Author Topic: Game converter  (Read 7897 times)

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Game converter
« on: 2016-01-11 09:08:34 »
I'm having some problems with the first step. I'm using the steam version and I think it may have updated since the tutorial because there's no ff7.exe for the converter to lock on yo, instead there's a launcher in it's place. Every time I run the converter it pops up a file not found message saying it can't find the .exe, I've tried moving the game folder to different locations but it didn't help any. I've also tried renaming the launcher ff7.exe but then it changed the error message to say that it can't find final fantasy 7. The patch runs endlessly but never actually does anything. I have The Iso mounted, I've also tried the named flash drive, and have named my hard drive, am I missing something, or has steam updated ff7?

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3259
  • Karma: 240
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Game converter
« Reply #1 on: 2016-01-11 10:59:29 »
I'm not sure what's up with that. There should be a ff7.exe with the steam version. If it says it can't find an installation path, then it will also say to type it in (path surrounded by quotes) and press ENTER.

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #2 on: 2016-01-11 12:14:56 »
That's the strange part. It still recognises the installation directory no matter where I put it, it always finds the directory, but as soon as it starts trying to find a patch, it gets hung up on what it's missing and doesn't do anything other than say its applying the patch. It won't even copy the files it needs out of the system folder and into the games folder

Once I get my computer back into WiFi this afternoon I'll do another fresh install and get a screenshot of what exactly it's saying/doing
« Last Edit: 2016-01-11 12:17:30 by Jakeal53 »

roxas86

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #3 on: 2016-01-11 16:47:46 »
Hello , I also have the same problem when I start the program to put the patch does not move to the word " patching "  :|

Yuffie1983

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #4 on: 2016-01-11 17:40:04 »
Are you guys running the patcher with elevated privileges, because I had the same trouble until I did.

roxas86

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #5 on: 2016-01-11 18:10:26 »
yea i running whit administrator privileges...

Yuffie1983

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #6 on: 2016-01-11 18:16:55 »
yea i running whit administrator privileges...

You still not getting the patch is working on the converter?

Jotaro

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
  • Star Platinum
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #7 on: 2016-01-11 19:43:34 »
try making it patch FF7_EN.exe (or whatever caps it's in), as I know there are different executables with FF8's Steam release for the different languages.
EDIT: Yeah, there's an ff7_en.exe in my Steam directory, so point it to that for patching (after backing it up, of course)
« Last Edit: 2016-01-11 20:18:57 by Jotaro »

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #8 on: 2016-01-11 20:15:24 »
How do you direct it to a specific file?

Jotaro

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
  • Star Platinum
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #9 on: 2016-01-11 20:18:40 »
It should search for a directory to install to, find one, and then ask you if you want to change it. Just input the directory for your file, and you should be good to go.

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #10 on: 2016-01-11 21:10:59 »
i tried rerouting it but still to no avail... here are the screenshots of whats happening

Jotaro

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: 2
  • Star Platinum
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #11 on: 2016-01-11 21:30:35 »
Oh! At this point, for modding, it would be best if you uninstalled Steam and installed it in Games, as Steam itself is in Program Files x86 (which we don't want), and FFVII will always install to SteamPath\steamapps\common
If you're worried about saves, just make backups
EDIT: Or never mind, check the YouTube link.
« Last Edit: 2016-01-11 21:47:50 by Jotaro »

Yuffie1983

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #12 on: 2016-01-11 21:45:42 »
i tried rerouting it but still to no avail... here are the screenshots of whats happening


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hV1UbXLTsy0  watch that video, it will tell you how to change your steam install path for games.

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #13 on: 2016-01-11 22:15:41 »
i redirected the install folder, and i'm still having the same issue, still getting a file not found

olearyf2525

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #14 on: 2016-01-11 23:28:18 »
Oh! At this point, for modding, it would be best if you uninstalled Steam and installed it in Games, as Steam itself is in Program Files x86 (which we don't want), and FFVII will always install to SteamPath\steamapps\common
If you're worried about saves, just make backups
EDIT: Or never mind, check the YouTube link.

You can move your steam folder to c/games. Been awhile since I did it so not sure if there is a process to it, but it's a smart move for windows 8, 8.1 and 10 users.

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #15 on: 2016-01-12 03:00:06 »
so ive tried several fresh installs today, in a bunch of different locations but its still not working. so tomorrow ill try doing the windows 10 update after work and try then

roxas86

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #16 on: 2016-01-12 08:25:32 »
in my case I can make a copy of the files in the folder GAMES / FINALFANTASY7 but can not finish to put the patch : /

roxas86

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #17 on: 2016-01-12 16:44:14 »
no news?? :D

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #18 on: 2016-01-13 00:27:46 »
At this point I'm out of ideas. The converter for me can't patch or copy files no matter where I put them

roxas86

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #19 on: 2016-01-15 14:15:57 »
hello , update , I tried one last time and the result was always the same only this time after " patching " I wrote three letters at random and I hit enter ( just before I pressed send and nothing happened ) and put me the patch ........... o_0 ...... why ??

olearyf2525

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #20 on: 2016-01-15 17:05:19 »
hello , update , I tried one last time and the result was always the same only this time after " patching " I wrote three letters at random and I hit enter ( just before I pressed send and nothing happened ) and put me the patch ........... o_0 ...... why ??

It's like Yuffie said you have to move steam to C/Games. I forgot how you do this exactly since I did it years ago, maybe watch that video he linked or google it. Then install ff7 fresh there, then run the converter with administrator priviledges once all that is done. If their is still an issue it's easy to take ownership over your steam folder once it is in C games. Welcome to the annoying virtual store/ other security measures of Windows 8,8.1, and 10.

weltall

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #21 on: 2016-01-16 09:46:45 »
Steam is evil (sorry I hate it XD), but not that evil. When Installing steam you can choose in which folder you want steam to be added. I do not know how many games you have currently downloaded, but to avoid bugs and glitches with games, it is better to uninstall everything and reinstall steam. When it asks you for destination folder just choose, C:\Games\Steam and it will work fine. I know this was needed by Skyrim when it was giving me a pain in my neck while trying to mod it through Nexus and not the Steam workshop.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3259
  • Karma: 240
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Game converter
« Reply #22 on: 2016-01-16 23:21:25 »
There has been some minor changes made to the Game Converter to try and fix this issue. Can you all download the new one and try again: http://www.mediafire.com/download/ps5de6otqm3owmi/FF7_GameConverter_7H.exe

Jakeal53

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Game converter
« Reply #23 on: 2016-01-17 06:57:14 »
im running the new converter now, along with having the ff7 install folder diverted to c\games if it doesnt work this time im just going to wipe my computer after i finish the tv series/backing up my files.

Edit: not sure what it was that did it, but after wiping my computer i got the game converter to run properly
« Last Edit: 2016-01-19 00:47:02 by Jakeal53 »