Author Topic: No Midi Device found  (Read 247 times)

javzz2

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
No Midi Device found
« on: 2017-01-12 02:43:30 »
 :x

Felt real nostalgic and took the dive to purchase FF7 on steam.

No luck on getting the mods to work though and the game did not age well. I followed the tutorial and looked on the site but no indication others are having the same issue.

Game runs fine without the mods. When I run the game converter it says.

 NO SOUNDDEVICE SELECTED !!!!
Select a Sounddevice.
Press any key to continue . . .

"Unable to locate MIDI device. Final Fantasy VII requires a Windows95-compliant MIDI device.



I've tried reinstalling it clearing out the registry and ran ccleaner it doesn't recognize my laptop's speakers.

I'm on a Surface Book. Any thoughts?

Code: [Select]
Start running at    Date: Wed 01/11/2017    Time: 22:38:39.65

Search OS-Architecture

You are running "Windows 10 Pro" on a 64 Bit Operating System (AMD64)

Real Management 32Bit WOW64

This patch is already applied.

Unpatch?
Overwrite?
End?
[U,O,E]?O

Patching...


Drive letter for FF7DISC1 --- E:\

Sharing violation

Please check over the settings for FF7Config...

1) Set a sound device. The game will not launch if left blank.
2) Perform the Sound and MIDI tests.
3) Graphics tab can be ignored.
4) Click OK when finished.
« Last Edit: 2017-01-12 08:04:45 by EQ2Alyza »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 173
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #1 on: 2017-01-12 08:05:56 »
So your Game Converter opens FF7Config, but you have no option to select a midi device? This is a first time for me, but it's stating the obvious. Your Surface Book doesn't have a midi device :|

javzz2

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #2 on: 2017-01-12 12:30:40 »
Isn't that a bit weird? It can playback MIDI files and has Microsoft GS Software Wavetable Synthesizer so the issue just appears to be with the game converter.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 173
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #3 on: 2017-01-12 12:33:31 »
The GC opens the FF7Config that the game uses. If you can open FF7Config that comes with the game installation and set a midi device, then you can do the same thing with the one in the GC. It's very weird, and first time it's ever been reported.

javzz2

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #4 on: 2017-01-12 16:31:21 »
Seems like its not exactly the same as the game runs fine without any of the mods or the 7th heaven launcher.

 :|

Not exactly sure what other troubleshooting steps can be done.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3837
  • Karma: 108
  • The Great Redarr.
    • View Profile
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #5 on: 2017-01-12 17:42:39 »
Seems like its not exactly the same as the game runs fine without any of the mods or the 7th heaven launcher.
The Steam version naturally bypasses the midi support requirement, as it doesn't use midi anyway. Provided you're using a music mod, a converted and modded copy of the game won't use midi either, but I'd not be surprised if nobody actually bothered to entirely bypass the requirement there.

If all else fails, you can try installing a virtual midi device, such as this one.

javzz2

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #6 on: 2017-01-13 05:44:58 »
That did the trick!  :mrgreen:

Interestingly enough just having it installed allowed for the config to see the wave synthesizer already installed in windows. Now I'm just waiting for the downloads to finish. they keep hanging. My internet here is a bit slow.

Are there any torrent links to just set it and forget it ?

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2574
  • Karma: 173
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #7 on: 2017-01-13 06:34:59 »
No torrent links atm. Download them one-by-one to avoid any freezes. Trying to download everything at the same time will probably take longer because of the freezes.

javzz2

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: No Midi Device found
« Reply #8 on: 2017-01-13 22:29:02 »
Gotcha, you guys have been a great help. Finally got some of the mods in and I couldn't wait. Just blew up the mako reactor.

:-)