Author Topic: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)  (Read 507544 times)

trostboot

  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1775 on: 2020-09-06 12:56:20 »
I'm running into strange issues when trying to create patches for the German PS1 version. I've verified that the base image I'm working from matches the checksums on redump, so it should be good to use.

Even making a minor edit like changing Thunder Slash's damage formula, then either creating a PPF from that change or overwriting the binary image directly will result in issues. If overwriting directly, the game will freeze on opening the equipment menu. When trying to apply the PPF patch to an exact copy of the image it was created against, PPF-o-matic warns about blocksize mismatch, and if I apply it anyway, the same freeze issue crops up. That ... probably shouldn't happen.

By contrast, doing the same to a NTSC-U image, it works just fine.

Edit: Digging into my archives, I found a version of Hades 0.40 marked specifically as "for_de", but no dice there, either. I understand that there's some differences between the versions, of course, but the description states compatibility with any language version, so something is amiss here.
« Last Edit: 2020-09-06 15:40:32 by trostboot »

mythikdawn

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1776 on: 2020-09-12 01:42:41 »
I'm running into a slight issue when trying to use the randomizer. I am attempting to randomize NA PS1 ISOs. When I put in the same random seed for all four discs, with all the same options selected, I'm getting different results for each disc. For example, the seed 756029 might have the Mage Masher teach Blizzaga on Disc 1, but on Disc 2 it will teach Float, etc.

Is this intended? How can I get around this?

LeOsTyLe

  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1777 on: 2020-09-13 22:34:01 »
Hello i have a question.

When i open the Hades Programm and File open and choose the launcher nothing happens, and the programm dont react , anymore even i wait 15 min. But when i open Unity Asset Viewer and File open the Launcher, everything is alright. Do i am something wrong?

Edit: I reinstalled FF9 without Memoria Engine, then it works.

« Last Edit: 2020-09-16 23:17:19 by LeOsTyLe »

ChikoLad

  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1778 on: 2020-09-20 01:40:18 »
It's been a little while since I tried any FFIX modding but I decided to mess around with changing the character in the field again.

One thing I wanted to try was giving all of the characters animations for riding on Choco in locations like Chocobo's Paradise. However, for Freya, I actually want to have her sitting sideways, with her head facing the same direction as Choco's. I have a pretty good sitting animation for her, I just need to adjust the orientation of the body and head, and then maybe the coordinates slightly. Anyone know what functions I need to use to achieve that? I tried stuff like "TurnInstant" but couldn't get it to work.

Here's an image of how it looks right now. Basically I want to make her sit with her front facing Choco's right side, with her legs hanging down, and Freya's head looking to her side so she is looking at whatever is in front of Choco:


MysticLord

  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1779 on: 2020-09-24 18:30:14 »
Bit of a long shot here, but I get this error when I try to run Hades Workshop.
Quote
The code execution cannot proceed because MSVCP140.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem.

I run Windows 10, 64-bit, however I used BCUninstaller (Bulk Crap Uninstaller) to remove such wonderful applications as the WordPad (Now With Ads!), the People icon, Contacts, Maps, and numerous others which I have thankfully forgotten.

Trying to reinstall the framework which google tells me contains MSVCP140.dll doesn't make Hades Workshop work, so I assume something else is required or a configuration file is broken.

If you know, could you tell me more about what Hades Workshop requires to run on Windows 10? Or should I give up and run it on a Linux machine instead?

OmegaBattle

  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1780 on: 2020-09-27 02:21:08 »
how do you save a change you make in hades workshop?

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 717
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1781 on: 2020-09-28 17:15:55 »
So... as you've seen, I am not responsive anymore. I'm afraid that it won't get any better in the future.

@ChikoLad:
1) You can batch import multiple script files at once; they need to be named "something_number.txt" and you have to write "something" or "something_" in the file selector. You may also merge the text files into one big file.
2) The "Inactive" animation might be not automatically preloaded (that's the case for the "SetJumpAnimation" but I don't remember about "SetInactiveAnimation"): you can force the preloading by using lines "SetStandAnimation( Your inactive animation )" then "SetStandAnimation( The normal stand animation )".
3) I don't know about the model exporter. It used to work (export as FBX) on pretty much all the models listed in the archives (you must export the "GameObject", always). Exporting as OBJ or others might work but usually with much data loss in the process (typically, animations are not exported).
4) The model importer, however, doesn't work well. You can do very few things that would work (modifying animations and moving vertices should be OK) and you must absolutely keep the same hierarchy as exported: you can't add/remove bones and things like that, and you must be careful that the model editor you use (I'm not sure if there's a free one that works) doesn't automatically change the hierarchy.
5) When you add/remove enemies from a battle, you must change the "Group" settings and the scripts accordingly. Typically, the "InitObject" lines of the "Main_Init" function of the script, and create script codes for the enemies you add (out of the script window "Edit Entries" and reflect the add/remove there, then in the script window right-click on the list of functions and add functions there).
6) You are correct about "AddParty", "RemoveParty" and such. I guess that you just missed several lines in the Prima Vista's cargo room because there are several moments at which the party is set in that field (IIRC, it's setup twice at the very start, then once right before the battle then once again after). Also, be sure to setup Freya's datas with "SetCharacterData".
7) I'm not sure if changing the orientation with a "AttachObject" line is possible.
You might be forced to completly change the system: use a variable that, when set on, changes Freya's position and orientation to the ones of the chocobo every frame, like this:
Code: [Select]
Function Freya_100
    if (CustomVar_FreyaRiding) {
        MoveInstantXZY( GetEntryPosX( Choco's entry ), GetEntryPosZ( Choco's entry ), GetEntryPosY( Choco's entry ) )
        TurnInstant( GetEntryAngle( Choco's entry ) + 60 ) // 60 is an example there, adjust it
        // Optional: have Freya's animation depend on the situation
        // I don't know what to use to replace "Is Choco Running": you may use "IsButtonDown( 16 | 32 | 64 | 128 )"
        // or write the XZY pos of choco in custom variables and compare the old/new position each frame
        if ( Is Choco Running ) {
            SetStandAnimation( Riding_Move ) // Animation of Freya when Choco moves
        } else {
            SetStandAnimation( Riding_Normal ) // Animation of Freya when Choco doesn't move
        }
    }
    Wait( 1 )
    loop

@RacketyEsperus:
I'm not sure; you seemed to have done things properly...
Maybe double-check that the "Wht Mag" you changed is the good one? Like maybe you mixed Dagger's and Eiko's command? But that doesn't work for "Blk Mag"... So maybe you didn't install your mod properly after generating it.
Best way to have more abilities in the commands is to use the Moguri mod or Memoria Engine mod: with these, many datas are read as .csv files (excel-like files that can also be opened with a text editor). The file for that is "Data\Characters\Commands.csv". HW can generate these .csv files if you choose "Save Steam Mod -> Spreadsheets" that can then be used by Memoria.
We can't make a Waterga Sword because of our lack of knowledge on the format of the spell animations.

@trostboot:
It *might* be because of a deprotection patch that is applied to your german version of the game (Paradox patch).
One of these compresses datas and make them impossible to edit with HW, although it should warn you when opening the game instead of bugging like that.
In any case, it is very strange that "Open -> FF9_German_CD1.bin -> Do changes in HW -> Export as PPF -> Apply that PPF with PPF-O-MATIC on FF9_German_CD1.bin" would lead to an error "Bin/block check fails" or such... A small part of the binary file is copied in the PPF when generating it with HW and it's then compared to the file you want to patch with PPF-O-MATIC, so there shouldn't be any difference whatever you did in HW...
I have worked with the german version of the PSX game, but never did a HW update specifically for that version for what I remember...

@mythikdawn:
Unfortunatly, that's a problem I oversighted when including the randomizer inside HW... also it wouldn't be so easy to solve ><
What you can do is to apply the randomizer for disc 1, then "Save as HWS", then for each other disc, apply the randomizer + "Open Mod -> the HWS of disc 1" (in that order); no need to look for the random seed that way.
Alternatively, you may want to use Meteor on FFIX instead for the PSX version, even if it has a couple of differences...

@MysticLord:
I didn't know that MSVCP140.dll was required for running HW... It looks like a developer library (Microsoft Visual Studio C++) although you never know with Microsoft.
Anyway, downloading only the DLL (here for instance) and putting that DLL in the same folder as HW should make it work, or at least throw a different message.
Windows 10 is the most suited operating system to run HW since it was compiled on that OS.

@OmegaBattle:
You may save your mod using 4 different ways:
- Save Mod (PSX and PC): save the game datas and the modifications inside a file that can only be read by Hades Workshop without modifying the game’s disc image. This is the most preferred way of saving modifications when you don’t want to apply them at once.
- Export as PPF (PSX): basically does the same as makeppf.exe (only faster): create a PPF3.0 file that can be applied to a disc image using the appropriate tool. You should never use this method if the file on your hard disc has been altered (using Hades Workshop or any other tool). This is the most preferred way of saving when you want to share your modifications.
- Overwrite Binary File (PSX): save the modifications inside the disc image for a ready-to-go game. The modifications can not be undone. This is the most preferred way of saving when you want to test your modifications and have a backup of the original file.
- Save Steam Mod (PC): duplicate the Steam files and apply your modifications to the duplicate. Replacing the Steam files by the created ones will enable the changes. May also generate "Spreadsheets" and "Raw Unity Assets" files instead that can be used as a Memoria mod (to be configured in "Memoria.ini" when Memoria is installed).

MysticLord

  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1782 on: 2020-09-29 07:46:18 »
@Tirlititi I have a new error message, it occurs with all versions of the DLL in the English version of that link.

Quote
HadesWorkshop.exe - Application Error
The application was unable to start correctly(0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.

Tried running it from Powershell both with and without the DLL for more informative error messages, but none were printed.

Would building Hades Workshop help, you think?

Tirlititi

  • *
  • Posts: 717
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1783 on: 2020-09-29 10:20:32 »
If you can't run it, it is very dubious that you can build it in this situation (besides, installing Visual Studio is far worse than having Wordpad if you go that way).

You do have the DLLs packed with the download link of HW next to the program, right? "libfbxsdk.dll", "ucrtbased.dll" and the "wx" DLLs? You may try to use my version of msvcp140.dll which is slightly newer than the versions on the website above, but I don't expect it to work...

The DLLs used directly by HW are the ones packed with it in the download link plus:
- OPENGL32.dll
- GLU32.dll
- USER32.dll
- KERNEL32.dll
- VCRUNTIME140.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-stdio-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-filesystem-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-string-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-convert-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-heap-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-math-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-time-l1-1-0.dll
- api-ms-win-crt-locale-l1-1-0.dll

Maybe try (re)installing these. The DLLs put in HW's folder have priority other the DLLs installed in your system directories, so you should just download clean DLLs and put them in HW's folder to test if it works before replacing any of your system files (and maybe never replace them at all if HW is the only program with problems).

trostboot

  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1784 on: 2020-09-29 10:53:39 »
It *might* be because of a deprotection patch that is applied to your german version of the game (Paradox patch).
One of these compresses datas and make them impossible to edit with HW, although it should warn you when opening the game instead of bugging like that.
In any case, it is very strange that "Open -> FF9_German_CD1.bin -> Do changes in HW -> Export as PPF -> Apply that PPF with PPF-O-MATIC on FF9_German_CD1.bin" would lead to an error "Bin/block check fails" or such... A small part of the binary file is copied in the PPF when generating it with HW and it's then compared to the file you want to patch with PPF-O-MATIC, so there shouldn't be any difference whatever you did in HW...
I have worked with the german version of the PSX game, but never did a HW update specifically for that version for what I remember...
Thanks for the reply.
Like I mentioned, the image I'm working from has not been modified and the checksums match the ones in the redump db.
And it doesn't just fail with the PPF method, but also when writing directly to the disc image from HW (fail as in the game will boot, but freeze when accessing the equipment window, and likely other places that load in the equip tables).

There isn't much else I could think to mention as it's a simple and 100% reproducible case on my end, but if you need any more info, I'd be happy to help.
If you no longer have the time to develop or maintain HW, I understand.

MysticLord

  • *
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: [PSX/PC] General editor - Hades Workshop (0.41d)
« Reply #1785 on: 2020-09-29 12:45:17 »
Here's the output of dir > files.txt
Code: [Select]
    Directory: C:\Users\pc\Downloads\HadesWorkshop


Mode                LastWriteTime         Length Name                                                                 
----                -------------         ------ ----                                                                 
d-----        9/29/2020   1:27 AM                msvcp140                                                             
-a----        9/29/2020   6:22 AM              0 files.txt                                                             
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM          39609 HadesWorkshop.conf                                                   
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM       42273792 HadesWorkshop.exe                                                     
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        6919640 libfbxsdk.dll                                                         
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM         294931 LocalVariableSettings_v1.hws                                         
-a----        9/29/2020   6:21 AM         590096 msvcp140.dll                                                         
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        1526976 ucrtbased.dll                                                         
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        2134528 wxbase31u_vc_custom.dll                                               
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM         143360 wxbase31u_xml_vc_custom.dll                                           
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        1350144 wxmsw31u_adv_vc_custom.dll                                           
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM         441344 wxmsw31u_aui_vc_custom.dll                                           
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        5010944 wxmsw31u_core_vc_custom.dll                                           
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM          75776 wxmsw31u_gl_vc_custom.dll                                             
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM         605696 wxmsw31u_html_vc_custom.dll                                           
-a----        9/20/2020   3:21 PM        1512448 wxmsw31u_richtext_vc_custom.dll                                       

edit

Here is the output of a hashes on all those files.
Code: [Select]
[email protected] /cygdrive/c/Users/pc/Downloads/HadesWorkshop
$ sha256sum *
16b8f2cc0647648a86a86c2a62e5bbf226f23d94f50a6b7695f9904e977e7c64 *files.txt
466a8e172708a14f526c1da86395a4e9b50456211580065617835a7a553df078 *HadesWorkshop.conf
f0bdace03cd9adb7b1089e425603d7e6904272d138099d2c6e890eaf7dbc4ebc *HadesWorkshop.exe
2dae86a328f4852380ae5f8361badaac562d1c0c72e07d2c781950891d83eedc *libfbxsdk.dll
a81208bf8cf41b8299925855b403a314415bc309f9344b06a61ba1961b87cde7 *LocalVariableSettings_v1.hws
sha256sum: msvcp140: Is a directory
a2cb9cae4b86468ca44ba36320814a204ec8ad311df624b94e12c47e328e2726 *msvcp140.dll
c8fda4b882281f5a4d921416c1f565eddbdd552ef782a32380e0975fcc2696c1 *ucrtbased.dll
313f87259aa568811f2a63fac3e308b8f661dd623317ea655d027e67314443df *wxbase31u_vc_custom.dll
ad5a595cfb4043d3334420fd71adc89c262a0b1c87ec5660d825a3d29f3c2080 *wxbase31u_xml_vc_custom.dll
e44b11ad1de31c2e123bb04dd9d038ddc07b071df3f83cf9c4ee55c856dde3c7 *wxmsw31u_adv_vc_custom.dll
205c3ae91377b9b2c303f7faa947a4978b308c09711ac26a8c03a29cd54d2ac9 *wxmsw31u_aui_vc_custom.dll
7626628b10f75bc999dbc66190c0832cabf118ede7babc06e419ad3125e72a55 *wxmsw31u_core_vc_custom.dll
091e0c4c7a362d8bbe9d2828c38ddc9d49b260ad822aede7a94daffb67c1226b *wxmsw31u_gl_vc_custom.dll
6f566491714e46ad38c4a02b60ee584a20414475a75bd486dece521e0b8c52cf *wxmsw31u_html_vc_custom.dll
44174abf00f498b2ae83827206dd4d9a961efa6ed8d37b7e37ae34f9731e2926 *wxmsw31u_richtext_vc_custom.dll


My understanding of Visual Studio or whatever it's called is that it's an Electron app; which is to say that it contains a web browser (HTML/CSS/Javascript engine), the web browser contains a sort of operating system for dealing with all kinds of stuff that it is very unfair to force a web browser to deal with, and contained within that are the things that make Visual Studio an IDE.

So yes, I probably wouldn't be terribly happy having Visual Studio on my computer.

I don't care about putting Visual Studio on a Linux machine - it's like performing a lobotomy on a cockroach - and from what I understand it's just a couple sudo apt-get installs to get it. I think I remember you saying it works on Linux.
« Last Edit: 2020-09-29 12:49:16 by MysticLord »