Author Topic: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]  (Read 1554331 times)

oblongsausage

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I'm putting the ff7 psx ending back into ff7 pc [ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPvwBac6sMc]  - this will mean recording a new FMV of starfield and various additions to code - to make music play, keep the loop, and play the fmv.
But it's doable.  I'm studying the game end code to allow for it.

Just curious: what currently happens with the ending on the current Steam version with Reunion installed?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
With or without is the same - the game closes down.  I haven't touched the code, so it's completely unaltered.

oblongsausage

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
So there's no star FMV like in the PSX version? I haven't actually finished a PC playthrough yet.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Don't make me quote my own post haha :P

There is no FMV in PSX version either - it's a looping animation at the end.  For PC, an FMV will be needed.

sodx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Made an account just because I've really been wanting to play this. Having the same issue stated from the 24th, Tifa just running into the middle of the tower when tryin to walk to Barrett before the destroy Sector 7. Been trying everything I can think of to get past it but I can't.

The party slot swap did the trick for me, too.

You tried switching her party slot? That fixes it for me.

A thing I noticed in the first Aeris flashback at her house; her new child model doesn't seem to be used for me (with model overhaul on), no idea why. Ends up with the xbox huge original model.

I also did not have her child model show it, it was the chibi/SD form. I had just assumed the model did not exist/was not finished.

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
need save file for the cid issue and perhaps a vid?

Apologies I saved over it, you could try the 'Corel prison after boss' save from this:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Gamingsaves/comments/1l1nvv/final_fantasy_vii_7_all_pc_versions_save/

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
That took a long time to finalize.  Had to figure out a lot of stuff to make my own module run at the end and get FMV to loop and free and so on. But it's done.

Next, I'll record a starfield FMV.


Code: [Select]
it sets looping flag based on movie ID - for example >

cmp dword ptr [ebp+0C],14
je 0040B035
cmp dword ptr [ebp+0C],15
je 0040B035
cmp dword ptr [ebp+0C],17
je 0040B035
cmp dword ptr [ebp+0C],1C
jne 0040B04B
mov [ebp-00000208],00000001

Where 14, 15, 17, 1C are movie IDs.  (15 is one of the last fmvs)  - course it also checks the disk too.  2A is also looped from code above it.

The value is then ebp+c  in prepare movie function.
2A is disc 2 - very likely the water screen FMV.  All others are disc 3.
Anyway that concludes that
ultimately 9a0e20 is the looping flag when everything is processed
« Last Edit: 2020-01-25 11:01:42 by DLPB »

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
That's great, I had actually forgotten that the starfield was in the game until you mentioned it. Brings back memories of how I felt after my first playthrough.

Also can I just say, well done on fixing Gongaga! Those fields always confused me, it makes so much more sense now.

Reunion is well on it's way to becoming the definitive version of FF7.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
DynamixDJ was the one who brought that to my attention :)


>

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=11992.msg179508#msg179508

It's a bad port, Dan.
« Last Edit: 2020-01-25 11:31:47 by DLPB »

DJGamer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I've been livestreaming the game with this mod and Remako installed (had to follow a guide to get Remako to work, manually extracting the files and putting them in
the CUSTOM folder). I've gotten to Rocket Town and after the flashback cutscene I leave Cid's house and the EXE stops responding. I might try troubleshooting by disabling various elements on the mod to see if that fixes the problem but I felt like I should report the problem here to see if there's a fix. I tried searching the bugs database for "rocket" and found nothing like this.

In any case, here's my Reunion.log if that helps for anything.

Code: [Select]
Mod ID: remako

Activated: New translation
Activated: Menu Enhancement
Activated: Model Overhaul
Activated: Audio Replacement
Activated: New frame limiter
Activated: Centred field screens
Warning: Closed Mouth Models has been disabled as the Model Overhaul has been activated
Activated: High precision timer (QPC)
Activated: Transparent dialogue boxes
Activated: Show more status - mode 2
Loaded: Submarine text file D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\text\Submarine.txt
Loaded: Chars text file D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\text\Chars.txt
Loaded: Exe text file D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\text\Exe.txt
Activated: Mandatory fixes
Loaded: Real ddraw.dll
Loaded: Any global DLLs - See hext.log
Loaded: Any custom DLLs - See hext.log
Loaded: Any global hext files - See hext.log
Loaded: Any custom hext files - See hext.log
Loaded: Bass.dll

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\menu\menu_us.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\battle\battle.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\battle\magic.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\field\char.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\flevel.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\chocobo.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\condor.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\The_Reunion\BASE\New_Translation\world.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\cd\moviecam.lgp

Loaded LGP:
D:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\cd\cr_us.lgp

I'd also like to give a bit of feedback on the translation. There are a number of instances where sentences end with a question mark and it doesn't quite feel like it should. The most recent example I've encountered is something to the effect of "There's nothing to do in this town?". In such instances either the punctuation should be changed or the sentences themselves need to be altered to read more like a question. This has happened maybe three or four times so far and maybe it just bugs me because I'm actually reading the lines aloud and attempting to semi-voice act them for my stream. Just thought I should bring it up for the sake of constructive criticism. Oh yeah, and there's also a scene after the Sector 7 plate goes down where Barret reverts to calling his daughter Marlene instead of the updated translation of Marin.

Besides that, pretty good work. :D

EDIT: I've troubleshooted and I can confirm it has something to do with the new translation. The problem does not occur when the new translation is disabled. Will have to go without it for a stretch then re-enable it once I'm able to save the game afterwards. Hope that'll help you guys narrow down the source of the problem. I also noticed that the countdown timer is on the opposite side of the screen (the right) when the new translation is disabled.
« Last Edit: 2020-01-25 22:49:21 by DJGamer »

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Confirmed this only happens when New Translation is enabled:

In Cosmo Canyon, Barrett is standing in a room talking about how avalanche started. After the initial conversation, if you try to talk to him again, you can't. He just stands there and doesn't respond.

Here is the save (which is after the initial conversation):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sR8JbfmV2QR52I-sju8rbdf7eps_JCkz/view?usp=sharing

Just load the first save and walk up the stairs and into the top room and try to talk to him.


DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Isn't that normal?  I may have added that so you don't get repeated information.

Also things like

cosin1_1   Barrett can gain infinite Love Points.   Yes   Luksy   DLPB   R05


Is any dialogue missing?  If not, it's not a bug.  If you can't talk to a character and get the same information twice, that's not a bug, basically - it's a fix.
« Last Edit: 2020-01-26 04:36:20 by DLPB »

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Isn't that normal?  I may have added that so you don't get repeated information.

Well it's definitely not normal - it's inconsistent with every other NPC interaction in the game, which is why I raised it.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
He's not an NPC  - and more than that, he's just finished a long speech.  There's no bug there unless dialogue is missing.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile

e2zippo

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Awesome work DLPB!  :D

Salk

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
  • Karma: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]
« Reply #5441 on: Yesterday at 11:51:23 »
Good job with the starfield! ;)

Reunion is becoming more and more of a "must-have" modification.

magitek

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]
« Reply #5442 on: Yesterday at 17:13:52 »
Loving the R06!

Is there a way to the turbo/speed not be limited to the fps? If I enable vsync there's no change in battles if is already at 60fps, but if I disable vsync screen tearing is all over the place making the game almost unplayable. Can you make the vsync disable when you activate the turbo and re-enable when it is deactivated? If not, can you suggest any other way/program to make this functional? Tried with cheat engine, but it's still limited by vsync.

As a suggestion, you could make the turbo/speed as a toggle on and off and the velocity (2x,4x,8x) set on the .ini. When using this feature a lot, now you have to circle through the options to disable and it would be much simpler as an on/off option.

Can something be done to use the triggers on a xinput as L2/R2?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]
« Reply #5443 on: Yesterday at 19:00:50 »
I'll see what can be done

Ryan76903

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]
« Reply #5444 on: Yesterday at 21:25:10 »
Hello! I made an account here just to say Thank You So Much for all the work you have put into making this incredible mod / upgrade. My fiancee has never seen FF7 before, and I've been playing with Reunion + Remako mods so she can have the best visual and narrative experience possible. It's a truly awesome way to first experience the game, and it wouldn't be possible without everything you've done. She and I both are as grateful as can be!

I have of course run into some of the peculiarities that others have already mentioned (most recently the Group Room stuck character in Wall Market), as well as some others that might be all my own (I can't get any Turbo / Speed Multiplier or Default Run to work, for instance - possibly side effects of Remako? If anyone else has info on it I'm certainly curious). I have also spent time reading through the thread (sweet job fixing up the ending starfield scene!) and the Google Spreadsheet detailing all the bugs and fixes, and it makes me excited for R06b's release since it looks like it'll contain most of the fixes everyone has noted so far.

On that - has R06b been released and we just missed / overlooked it, or is it just still work-in-progress? If we didn't simply miss the release, were you projecting any specific release date? We know greatness takes time, and we certainly are patient and capable of waiting for your polished work. We're both eager to play and appreciative to have the opportunity to enjoy FF7 in the best form it's ever been presented. Seriously, thanks again!

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC-98/Steam] Multiple mods and Modding Tool-The Reunion [R06]
« Reply #5445 on: Yesterday at 23:24:39 »
There's no way to do it, sadly.  Vsync can't be toggled. TrueOdin is looking into that but it doesn't seem to be the case.

So for now, options:

1. Get a monitor that has a high refresh rate so vsync will cap higher
2. Disable vsync.  It's not so bad in full screen mode?




DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9962
  • Karma: 314
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
@Ryan. 

Thanks :)

You'll know when R06b is released because this thread will be updated.  You won't be able to miss it.