Author Topic: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg  (Read 1962075 times)

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1625 on: 2013-08-15 22:52:17 »
I just set it, and it's still crashing after a full black screen.

Template

  • *
  • Posts: 855
  • Life is a series of cats.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1626 on: 2013-08-15 22:56:49 »
Quote
Failed to load: F:\FF7\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\battle/battle.lgp
That looks odd. I don't know man... I'm thinking you didn't uninstall correctly and do GameConverter correctly or it woulda already been using Aali's custom driver.

If you use GameConverter it will prompt you to open ff7config.exe and put a choco icon for it on your desktop. It beeps too... It should auto choose aali's custom driver for renderer when you open it.

Quote
‚ě£ Why are there two movie folders? <OR> Why is my movie folder empty? <OR> Why is my game crashing on the opening movie?

GameConverter purposely does not alter the original movie folder in any way. By default bootleg uses the movies folder located in the main FFVII install directory (like the original PC release). If you wish to use the new release videos simply change the movie path in the Bootloader config, as illustrated here:
©Kompass63
This step should be taken if there are any crashes related to using the default bootleg movies folder. 
If you wish to save space, you can do that, be careful about which movies you want to keep and which you delete, then same as above set the movie path as desired. You can move them to another drive completely, if you like.     

About Steam Reinstalls:
Reinstall completely (make sure everything is deleted from the game install folder) and use Kompass63's Registry tool before reinstalling ff7 and then using Kompass63 Game Converter.9b, Start the game to test it once after the Game Converter. Then install bootleg.

GameConverter.9b is specifically made to be compatible with STEAM ff7 and bootleg (It works on Windows XP, 7&8 ).
« Last Edit: 2013-08-15 23:01:02 by Template »

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1627 on: 2013-08-15 22:59:09 »
Nobody knows how to fix this :( It was using the custom driver at first. But I changed it around to see if it worked with different renderers.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-15 23:00:42 by Pantera31619 »

Template

  • *
  • Posts: 855
  • Life is a series of cats.
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1628 on: 2013-08-15 23:05:28 »
I think you are probably just in such a hurry to play you aren't taking the time to do this complicated process carefully. I know how frustrating this crap can be believe me. Take a break and come back- start completely over, that's my advice. STEAM is by far the most frikkin annoying POS rerelease to mod. It saved us a dollar. We shall overcome. You might go back to latest driver version, if you didn't already. Seems like it works for someone else...
Quote
i used a Nvidia cards with 320.49 driver.

It's probably best if you focus your frustration on me instead of your computer or furniture at this point  :-P
« Last Edit: 2013-08-15 23:10:21 by Template »

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1629 on: 2013-08-15 23:14:25 »
Quote
Failed to load: F:\FF7\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\battle/battle.lgp
Ha, that's what happened to me once!

BFE.exe & Bootleg & Game need 40 GB of free space on the HDD.
If not enough space is free, not disassemble the eg battle.lgp and/or reassembled.
Place the temp path to another HDD.

It was using the custom driver at first. But I changed it around to see if it worked with different renderers.
Unfortunately this does not work, because of the movies.
To play the movie is the plugin of Aalis driver indispensable.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-15 23:22:27 by Kompass63 »

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1630 on: 2013-08-15 23:27:11 »
The HDD it's on has 1.5 TB left though...

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1631 on: 2013-08-15 23:38:39 »
The HDD it's on has 1.5 TB left though...
One partition? It with Win8?

I like to share my HDD into two parts, 50GB for Win7 and the rest as data partition, games and other ...

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1632 on: 2013-08-15 23:44:00 »
I have two separate HDD's, and I am using Windows 7.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-15 23:47:03 by Pantera31619 »

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1633 on: 2013-08-16 00:00:18 »
Where should make BFE the Temporary Files and how much free space is there?

Do you have a file "battle.lgp" in your "[gamefolder]\data\battle", which modification date and how big is it?

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1634 on: 2013-08-16 00:17:43 »
There is 1.5 TB on the HDD where the BFE makes the temporary files go. And there is no battle.lgp in my battle folder.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-16 00:22:47 by Pantera31619 »

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1635 on: 2013-08-16 00:30:55 »
And there is no battle.lgp in my battle folder.
This is inexplicable...

Please add the "Bootleg.log" as [ code ] (the # when editing) here.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-16 00:38:43 by Kompass63 »

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1636 on: 2013-08-16 00:58:29 »
Post the brat code on the forum?

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1637 on: 2013-08-16 01:06:12 »
Bratcode nothing of use to me, "Bootleg.log" should be in your game folder.
If you do not want to make public that, you can also send me a PM ...

But possibly find many eyes more than just two :-D


I have for fun search the term "battle.lgp" in the bootleg.bat, it is used 370 times... :)
« Last Edit: 2013-08-16 01:11:39 by Kompass63 »

DAYLIO

  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1638 on: 2013-08-16 02:45:49 »
Hello!
I have been enjoying this game but unfortunately I am back with another problem.

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 4.2.12198 Compatibility Profile Context 12.102.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1920x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 16384, frag uniform 16384
INFO: fragment shader compile log:
WARNING: 0:14: warning(#260) Keyword "precision" is supported in GLSL 1.3
WARNING: 0:19: warning(#62) enable/warn/disable extension is not found. Extension "GL_ARB_framebuffer_object" is not supported

INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: E:\FINAL FANTASY VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/aac 1280x960, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.193000, frames: 153
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
GLITCH: missed palette write to external texture field/blin65_2/blin65_2_15
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 1000
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
ERROR: unhandled exception

The part of the game that is causing the crash is opening the Chest on Shinra Bldg. Floor 65 which contains the 66th floor keycard. This goes to a battle and never loads the battle.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1639 on: 2013-08-16 02:50:43 »
Hello!
I have been enjoying this game but unfortunately I am back with another problem.

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 4.2.12198 Compatibility Profile Context 12.102.3.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1920x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 16384, frag uniform 16384
INFO: fragment shader compile log:
WARNING: 0:14: warning(#260) Keyword "precision" is supported in GLSL 1.3
WARNING: 0:19: warning(#62) enable/warn/disable extension is not found. Extension "GL_ARB_framebuffer_object" is not supported

INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: E:\FINAL FANTASY VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/aac 1280x960, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.193000, frames: 153
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
GLITCH: missed palette write to external texture field/blin65_2/blin65_2_15
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 1000
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
ERROR: unhandled exception

The part of the game that is causing the crash is opening the Chest on Shinra Bldg. Floor 65 which contains the 66th floor keycard. This goes to a battle and never loads the battle.

Please read the FAQ section on page 1.

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1640 on: 2013-08-16 13:58:55 »
So I uninstalled FF7, and I tired to do the process again. Now the bootleg just gets stuck on "Installing FacePalmer Special Cases..." Why is it stuck on this? It's not frozen, but it's not doing anything now.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-16 14:06:29 by Pantera31619 »

cmh175

  • *
  • Posts: 859
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1641 on: 2013-08-16 14:08:46 »
Somethings take awhile to install. How long did you wait till you decided it was hung? As long as you have the necessary mod files you shouldn't have any problems. Did you download the bootleg torrent? Most of the things being installed on bootleg will open a second cmd window that'll show it's progress. Try again and wait till it either finishes or bootleg actually crashes and gives you an error.

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1642 on: 2013-08-16 14:10:59 »
I'm waiting about 10 more minutes to see if any progress is made. And yes, I downloaded the bootleg torrent.

cmh175

  • *
  • Posts: 859
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1643 on: 2013-08-16 14:18:37 »
What directory did you install the game? Did you do c\games\final fantasy vii\ff7, or did you do standard install into the programs file? You'll need to reinstall again if you did a standard installation. I've only had one instance of bootleg not working, and that was because I accidentally removed a file I needed. If something fails it'll usually gives you an error. It can take awhile, I've since taken all of my mods into a single iro for 7thHeaven, so if I need to reinstall it only has to load the music and background files and stuff. I'd ride it out and see what happens. If it seems hung end the process and make sure nothing else is really running, then try again.

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1644 on: 2013-08-16 14:22:13 »
I created my own folder I called "FF7" Which is in my other HDD "F". I got the steam version, so all I did was download the game. After that, I just copied the game to the folder I made, used the converter, then started the bootleg. and yes, I did set everything in the installation tab in the bootleg.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-16 14:25:35 by Pantera31619 »

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1645 on: 2013-08-16 16:53:50 »
So it's been over an hour and half now, and it still says "Installing FacePalmer Special Cases..."

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1646 on: 2013-08-16 18:23:46 »
So it's been over an hour and half now, and it still says "Installing FacePalmer Special Cases..."

Stop everything and start over from scratch. Do not skip any of these steps and do them exactly...
  • Uninstall FF7Music via Windows Control Panel.
  • Uninstall the game via Windows Control Panel.
  • Clean your registry using this: DOWNLOAD
  • Delete the old game folder completely. It will have junk files leftover from modding, so installing back into it will cause a nightmare.
  • Uninstall your video drivers and install Nvidia GeForce 314.22 .
  • Install the game.
  • Move the game folder to your F: drive (e.g. F:\FINAL FANTASY VII).
  • Convert your game using this: DOWNLOAD
  • Start the modding process again from STEP 2 on the first page. Don't skip reading anything and pay attention to all the NOTES, TIPS, bold and red text.

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1647 on: 2013-08-17 01:45:22 »
YES! Thank you! I did exactly what you said, and started from scratch, and after I ran the bootleg, the game runs! One problem though. There's no sound. I did the DLPB_Tools.zip thing in the FAQ, and there's still no sound at all.

Kompass63

  • *
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1648 on: 2013-08-17 03:56:42 »
If you cut the first video, you have until the reactor 1 no music.

Pantera31619

  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Tutorial] Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #1649 on: 2013-08-17 04:02:42 »
Thanks! Got sound now. Thanks for the help everyone! Sorry for being a bother.