 2011-08-21 04:00:36 »
FF7MovieDir
Version 2 (hopefully final)

The Problem
Whether copying movies from the discs to your hard drive or downloading replacements from the internet, a lot of people want FF7 to read its movies from the hard drive. The thing is, FF7 normally only wants to read movies from the original discs, and changing this setting requires navigating the registry, which can be slow and clunky for those who know how, and downright scary for those who don't.

The Solution
That's where FF7MovieDir comes in! A small little app I made, it serves one purpose alone: to do this for you. No more mucking around trying to remember if it's in HKLM or HKCU, no more long tree structures in a tiny little sidebar, no more chance of typos when actually putting the new directory in, just a simple folder select dialog box.

Download: MEGA | zShare

I don't expect this'll change the world, but hopefully a few people will find it easier and/or less intimidating than doing it manually.
« Last Edit: 2014-07-17 18:07:17 by Covarr »

DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Karma: 1
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #1 on: 2011-08-21 04:10:04 »
Nice little program. Saves me the time of finding the key manually.

Not sure if this will cause a problem but the key has a different location when installed on 64-bit.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #2 on: 2011-08-21 04:18:38 »
I use Windows 7 x64 myself, and took that into consideration. It works just fine here! If anything, it's more likely go wrong on a 32-bit system, because I didn't have one handy for testing.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9184
  • Karma: 285
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #3 on: 2011-08-21 12:46:51 »
Good.

sen

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1252
  • Karma: 26
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #4 on: 2011-08-21 14:19:31 »
Wow so if i get this i can get DPLB FMV restoration and that and put it anywhere in the hdd? without editing the scary registry i always mess up?

NFITC1

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2829
  • Karma: 71
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #5 on: 2011-08-22 02:44:20 »
Nice little program. Saves me the time of finding the key manually.

Not sure if this will cause a problem but the key has a different location when installed on 64-bit.

Typically if a 32-bit app tries to access the registry in a 64-bit Win OS it'll redirect into that Wow3264 folder (or whatever it is) automatically. I'm not sure about a direct look-up though.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 12
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #6 on: 2011-08-22 03:18:12 »
Check the system variable for 64 or 32 bit architecture.
This batch will generate an appropriate .reg file for a full install of FF7 with the movies folder and Aali's OpenGl driver.
Code: [Select]
:do_RegFiles
SET FF7RegPath=%*
SET FF7InstallPath=%*
SET FF7RegPath=%FF7RegPath:\=\\%
ECHO:Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00>"FF7Setup.reg"
IF "%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%"=="AMD64" (ECHO:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII]>>"FF7Setup.reg") ELSE (ECHO:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII]>>"FF7Setup.reg")
ECHO:"AppPath"="%FF7RegPath%">>"FF7Setup.reg"
ECHO:"DataPath"="%FF7RegPath%Data\\">>"FF7Setup.reg"
ECHO:"MoviePath"="%FF7RegPath%movies\\">>"FF7Setup.reg"
ECHO:"FullInstall"=dword:00000001>>"FF7Setup.reg"
ECHO:"DriverPath"="%FF7RegPath%ff7_opengl.fgd">>"FF7Setup.reg"
IF "%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%"=="AMD64" (ECHO:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Graphics]>>"FF7Setup.reg") ELSE (ECHO:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Graphics]>>"FF7Setup.reg")
ECHO:"Driver"=dword:00000003>>"FF7Setup.reg"
ECHO:"Mode"=dword:00000002>>"FF7Setup.reg"

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #7 on: 2011-08-22 03:43:56 »
While I can tell what that batch file does, I'm not sure what the purpose of creating this reg file is, or what bearing it has on this tool.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 12
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #8 on: 2011-08-22 08:18:59 »
Just wanted to mention that the system variable %PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE% is useful in distinguishing between 32 and 64 bit architecture.


Dark Matt 2

  • Guest
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #9 on: 2011-09-04 10:53:25 »
This program doesn't seem to work on Win 7 32, I use it to set the folder but it still loads from the disc (D:\ff7\movies) and when I used Reg edit to manually set the folder my game wouldn't load any movies, it just skipped them and crashed, any ideas?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9184
  • Karma: 285
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #10 on: 2011-09-04 10:55:30 »
Are you running as admin?  You need permissions to edit reg.

Dark Matt 2

  • Guest
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #11 on: 2011-09-04 13:26:53 »
OMFG, thanks, I forgot that Vista has a thing about privilege levels

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #12 on: 2011-09-04 16:28:10 »
I should have taken this into account when I made the app. A new version should be coming later today that automatically requests admin.

Sometimes I forget about permissions because I keep UAC turned off...  :oops:

edit:And here it is!

I should prolly start labeling these, it's a pain not knowing what version you have of something.
« Last Edit: 2011-09-05 00:38:28 by Covarr »

Mojo907

  • Guest
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #13 on: 2012-07-06 19:03:05 »
Apparently this is no longer available.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #14 on: 2012-07-06 20:19:44 »
I'm assuming this is a glitch on MediaFire's end; I can still access it when I'm logged in, and they haven't sent me a removal notice.

Do you have a MediaFire account? Try logging in, and see if it lets you download. If that doesn't work, I can reupload it when I get home (~4 hours from now).

KyubiNemesis

Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #15 on: 2012-07-06 22:31:36 »
I just downloaded this the other day. I confirm that I have a mediafire account and was logged in when I got it.

Mojo907

  • Guest
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #16 on: 2012-07-06 22:56:28 »
I downloaded it yesterday, but inadvertently deleted it...heh...I do have a mediafire account, and was logged in.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 12
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #18 on: 2012-07-08 23:47:11 »
File blocked for violation.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #19 on: 2012-07-09 00:11:05 »
What the damnit? I think something's wrong with Mediafire, since other mediafire-hosted things have been having similar problems (not just mine, either. I can't download those enhanced movies in the other thread and I'm in the US) as well as I've not gotten a single violation notice.

edit: This won't be a huge issue, at least for my stuff, after around the fifteenth. I should have a better, more permanent hosting solution that will not have overage issues that dropbox did, and will not go down like this. I was gonna get it sooner, but my stupid bank has a hold on my last paycheck for 9 business days because it's a new account.
« Last Edit: 2012-07-09 00:14:03 by Covarr »

Vehek

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 219
  • Karma: 9
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #20 on: 2012-07-09 00:55:15 »
That was fast. I'm not playing FF7, so I don't need this, but I'm pretty sure your new link was working when I tried it earlier.

PitBrat

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1388
  • Karma: 12
  • Change to feed the machine.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #21 on: 2012-07-09 00:58:09 »
Same thing happened to me with another file.
The algorithm knows.
I had to change the file name and put a password on the archive.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #22 on: 2012-07-09 01:09:51 »
I'm like 95% certain it isn't blocked though. I'm still able to download it myself (which their help files say is disabled if it's blocked), and I haven't received a notice as they claim is their standard. I'm almost positive it's a glitch on their end.

Hellbringer616

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1915
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #23 on: 2012-07-09 02:54:51 »
Damn, discover this and figure i'll use it for my reinstall of FF7, and it's blocked. Man my luck today..

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3979
  • Karma: 122
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: FF7MovieDir
« Reply #24 on: 2012-07-09 03:29:05 »
Okay, it's zSHARE time (because Rapidshare is awful). This should work.