Author Topic: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg  (Read 1854888 times)

redxiii98

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2725 on: 2015-07-08 02:54:23 »
The APP.log says the internal resolution is 3840x2160 which is 4K resolution. The internal resolution can be set under the System tab at the bottom. Other than that, you can try turning off shaders and checking the box for texture cache, but you still may run into sporadic crashing.

The biggest change you would need to do for reinstalling is in the Textures tab of BFE.exe. The field textures, battle textures, and upscaled magic textures contribute the most to crashing without a GPU.

Thank you for your help. I see I didn't have the 640x480 resolution checked. If I wanted to change the things you mentioned regarding the textures, plus a couple others I would like to do including:

-Change Barret's battle model
-Remove FFX battle style and revert back to the FF7 Battle Style
-Enable Save anywhere
-Enable FMV's

would I be able to just make those changes in the BFE.exe, download any required mods, and then rerun the bootleg? You mention you can't remove any mods without basically starting from scratch, does that mean I wouldn't be able to make any of those changes at this point? Would you be able to point out which I can/can't do at this point?

I'm sorry to bother you so many times, this should be the last bit of help I need, I hope. I really appreciate your time to answer my questions.

Thanks again!

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3077
  • Karma: 214
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2726 on: 2015-07-08 06:03:49 »
Unfortunately, you can't just run BFE again with a new mod selection. Most of what it does is open files/folders and copy/paste the new modded files, so you'd end up copy/paste modded files over top of modded files. That becomes a big mess and the game will break.

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13212.msg183582#msg183582

Refer to that link for the FAQ section and how to start over. It's second in the list, and MUST be done when starting over.

redxiii98

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2727 on: 2015-07-09 00:28:46 »
Unfortunately, you can't just run BFE again with a new mod selection. Most of what it does is open files/folders and copy/paste the new modded files, so you'd end up copy/paste modded files over top of modded files. That becomes a big mess and the game will break.

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=13212.msg183582#msg183582

Refer to that link for the FAQ section and how to start over. It's second in the list, and MUST be done when starting over.

Would I be able to make a copy of my save file, reinstall everything including the changes I want to make, and then replace my save file?

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3077
  • Karma: 214
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2728 on: 2015-07-09 04:51:24 »
Yep :)

redxiii98

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2729 on: 2015-07-09 23:05:52 »
I'm sorry to keep posting, but all the sudden the FF7 music program is not responding. Last night it was working fine and it has never given me problems before. The only thing I did between yesterday and today is restart my computer. Do you have any idea's as to what the problem might be?

EDIT:I tested the sound in the FF7Config and it works. When I start the game, it does not work (not responding). I then went to the FF7music executable, ran it as an administrator, hit config, and it stopped responding.

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: Intel Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 3.1.0 - Build 9.17.10.4101
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 8192x8192
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1366x768, output resolution 1024x768, internal resolution 1240x960
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: No shaders, codecs with YUV output will be slow.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Games\FF7\movies\eidoslogo.avi; indeo5/pcm_s16le 640x480, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 12.933333, frames: 388
INFO: slow output format from video codec indeo5; 6
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
UNEXPECTED: zero count
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
WM_CLOSE
Field Quit
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD
« Last Edit: 2015-07-09 23:16:36 by Covarr »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3077
  • Karma: 214
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2730 on: 2015-07-09 23:13:53 »
Opening FF7Config may have messed up the registry keys and/or Aali's Driver, otherwise I have no way of really knowing what's wrong. Best bet is to reinstall from scratch again.

redxiii98

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2731 on: 2015-07-09 23:29:18 »
Opening FF7Config may have messed up the registry keys and/or Aali's Driver, otherwise I have no way of really knowing what's wrong. Best bet is to reinstall from scratch again.

I restarted my computer and it is now inexplicably working. Computers are weird. Anyway thank you for being so kind and helping out a Noob.

Fendera

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 2
  • Your friendly neighbor :D
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2732 on: 2015-07-10 21:58:27 »
You can change a model out if you have the files for it and use an lgp tool. There are multiple ones found on this forum (check The Big List of Mods thread).

I like to use this one: http://www.mediafire.com/download/zxj5iyzzmwi/UNLGP%2BLGP+0.5+Automatic+By+Kranmer.exe


thanks

pyrometheous

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2733 on: 2015-07-13 00:49:24 »
So I just got this installed, and I've noticed that only the "shift" key on the keyboard does anything. In fact, it appears to be doing everything. I was just wanting to get this working with a controller, however I have no idea how to do so, the game seems unresponsive XBOX 360 controllers as well as PS2 controllers. Does anyone have a clue about how to resolve this?

dark04

  • Pirate
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2734 on: 2015-07-13 21:45:54 »
disculpa tengo una pregunta..yo me descargue el final fantasy 7 la version 2012 de RELOADED..y quisiera saber si este parche de Tifa bootleg le sirve a esta version..?gracias


excuse me I have a question ..I download the final fantasy 7 2012 RELOADED version .. and I wonder if this patch Tifa serves this bootleg version .. ? thanks

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 4067
  • Karma: 124
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2735 on: 2015-07-13 21:51:11 »
The RELOADED version is an illegal pirated version. We only provide support for legally purchased copies of the game. ~Covarr

dark04

  • Pirate
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2736 on: 2015-07-14 03:47:13 »
the mod bootleg served in FFVII remake 2012? ie in last edition FFVII pc? thanks

caio.belasalma

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2737 on: 2015-07-16 03:39:23 »
hello,
I tried to install re translation from menu overhaul to solve the counter issues,
but i think it went wrong.
this log jumped my screen:

blin67_2 patch failed, not original script
chrin_2 patch failed, not original script
cosin1_1 patch failed, not original script
ealin_2 patch failed, not original script
elmin4_2 patch failed, not original script
frcyo patch failed, not original script
fship_4 patch failed, not original script
gongaga patch failed, not original script
goson patch failed, not original script
lastmap patch failed, not original script
min51_1 patch failed, not original script
mtcrl_9 patch failed, not original script

please how can I solve this?

thx

ZombieHack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2738 on: 2015-07-27 10:17:38 »
TL;DR: No Troubleshooting needed! Thanks for all of the great work to the community!

Been nostalgic lately, decided to look into FF7 again (just beat FF6 again too!) and rather than resurrect the grey whale in the closet and the always scratched discs I decided to be an adult and use my grocery money to buy it on Steam. I played it and loved it, and loved the already updated experience that square put in! Then I thought maybe some great folks put the same kind of care and attention into this game like the community surrounding Fallout 3/New Vegas. Mods make both of those great games absolutely incredible. So I dove into google (for like half a second) and found Tifa's Bootleg (first result), a link I was sure I should have opened in an incognito window.

So I followed the instructions (I also don't like screenshots/videos, I want to see the handiwork roar to life on its own! Also I know, dumb.),  and downloaded EVERYTHING. I copied, extracted, installed, and torrented away. When I first played it, I was underwhelmed a bit at some of the graphical updates, the characters updated, the icons, but there were red error messages every time I started the game, missing movies.

I opened the FF7\Movies directory and it was empty! Looked in the ini file and saw I never pointed BFE at the mods directory! D'oh! Tried BFE again (much longer install time means things were actually happening) and I AM AMAZED! This is nothing short of a labor of love from a community, and thank you all for revering the game/series of my childhood! Also apologies to my present adulthood, there is going to be some tough procrastinating ahead!

Thank you!

swerto

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2739 on: 2015-08-01 00:07:13 »
Windows 10 has broken the mod, I'm not really sure what is going on.

Settings I'm using: Pretty much identical to the ones shown in the OP other than a different background art.

What happens: Launch bootloader, cmd prompt opens as usual and then game launches, immediately game crashes, cmd prompt closes and no error report is shown.

I've tried messing around with the settings, tried running in compatability for multiple windows versions, just doesn't work. Steam launcher for FF7 still starts up the game, but I don't have access to my saves and the custom music and menus there.

Kozzima

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2740 on: 2015-08-02 17:43:58 »
Is there a way to put this on a Galaxy S5 epsxe version and if so could you guide me or show me a link Please.

ZombieHack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2741 on: 2015-08-03 09:36:57 »
Windows 10 has broken the mod, I'm not really sure what is going on.

What happens: Launch bootloader, cmd prompt opens as usual and then game launches, immediately game crashes, cmd prompt closes and no error report is shown.

WINDOWS 10 NOTE:

Check the APP.LOG in your FF7 folder, but mine stopped as soon as it tried to load sound. I looked at the FF7Config.exe and went to the Sound tab and saw there was no sound card selected! I think this is because of Windows 10 installing new drivers for everything. Choose your sound card, click OK, launch  through Bootloader as normal!

ElvenVampire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2742 on: 2015-08-04 16:02:59 »
So after like 20 hours of attempting to download all this (tifas package and extracting mods via bootleg, BFE etc) I go to launch game and I get a error that says "fail to load BVJF.yos" does anyone know whats cause this and how to fix/add it so the game can be made playable?
Much help would be appreciated, and thanks in advance
App.log says this
Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. AMD Radeon HD 8210 4.2.12422 Compatibility Profile Context 13.152.1.3000
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
GLITCH: Unable to turn on vsync
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1280x960, output resolution 1280x960, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 1024, frag uniform 1024
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Games\FF7\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/ac3 1280x960, 25.000000 FPS, duration: 153.664000, frames: 3842
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
ERROR: failed to find file char/BVJF.a (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: offset error: BVJF.a
ERROR: could not open file BVJF.a
ERROR: unhandled exception
« Last Edit: 2015-08-04 17:03:21 by Covarr »

Cloud16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2743 on: 2015-08-05 22:01:55 »
Hey there,
(sry for my english, but i'm trying ;) )

my problem is, i installed all without problems but if i'm trying to start the game, there is coming the Eidos screen and SquareSoft (without sound).
After i skip it, i can choose from new game or load game but it isn't english or german like i want, this language looks like turkey or arabian.
If i now press new game, i get a black screen and nothing else happend. I have to shut down the game with task manager.

My App.log looks like this

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.11b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: ATI Technologies Inc. AMD Radeon R9 200 Series 4.3.12618 Compatibility Profile Context 13.251.0.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Using PBO
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1440x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: Shader limits: varying 128, vert uniform 1024, frag uniform 1024
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/flevel.siz (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/MAPLIST (LGP) (path: )
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/hand_1.TEX (LGP) (path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\field)
ERROR: offset error: hand_1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE hand_1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki1.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki1.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki2.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki2.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki3.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki3.tim
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/sibuki4.TEX (LGP) (path: .)
ERROR: offset error: sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: could not open file sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.TEX
ERROR: COULD NOT LOAD TEXTURE DATA FILE sibuki4.tim
ERROR: could not open file C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\Data\kernel/window.bin
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\movies\eidoslogo.avi; indeo5/pcm_s16le 640x480, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 12.933333, frames: 388
INFO: slow output format from video codec indeo5; 6
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\movies\sqlogo.avi; h264/aac 1280x896, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 14.533333, frames: 218
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
ERROR: failed to find file flevel/ÌO (LGP) (path: )

It seems like some programms are missing -.-
Please help me!

Thank you <3
« Last Edit: 2015-08-05 22:31:34 by Covarr »

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2434
  • Karma: 153
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2744 on: 2015-08-06 08:11:41 »


Quote
Step 3: Open Bootleg040.zip and extract it to a non-system folder, e.g. C:\Games\FF7Mods

Cloud16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2745 on: 2015-08-06 16:13:37 »
Ok guys, i solved the problem,

i forgot to install the game converter....

I'm sorry but ty for helping ;)
« Last Edit: 2015-08-06 22:47:25 by Cloud16 »

Moonman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2746 on: 2015-08-09 18:55:25 »
For whatever reason FF7Music will not play any of the MP3s that came with it post me installing Windows 10. The normal music will play just fine if I disable FF7Music. Any ideas on why this is? If I need to provide some kind of logs for reference, then I will be happy to.

cloudhaacker

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2747 on: 2015-08-11 00:23:32 »
Hey everyone - I've tried to skim through this thread but I haven't come across the problem I'm having.  I have sucessefully run this mod before on windows 8 and it was great, now I've upgraded to windows 10 and am reinstalling all my games.  I was able to install FF7, run the bootleg and everything seemed fine other than the opening credits, start screen weren't the ones I picked, and the text was kind of weird (too big and overlapping), then after starting, the first battle the game would just hang.  So i uninstalled the game the "approved" way and tried to reinstall, and ever since then I've been getting this error after unpacking sprinkles -

Final_Fantasy_VII_Remix_v2-5-1_Installer.exe is missing!
"Final_Fantasy_VII_Remix_v2-5-1_Installer.part01.rar" is missing!
"Final_Fantasy_VII_Remix_v2-5-1_Installer.part01.rar" has parts missing!
"Final_Fantasy_VII_Remix_v2-5-1_Installer.part1.rar" is missing!
"Final_Fantasy_VII_Remix_v2-5-1_Installer.part1.rar" has parts missing!


Aali's OpenGL driver is missing!
Please add the Remix installer or Aali's OpenGL driver to the mod path and retry.
Installation Aborted.

Removing setup files . . .
Please remain patient . . .
Completed Clean Up.

Bootleg Aborted!
There was a problem during installation.
The game files might be damaged.

Please do a FULL install of Final Fantasy VII to a NON-SYSTEM folder.
Make sure that all MODS are in the SAME FOLDER with Bootleg.exe.

Close all open FF7 files and folders before starting Bootleg.

Run Bootleg.exe as ADMINISTRATOR.
For help use the command line switch-- Bootleg /?
Press any key to continue . . .


I've tried to uninstall, install in other places, I've even manually gone through the registry and deleted every possible thing pertaining to FF7 first, and still I can't seem to get it to work.  Any suggestions?

Also, I did try to download the remix installer and place it in there.
« Last Edit: 2015-08-11 04:28:04 by cloudhaacker »

cloudhaacker

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2748 on: 2015-08-11 16:27:31 »
Okay, so I seem to have finally gotten it but not sure what finally did the trick.  I'm pretty sure I tried all these things only made 1 change this time.  Also - when I deleted everything out of the registry somehow I couldn't get the regular FF7 installer on the disc to run, finally traced that to somehow my Everything program was using the installer and making it hang, I had to analyze the wait chain on the installer and end the everything task to get it to work, weird!  Anyway, I got everything uninstalled, installed the game, then ran the bootleg installer from c:\bootleg040 with the Remix installer files dumped in there with the program and eveything.  The only change I made then was to change the temp directory to somewhere else, and it worked flawlessly!  I finished installing remotely (I'm at work) and I was able to boot the game and get to the start screen, but couldn't do anything from there but may be a problem trying to do it through teamviewer - I'll update once I get home and can actually try it.  So Windows 10 should work just as good for this mod.  Thanks for such a great mod and a great community of people to help with it!

Update:  Game works perfectly - I think I borked the first install by installing avalanch after running the bootleg, I couldn't remember what I had done the first time around and had that file out on its own.  I know I followed the directions but for some reason I thought I needed that too - I keep a detailed spreadsheet of how to install all my games and the settings used but had never done that for FF7, so I thought my windows 10 reinstall would be a good time to do so, that's why I didn't know what I was doing for sure lol.
« Last Edit: 2015-08-12 14:21:12 by cloudhaacker »

kidalot

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7] Tutorial for Bootleg - Tifa's Bootleg
« Reply #2749 on: 2015-08-13 19:27:46 »
The issue regarding missing display for countdown, safe combinations, timers, viewer ratings is there a full solution to that?

I'm trying to open the safe in the Shinra mansion but can't see the combination so I installed Menu Overhaul with re-translation project checked and moved items from DK folder to bootleg and changed back mod path in FF7 config to "bootleg". I noticed all custom avatars gone but I can now see the combination when open the safe and start the fight the game crashes (black screen)   

 Is there a proper solution of using the bootleg and having a fix for this or am i doing something wrong here?
« Last Edit: 2015-08-13 19:33:16 by kidalot »