Author Topic: [FF7PC-98] Higher Resolution (v1.00)(Discontinued, use Aali's driver)  (Read 198562 times)

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #575 on: 2006-01-01 17:54:47 »
Sorry if I'm reviving a dead topic; but...

How do I select the higher res? It's not in the config...and not in the readme.

An explination would be nice, thanks.

-gone away-

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #576 on: 2006-01-01 18:55:12 »
Quote from: Mkilbride2599
Sorry if I'm reviving a dead topic; but...

How do I select the higher res? It's not in the config...and not in the readme.

An explination would be nice, thanks.


you've probley figured this out by now, but you dont need to select it. Just apply the 102 patch then the hi-res patch and your all set.

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #577 on: 2006-01-01 18:59:49 »
I did not know, nor notice a diffrence...hmm.

Oh well, now I just have to find a way for the reunion patch to work with my edition.

Thanks for a response though.

dziugo

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1470
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • A new copy of FF7 thanks to Salk. Pack (zip/rar/etc) your saved game before sending it to me.
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #578 on: 2006-01-01 19:45:56 »
Quote from: Mkilbride2599
I did not know, nor notice a diffrence...hmm.
Resolution must be set to 640x480 in order to play in HiRes. If the game runs, and you don't feel the difference, it means that the patch failed to apply to your version of ff7.exe.

dziugo

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #579 on: 2006-01-01 19:50:10 »
I have it at that selected, and I dunno.

I got the reunion patch to work, but at a certain part I get the BSOD!(AHHH!)

dziugo

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1470
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • A new copy of FF7 thanks to Salk. Pack (zip/rar/etc) your saved game before sending it to me.
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #580 on: 2006-01-01 19:56:15 »
Uhh... was the patching process successful?

dziugo

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #581 on: 2006-01-01 20:15:17 »
Yeah it was successful, but now my comp keeps crashing and I get the BSOD(Blue screen of death, if you didn't pick up last time) at random parts...I don't know what's going on.

dziugo

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1470
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • A new copy of FF7 thanks to Salk. Pack (zip/rar/etc) your saved game before sending it to me.
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #582 on: 2006-01-01 20:22:54 »
Any other patches installed? Does it crash without the Reunion's?

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #583 on: 2006-01-01 20:26:25 »
The High RES and Reunion patch are the only installed ones.

I put them both in at the same time and I guess I could trouble shoot abit.


But I'd rather have all the HQ stuff..


Oh yeah, I've also got the 32 BIT mod...
 

Maybe they are jus not compat.


EDIT: uninstalled the 32 bit mod, still crash...

It can't be the reunion patch, everyone uses it...maybe it's the high res or a conflict between them.

Zack

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #584 on: 2006-01-01 21:44:31 »
There shouldn't be a compatibility problem between the hi-res and reunion patches because they change different files and therefore should not conflict.

Most likely its the 32bit mod. Have you tried fully uninstaling the game and reinstalling it?

Mkilbride2599

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #585 on: 2006-01-01 22:29:42 »
the patch is 100% gone and ye...I don't know, the patch works but the new LGP is only 49 MB's, I heard it was bigger? and the crashes are random, so it's not models.


It's probably my edition...

The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2278
  • Karma: 0
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
    • Lazy at work
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #586 on: 2006-01-03 12:12:34 »
Start from a fresh FF7.EXE, Dont apply the 32bit patch it doesnt work with the Hi Res Patch.
So I would go in this order.
- BTW the Reunion Patch DOESNT patch the EXE
Apply the High Resolution Patch
FF7 Music DOESNT patch the EXE either
FF7w Doesnt patch the EXE either
So really next you can apply the Multi Patch with the 9999 Limit breaking and the transparent windows?

steven

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #587 on: 2006-01-10 01:27:53 »
this is going to sound nubish, but I keep my desktop rez at 1024x768 and this will patch the game to something higher then that. So Will it be displayed corectly if I try this patch or do I have to reset my desktop rez to whatever I pick ff7 to run as in order to work?

The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2278
  • Karma: 0
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
    • Lazy at work
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #588 on: 2006-01-10 21:36:57 »
No, if your Graphics card and Monitor support 1240x1024 then FF7 and the high res patch will work and Windows will simply switch resolutions when starting the game and switch back when it ends.

eXist

  • Guest
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #589 on: 2006-01-18 14:21:51 »
Can I somewhere download older version of this patch.. This new version dont work with my game. I do everything what you write (settings are nVidia TNT, Direct3D Hardware Acceleration, 640x480 FullScreen, 8bit textures are disabled with RivaTunner) and I install only game, 1.02 patch and this res-patch. When i start game resolution is still 640x480.

When I used the older version of this patch it works fine but i dont play FF small period of time and now when i want play again i delete older patch and download new..  :weep:

noregsson

  • Guest
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #590 on: 2006-01-20 03:24:43 »
So ... I was just wondering if it was possible to get this thing to work with the norwegian release? ... Nah, just kidding :P Tho a norwegian release would own. Or maybe Old Norse. Heh...

Anyways, to get to the point. I've actually read thru all 20 pages here, but it's what? 4am? 4:30? So excuse me if I missed the answer, if it's already been posted; I'm having trouble keeping my eyes up.

So I get the dreaded black screen when I try to run FF7 with Hi Res. Made full install, patched 1.02 (or whatever it is), also tried to get the movies to run from HDD, tho I doubt that matters much in this case. Also checked, double checked and qadruple checked settings in the config. It's all as it should be. _And_ the game runs fine without hi res.

I've got an AMD 3700+, 1gig ram, Geforce 6800 Ultra aaaand... Err ... Is there anything more you need to know? Running latest driver for my videocard, maybe?

All this is trivial tho, because I suspect that hi res isn't working because I have a 16/10 widescreen monitor, meaning I don't have support for ... 1240x1024(?) resolution. I can run higher resolutions tho, so if I'm correct when I assume this is why hi res isn't working, is there any way to get this thing to run in windowed mode or such? Or if I'm not correct in my assumption; would anyone care to tell me how I can fix this?


Thanks
-M


PS! OFF TOPIC:
Ok, I'm just too lazy to search this one out (meaning I couldn't find it), tho I'm sure it's out there. The first video, intro/logo/whatever movie, doesn't play. I can press enter and get to the menu, and then in game movies play. Now, intro movie does not play from either CD or HDD. I'm thinking maybe the intro movie is non-existant? (In EmperorSteeles "walkthru" he says the game won't start without "eidos.avi", which I can't find on any of my discs. He also mentions some non-movie files, which also I haven't been able to locate.) Any ideas?

Alhexx

  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1900
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
    • http://www.alhexx.com
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #591 on: 2006-01-20 06:19:29 »
noregsson:
Welcome to our boards!

Quote from: noregsson
Anyways, to get to the point. I've actually read thru all 20 pages here, but it's what? 4am? 4:30? So excuse me if I missed the answer, if it's already been posted; I'm having trouble keeping my eyes up.


The SaiNt:
I think it would be a good idea to start a new High-Res Patch topic, since a 20-page topic is simply too long to read.
I'm not going to close this topic, but maybe you should think about it.

 - Alhexx

The SaiNt

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
[BETA RELEASE] Higher Resolution FFVIIPC [v1.00]
« Reply #592 on: 2006-01-21 01:01:17 »
Yes the thread is now closed, I'll set up a new thread with an FAQ from the old one and merge the newly started thread with it later.
The thread is continued here.
« Last Edit: 2006-08-30 01:22:03 by The SaiNt »