Author Topic: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here [use The Reunion thread instead]  (Read 50126 times)

Matski

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] The Big Bad Bug Database - post bug reports here
« Reply #150 on: 2017-11-24 18:08:34 »
Not sure if this issue is a bug or just an inconsistency. It occurs in all versions of the game.

When Sephiroth teleports around during the Reunion, it normally has a flash visual + sound effect attached to it: Youtube Video Example

But when Sephiroth disappears in the particular incident shown here, there is never any accompanying special effect/sound effect: Youtube Video Example

It just looks like he glitches out of the game. Do you think it's worth fixing, if it can be fixed?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] The Big Bad Bug Database - post bug reports here
« Reply #151 on: 2017-11-25 09:54:36 »
yeah I'm definitely inclined to believe that's a script oversight.
 I'll fix it . Thanks.  Although one is where he is arriving , one leaving.  It may be better to fade out the Sephiroth model that's leaving, unless that flash effect happens elsewhere as he is leaving?
« Last Edit: 2017-11-25 11:17:44 by DLPB »

Matski

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] The Big Bad Bug Database - post bug reports here
« Reply #152 on: 2017-11-25 15:14:21 »
This clip shows Sephiroth disappearing later in the scene, while using the visual and sound effects.
« Last Edit: 2017-11-28 08:06:39 by Matski »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] The Big Bad Bug Database - post bug reports here
« Reply #153 on: 2017-12-01 01:25:22 »
Yeah it's definitely a script error I'll fix it. Thanks a lot.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] The Big Bad Bug Database - post bug reports here
« Reply #154 on: 2017-12-09 16:41:55 »
This can continue to serve as the main bug post, but the main document is going to soon be The Reunion Database.  I am in the process of merging everything and updating it all there.  I fix as much as I can anyway for The Reunion.

[email protected]

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
.
« Reply #155 on: 2017-12-11 12:44:14 »
.
« Last Edit: 2019-05-06 12:07:02 by Cicciolo »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #156 on: 2017-12-12 14:08:32 »
Getting there.
« Last Edit: 2017-12-12 14:17:58 by DLPB »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #157 on: 2017-12-14 02:39:29 »
There is some work to do, and there will be duplicates, but the merge is more or less complete. I'll run back through this thread soon to see if I missed any reports. Bed time.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #158 on: 2017-12-14 20:40:42 »
Ansem, your Hyper Jump bug has been added to the database, finally.  I will look into fixing it ASAP.  Other additions to database will now be made.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #159 on: 2018-01-05 04:31:28 »
I am sure there was a bug regarding text in battle.  Either a recovery or death text that wouldn't display right.

Anyone any ideas?

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2460
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #160 on: 2018-03-30 02:46:03 »
It seems that the script in Bone Village has a logic error. When you successfully finish the condor minigame of the main story, but don't pick up the Phoenix materia, you can also get the materia on disc three in Bone Village, while you can still pick up the materia in Fort Condor. I guess the game should check if the minigame is won or not, instead of checking if the materia is in the inventory.
See here:
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=442678385

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #161 on: 2018-03-30 13:10:56 »
this is already fixed. it should be on the reunion database with any other script errors. if it isnt ill add to document.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #162 on: 2018-03-30 14:37:00 »
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DUjmyW94zcYoX7gIW5yAT4giTPeNmCR4TCaHAiXOLlU

It was already there.  Entry 44, Field Script Errors. Please make sure that it isn't here before posting ;) :P

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2460
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #163 on: 2018-03-30 16:01:16 »
I'll do it next time.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #164 on: 2018-04-15 15:12:12 »
Quote
alright so this is 100% repeatable. It only occurs if you are pressing the ok button when getting off the ladder when you enter the field from the bottom. if you climb up to where you can walk and get back on the ladder it will not occur.
a few things i noticed was that the triangle you stand on when getting off is directly above the ladder but cloud automatically takes a step towards the walkway. So if you press ok while doing it he tries to go back down the ladder but cant because hes stil trying to take the step, which he cant do because hes facing the wrong direction now.
As to why it only happens on first dismount when entering scene i dont kno
I also had this bug occur without NT active, still using your exe though. its a vanilla bug id geuss

Uprisen has found a bug in rktbas2.  From what I can see, because you can enter from below, the circle press is still allowed, which will start a script that should not be able to be run.  I am going to run through a few fixes and see if the problem goes away. It should be as simple as checking the starting triangle before OK is allowed to call the script.

UpRisen

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Karma: 15
  • Again... AVALANCHE is born again!
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #165 on: 2018-04-15 18:11:20 »
 field uttmpin2 theres a "hidden" rotating door at the bottom of the screen and you can soft lock it by spamming "ok" when going through it.

shpin_3 is another bugged field.  There is a body next to the ladder and if you position correctly you can interact with both at the same time. This will lets you move with the txt bubble up, you can then start the trigger with sephi, end the first conversation which will restore your movement and you can attempt to leave the field during sephi talking, this can lead to a soft lock.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #166 on: 2018-04-16 21:58:22 »
Fixed.  Thanks for that!

Adding to The Reunion Database.

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 383
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #167 on: 2019-12-30 05:31:08 »
Accidentally posted in wrong thread so posting here too:

- In Shinra HQ after meeting Rufus, you control Aeris and if you enter the elevator and then exit, when exiting the glass elevator, the light that shines from the open door turns off too early (before you leave the elevator). Entering the elevator works fine though.

- Same scenario as above, there are 2 elevators, Player can enter the left elevator, in which case the elevator boss battle is on the wrong side and doesn't make sense. Player shouldnt even be able to enter this elevator as in theory there's a massive robot in there.

- When you first get to Shinra HQ and take the direct approach through the front door, you can optionally go to the Accessories shop on the second floor, and a small cutscene will play when you talk to the clerk - (Barrett talks about how they aren't going to rob the store, they are here to rescue someone). If you do not see this cutscene the first time, then later after the Rufus fight, while controlling Aeris, you can talk to the clerk and the same cutscene starts where Barrett is talking about how they are here to rescue someone, even though Aeris is right in front of him.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #168 on: 2019-12-31 03:22:13 »
{BARRET}
“Don’t want your money.
  Avalanche ain’t a buncha
  muggers.”
{NEW PAGE}
“We’re here to get what
  your boss took from us.”

and when you have Aerith:

{BARRET}
“Don’t want yer money.
  Avalanche ain’t a buncha
  muggers.”
{NEW PAGE}
“We came here to get what
  your boss took from us.”
{NEW PAGE}
“Uh… I guess ‘what’
  ain’t the right word.”

There's no bug there that I can see - re-translation project corrects it - and it was present in original Japanese game perfectly as well.


Quote
In Shinra HQ after meeting Rufus, you control Aeris and if you enter the elevator and then exit, when exiting the glass elevator, the light that shines from the open door turns off too early (before you leave the elevator). Entering the elevator works fine though.

That's normal - the light goes off as she has exited the elevator - you can also hear a sound effect telling you it.  The reason it's on when you enter the elevator is because the screen loads when she's firmly inside.
« Last Edit: 2020-01-02 05:10:11 by DLPB »

skyhawk

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #169 on: 2020-03-01 22:49:34 »
Minor field script error, I think:

While in Junon for the first time, dressed up as a Shinra goon:

In the Barracks off Junon (Left):
There is a soldier who says
"Oi. You're still on duty!", "Then again, I'm hardly qualified to grill people.", followed by
"Whatever you do, don't turn into a slouch like me."

The hitbox for the dialog is very off. I can use the (heater?) in the next room over, or the couch on the other side of the room, and still get this line of dialog.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #170 on: 2020-03-01 22:55:02 »
 8)

skyhawk

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #171 on: 2020-03-02 00:58:54 »
I've found an issue with the Bomb enemies from the Corel area. My copy of ff7 does not function with The Reunion disabled, so I can't test vanilla, but I think this does happen there.

When a Bomb detonates, it turns the entire battle arena black. This condition persists until the end of the battle, which I somehow doubt was the intended behavior.

Video example

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #172 on: 2020-03-23 00:14:46 »
The railmap that Jessie looks at with cloud is already present when the screen loads even though it's about to start.

usb

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #173 on: 2020-03-23 09:05:46 »
this is a weird bug that appears in blin63_1: in the "doors minigame" if you continue to select "Better not" (or no in original game) when asked to open a door sometimes the same question text will popup again and again without having pressed action button on the door. I really can't understand how this bug is triggered (for a test i've pressed better again more than 20/40 times)

Tested with new translation on and off: it appears in both cases

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10610
  • Karma: 242
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Post bug reports here
« Reply #174 on: 2020-03-31 01:21:34 »
@usb - I know what causes it but it will need a lot of editing since all 25 doors have the issue - or at least the lines that trigger them do - and this code is a jumble.  It's just because OK state is still present long enough that it triggers same line again.

There's also other bugs on this field like the duct opening by accident when you enter a room.


edit.

Yeah, all 25 doors loop to check for triangle ID of Cloud and if OK pressed - a very poor way of doing it.  It should be a relatively quick and easy fix.  Here I go.


Label 11
If Var[5][255] == 1 (else goto label 1)
   Var[6][250] = 15 (16 bit)
   Var[6][250] = Var[6][250] * SpeedMultiplier (16 bit)
   Var[6][240] = Var[6][240] + 1 (16 bit)
   If Var[5][240] == Var[5][250] (else goto label 1)
      Var[6][240] = 0 (16 bit)
      Var[5][255] = 0 (8 bit)
Label 1
Goto label 11


This code causes a half second delay from dialogue box ending - so you;d need to have OK pressed for a perceptible time for this to fail.  Issue resolved.


blin63_1   "Field is untidy and poorly coded.
Item bags are too large.
The duct in the computer room should not open on Cloud's entry to the room.

Dialogue box asking question can reappear immediately after declining to open a door."   Yes   "DLPB

usb"   DLPB   R06d
« Last Edit: 2020-03-31 03:30:12 by DLPB »