Author Topic: SOLVED: "FF7.exe has stopped working" - Vista, FF7 Remix 5.2  (Read 5435 times)

livetruthfully

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Hey guys,

I've run across an interesting problem that it seems a lot of people had with Vista and this game in the past, but I couldn't find any definite solutions. Whenever I load up FF7.exe after installing FF7 Remix and Aali's Graphic Driver, right as the screen turns black suddenly I'm kicked out of the game and it says "FF7.exe has stopped working." I've done clean re-installs 5-6 times and the problem still persists. It's also important to note that after just installing the original PC version, then Remix and Aali's Graphic Driver and doing nothing else, it used to work just fine for me in the past. I haven't played this game in over a year and feel like with all the Windows Updates that happen with Vista something changed and now it no longer works.

I also made sure to install Aali's Graphic Driver right by having all 10 saved files filled up, having the ff7input.cfg file intact, and I get the "passed!" message when selecting the custom driver from FF7.config.

I'm using a AMD Turion X2 Dual Core Processor RM-70,
with 4096 MB 800MHz SDRAM and 200 GB (5400 RPM) HDD
and Windows Vista Home Premium (64-bit)

(Not sure how much of that info is helpful, I'm purely reading off the computer label.)

I've uploaded some screenshots of my config in case any of it is useful.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/3550/passedandconfiguration.jpg

http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/2407/directory.jpg

http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/9435/configuratione.jpg

Can anyone help me out? I'd really appreciate it.
« Last Edit: 2012-05-13 18:56:26 by Bosola »

UGerstl

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 380
  • Karma: 5
  • Analyst and Backup-Manager
    • View Profile
Re: "FF7.exe has stopped working" - Vista, FF7 Remix 5.2
« Reply #1 on: 2012-02-26 03:39:06 »
Hi livetruthfully,
  • I hope you have installed all available Service Packs
    and Windows Updates.

  • You know that Vista is known for his problems. ( ! )

  • Do you use the latest driver from Aali ?
       Aali's custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8
                         (scroll down to the bottom)

  • The FF7 Remix done by titeguy3 is outdated, full
    of bugs and i would say no longer supported.

    => Use the Bootleg installer instead.

I have send you a PM with further informations.
« Last Edit: 2012-03-21 00:02:02 by UGerstl »

livetruthfully

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: "FF7.exe has stopped working" - Vista, FF7 Remix 5.2
« Reply #2 on: 2012-02-26 19:11:00 »
Hi livetruthfully,
  • I hope you have installed all available Service Packs
    and Windows Updates.

  • You know that Vista is known for his problems. ( ! )

  • Do you use the latest driver from Aali ?  ( ff7_opengl-0.7.11b )

  • The FF7 Remix done by titeguy3 is outdated, full
    of bugs and i would say no longer supported.

    => Use the Bootleg installer instead.

I have send you a PM with further informations.

Hey UGerstl,

Thanks a lot for the reply, as well as the PM with easy instructions. I was a little overwhelmed by the amount of info about Bootleg at first, but the easy installation link made things very clear for me.

It'll take me awhile to install everything and free up enough space for the game (20 gb was unexpected), but I'll be sure to reply back if the game continues to not load after Bootleg is installed. I strongly hope that's not the case, because it seems Vista problems are harder to solve.

Thanks again for all of your help! It was very much appreciated.