Author Topic: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)  (Read 94257 times)

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #100 on: 2018-10-30 20:53:02 »
This happens when using two monitors I think?  But if you want to fix this, you can make sure you have 'fullscreen' selected in the normal game launcher, and then open your GeDoSaTo main config and force the fullscreen mode -- there are a few choices, so i'm sure a combination of these should fix your issue.  i think running things in fullscreen windowed might work?  what resolution are you trying to run the game in?  Have you selected your higher resolution in the FF8 launcher?

moccor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #101 on: 2018-11-12 01:34:07 »
Well, I am using a laptop with a GTX1070 so I can't really remove that monitor even if I am extending to a 2nd screen so I hope that is not causing problems. I do have Full Screen and keep aspect ratio on in the FF8 launcher settings, however only with fullscreen disabled in the FF8 launcher, do I even reach near-fullscreen. I can get it to go fullscreen but with a border, which is reasonable. I played with the GeDoSaTo settings and tried different kinds of false/true for fullscreen and borderless fullscreen but I can't seem to get it working still. If Bordered fullscreen is the only kind of fullscreen compatible with the mods then it is a necessary evil and totally worth it, but I figured I'd ask the community here first, since I only recently read up on this stuff. But thanks for the info, If you have other things to try to potentially fix fullscreen then it would be appreciated, if not, I still greatly appreciate the help.

Edit: judging by videos I see on YouTube using these mods, I won't be surprised if bordered fullscreen is the only working way. It's likely out of most people's control anyway, considering the game is like 20 years old and released on Windows XP and I am now on Windows 10 with hardware that is way more advanced than required.

Edit 2: It seems the game goes into fullscreen fine without GeDoSaTo enabled/running. Hmm

Edit 3: So I figured, why not just avoid using GeDoSaTo all together if it isn't needed, so I installed ReShade and some of the mods no longer work. I assume its due to some dxgi or d3d9 dll being overwritten by ReShade. Is there a simple fix to get the mods working again or do I have to reinstall and edit config files all over again? Sorry for all the questions

Edit 4: Simply running the Lunatic Pandora installer for a few seconds for the d3d9.dll to extract and replacing it over the ReShade 3.0 generated d3d9.dll fixed the mods again.
« Last Edit: 2018-11-13 01:11:24 by moccor »

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 775
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #102 on: 2018-11-13 03:44:14 »
Well, I am using a laptop with a GTX1070 so I can't really remove that monitor even if I am extending to a 2nd screen so I hope that is not causing problems. I do have Full Screen and keep aspect ratio on in the FF8 launcher settings, however only with fullscreen disabled in the FF8 launcher, do I even reach near-fullscreen. I can get it to go fullscreen but with a border, which is reasonable. I played with the GeDoSaTo settings and tried different kinds of false/true for fullscreen and borderless fullscreen but I can't seem to get it working still. If Bordered fullscreen is the only kind of fullscreen compatible with the mods then it is a necessary evil and totally worth it, but I figured I'd ask the community here first, since I only recently read up on this stuff. But thanks for the info, If you have other things to try to potentially fix fullscreen then it would be appreciated, if not, I still greatly appreciate the help.

Edit: judging by videos I see on YouTube using these mods, I won't be surprised if bordered fullscreen is the only working way. It's likely out of most people's control anyway, considering the game is like 20 years old and released on Windows XP and I am now on Windows 10 with hardware that is way more advanced than required.

Edit 2: It seems the game goes into fullscreen fine without GeDoSaTo enabled/running. Hmm

Edit 3: So I figured, why not just avoid using GeDoSaTo all together if it isn't needed, so I installed ReShade and some of the mods no longer work. I assume its due to some dxgi or d3d9 dll being overwritten by ReShade. Is there a simple fix to get the mods working again or do I have to reinstall and edit config files all over again? Sorry for all the questions

Edit 4: Simply running the Lunatic Pandora installer for a few seconds for the d3d9.dll to extract and replacing it over the ReShade 3.0 generated d3d9.dll fixed the mods again.

1 - I know that I use two monitors, and the only way for me to get fullscreen with gedo is to only have it on my main monitor.  Also, I was able to force borderless fullscreen by having fullscreen disabled in the launcher, but borderless fullscreen forced in the gedo setup.  also, if you alt-tab while it's forced borderless, you'll get a crash.

2 - yep, gedo can be a bit of a pain, but it really improves the overall edge definition of the text and all characters, giving better than AA results.

3 - I don't always use it, but I do always have reshade enabled.

4 - ReShade will work -- especially the reshade mod config i provide, but you have to install the OpenGL version of the .dll's because it will overwrite the tonberry d3d9 file (which injects all textures) if you pick the dx version.  i suspect the opengl version merely works because the steam version is probably using some version of aali's driver on the backend

moccor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #103 on: 2018-11-14 01:15:36 »
Hmmm, tried again and it didn't work for me. I wonder if it has to do with my laptop or maybe its due to Nvidia DSR. But imo Nvidia DSR + ReShade does exactly what I want. Of course GeDoSaTo has way more features and resolutions though. And you are 100% correct, ReShade with OpenGL worked awesomely. I know you provided ReShade with your GeDoSaTo config, but I just prefer configuring it through the in-game menu, the text menus are kinda confusing. But yeah, with all these mods and the installer you've made, everything just works awesomely. Considering how old these guides, installers and videos are, they were done very well to where they still hold up months/years later. I'm used to guides where you have to figure out stuff on your own and your own workarounds because windows updates and GPU driver updates start moving stuff around haha

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #104 on: 2018-12-05 11:07:42 »
Hello,
I have a problem with the first step, when i ty to instal gedosato i have an error unhandled exception has occurred, and if i click on continue the instaler launch but don't progress (even if i wait) (i have  Visual Studio 2015 redistributable package, disabled UEFI, have NET Framework 4.5 and  Visual Studio 2013 redistributable package.
Tried with run as admin, compatible for windows8
I'm lost i don t know what i missed :/

eXistenZe

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #105 on: 2018-12-05 14:48:02 »
Don't use the installer. Download the folder from the github.

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #106 on: 2018-12-05 16:01:19 »
Ah so it would be work, but max res i can take is 1920x1080, and i don't have text in the top left of the screen when i launch the game

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] GeDoSaTo Config v2.3 (Compatible with ReShade)
« Reply #107 on: 2018-12-05 16:29:16 »
Edit found the problem, i mooved config folder in gedosato folder but not in gedosato/pack/config ;)
Thx for help and for the work !