Author Topic: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch  (Read 3003 times)

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2271
  • Karma: 135
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #25 on: 2017-11-08 21:30:32 »
You ask for too many things at once and all of them need time to explain. I understand that all tools are hard to get into (moreover we have no proper tutorials for them), but that's what you have to do now. See what the tools can do and focus on one project at once. Take your Mideel patch, look how the devs have created a scene change by the script (jump to scene) after that you can pay around with Wallmarket and look what funny Materia you could create or manipulate the weapon stats, then you can go on with Proud Clod. At the end you might come to a point where your questions are more specific and people with the knowledge you seek are more confident to help you.

Kefka

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #26 on: 2017-11-08 21:32:23 »
1: But the music scripts that i found all say either 0 or 1? How do i assign certain tracks?

In Makou Reactor, go to Tools -> Tutorials/Sounds, there you see a list of the Musics that are enabled for the current field. You can either change an existing one or click the green + to add an additional music entry, then assign it the track you want from the list on the right.

Quote
3: What about making Contain Materia skill order : #1 Tornado and #3 Freeze instead?

That's easily done with Wall Market. Go to the Materia section and select the Green Materia you want to edit. The 6 fields called "Materia type modifier" do different things depending on what type of materia it is. For Green Materia, it contains the IDs of the magic spells that are learned, in that order. You can see all magic IDs in the Attack section right next to the list (called Attack ID), e.g. Cure is 0, Cure2 is 1, Cure3 is 2 and so on. You'll see that Freeze has ID 47 and Tornado is ID 49. Now select the Contain Materia in the Materia section and simply switch those numbers in the Materia Type Modifier fields.

Quote
Where can i find enemy encounter number ids? There are only about ~250 in Proud Cloud and Hojo, and i see #300s.

Quote
How do i find out Battle IDs? They are completely different in Proud Clod than Makou Reactor!

Wait, you're mixing up something here. The individual scenes are not the battle formations. Also, Hojo doesn't show any battle formations, only Proud Clod can do that. Each scene contains up to 3 different enemies and 4 possible formations, but each formation can only contain enemies from the current scene (so no more than 3 different enemies can be present in a battle, ever).

In Proud Clod, select a scene and go to Scene Data Management -> Animations/Formations. 4 entries will appear, the first 3 containing informations about the body animations executed by the enemies when performing certain attacks. Select the last entry called Formation. In the new window, you'll see lots of info that might be confusing at first,  including camera positions, the background used in the battle, and of course the enemies present in the battle. (You can add additional enemies to each battle via the bottom table, by entering the enemy's corresponding ID and coordinates on the battlefield. And you can preview your changes by clicking one of the preview buttons nex to the camera table.)

But anyway, the Battle IDs that you seek are the 4 boxes at the top of this window. The catch is that while Makou Reactor uses decimal numbers, those in Proud Clod are in Hex, so you have to convert them (either use a tool, or in your head if you're really good at math). For example, when a Battle ID in Makou Reactor is 380, you'll have to search in Proud Clod for the Battle ID 017C, as that's 380 in Hex.


Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #27 on: 2017-11-08 22:01:58 »
In Makou Reactor, go to Tools -> Tutorials/Sounds, there you see a list of the Musics that are enabled for the current field. You can either change an existing one or click the green + to add an additional music entry, then assign it the track you want from the list on the right.

That's easily done with Wall Market. Go to the Materia section and select the Green Materia you want to edit. The 6 fields called "Materia type modifier" do different things depending on what type of materia it is. For Green Materia, it contains the IDs of the magic spells that are learned, in that order. You can see all magic IDs in the Attack section right next to the list (called Attack ID), e.g. Cure is 0, Cure2 is 1, Cure3 is 2 and so on. You'll see that Freeze has ID 47 and Tornado is ID 49. Now select the Contain Materia in the Materia section and simply switch those numbers in the Materia Type Modifier fields.

Wait, you're mixing up something here. The individual scenes are not the battle formations. Also, Hojo doesn't show any battle formations, only Proud Clod can do that. Each scene contains up to 3 different enemies and 4 possible formations, but each formation can only contain enemies from the current scene (so no more than 3 different enemies can be present in a battle, ever).

In Proud Clod, select a scene and go to Scene Data Management -> Animations/Formations. 4 entries will appear, the first 3 containing informations about the body animations executed by the enemies when performing certain attacks. Select the last entry called Formation. In the new window, you'll see lots of info that might be confusing at first,  including camera positions, the background used in the battle, and of course the enemies present in the battle. (You can add additional enemies to each battle via the bottom table, by entering the enemy's corresponding ID and coordinates on the battlefield. And you can preview your changes by clicking one of the preview buttons nex to the camera table.)

But anyway, the Battle IDs that you seek are the 4 boxes at the top of this window. The catch is that while Makou Reactor uses decimal numbers, those in Proud Clod are in Hex, so you have to convert them (either use a tool, or in your head if you're really good at math). For example, when a Battle ID in Makou Reactor is 380, you'll have to search in Proud Clod for the Battle ID 017C, as that's 380 in Hex.

Thx :)

What is the ID for Ho-Chu? The online calculator for Hex vs Decimal doesn't seem right.

Is 795 right for Ho-Chu?

This one seems to work:
http://www.rapidtables.com/convert/number/hex-to-decimal.htm

PS : Can Proud Clod change battle encounters on the world map or does that need a new yet to be made program?
« Last Edit: 2017-11-08 22:14:05 by Abashi76 »

Kefka

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #28 on: 2017-11-09 15:17:21 »
Thx :)

What is the ID for Ho-Chu? The online calculator for Hex vs Decimal doesn't seem right.

Is 795 right for Ho-Chu?

This one seems to work:
http://www.rapidtables.com/convert/number/hex-to-decimal.htm

PS : Can Proud Clod change battle encounters on the world map or does that need a new yet to be made program?

Yep, 795 is the Ho-Chu battle that was (presumably) originally intended to be in the Ancient Forest, but didn't make it into the final game for whatever reason. Now you just have to find the various ancient forest fields in Makou Reactor, go to Tools -> Encounters, and add the Battle 795 into one of the free slots (and change the propabilities accordingly).

For your second question: the World Map encounters are also there in Proud Clod (the first 70 or so scenes contain enemies from the world map, and their respective battle formations), and you can change which enemies are present in which battle.

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #29 on: 2017-11-09 23:15:15 »
Yep, 795 is the Ho-Chu battle that was (presumably) originally intended to be in the Ancient Forest, but didn't make it into the final game for whatever reason. Now you just have to find the various ancient forest fields in Makou Reactor, go to Tools -> Encounters, and add the Battle 795 into one of the free slots (and change the propabilities accordingly).

For your second question: the World Map encounters are also there in Proud Clod (the first 70 or so scenes contain enemies from the world map, and their respective battle formations), and you can change which enemies are present in which battle.

But how do i get Proud Clod to work? I posted the error message earlier.

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #30 on: 2018-08-26 22:07:05 »
How would i switch the "Final Attack Materia" with "Omnislash"? I would like to make it easier to get Final Attack and i don't really care about Omnislash.

Quote
Understanding Makou reactor can be quite complicated at first. First off, you need to locate the correct field, which is 'crcin_1' in this case (field ID 511).
In the middle column you see a list of all elements that are active in the current field, including field models, lightning animaions and such. The list usually starts with a Main Directory, followed by models for Cloud, Tifa, Cid, and others. By clicking on one of these entries, you can see all field scripts that are executed from this entry under certain conditions.
Next you need to find the script that hands out the rewards after winning a chocobo race. In this case, it is script 4 in Cloud's entry. By clicking on 'Expand the tree' you can see all sections of this rather long script.
It contains a variety of 'If' conditions to determine the item and GP amount of your prize. Now chose an entry with an item that you want to change, and double-click on the line that says 'Add 1 item(s) No. to the inventory'. Then you can change the item and the quantity that you get by selecting a new item ID. It's easier if you have a list of item IDs available so that you know which ID corresponds to your item of choice.
Also, you'll need to change the dialogue text of the received item by going to Tools -> Texts, and find the text box that belongs to your changes item, and change the text accordingly.
« Last Edit: 2018-08-27 01:23:48 by Abashi76 »

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2799
  • Karma: 167
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #31 on: 2018-08-27 04:11:43 »
Using makou reactor tool, open the game's flevel in the data/field folder (or the disc image if it's a PSX ISO).

Go to field ID 500 (coloin1).

[To swap Omnislash with Final Attack]
Click Script Group 18 (lent1), then click on S1 - OK in the column next to the group listing. Then click expand tree to show entire script. Go to line 707.

Right click line 707 and select edit text, change it from Omnislash to Final Attack. Double click line 706 and adjust the size of the text box using automatic sizing.

Line 708, double click and change the 'add item' drop down to add materia instead and select final attack from the Materia argument (ID: 32, but it lists the materia names when clicking it).

Go up to line 276, right-click and edit text. Change omnislash to final attack. Then double-click line 275 to adjust text box.

[To swap Final Attack with Omnislash]
In group #0, dic: go to S0 - Main script and click expand tree to show the whole script.
Line 24, change this to add item and select Omnislash.

Right-click line 27 and select edit text, change it from final attack to omnislash
Delete Line 25 (this is an 'if check' for free space when adding materia, no longer needed here).
« Last Edit: 2018-08-27 04:14:53 by Sega Chief »

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #32 on: 2018-09-12 23:06:25 »
Using makou reactor tool, open the game's flevel in the data/field folder (or the disc image if it's a PSX ISO).

Go to field ID 500 (coloin1).

[To swap Omnislash with Final Attack]
Click Script Group 18 (lent1), then click on S1 - OK in the column next to the group listing. Then click expand tree to show entire script. Go to line 707.

Right click line 707 and select edit text, change it from Omnislash to Final Attack. Double click line 706 and adjust the size of the text box using automatic sizing.

Line 708, double click and change the 'add item' drop down to add materia instead and select final attack from the Materia argument (ID: 32, but it lists the materia names when clicking it).

Go up to line 276, right-click and edit text. Change omnislash to final attack. Then double-click line 275 to adjust text box.

[To swap Final Attack with Omnislash]
In group #0, dic: go to S0 - Main script and click expand tree to show the whole script.
Line 24, change this to add item and select Omnislash.

Right-click line 27 and select edit text, change it from final attack to omnislash
Delete Line 25 (this is an 'if check' for free space when adding materia, no longer needed here).

THX

What was the id for Omnislash again? I don't know how to get the names, i double click it or right click it and it doesn't show me what item each id gives.

Also, i heard there was a tool for the models in the game, especially enemies .... is that true?
« Last Edit: 2018-09-12 23:16:27 by Abashi76 »

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2799
  • Karma: 167
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #33 on: 2018-09-13 00:49:00 »
The item list should be populated with the game's kernel; if you open the tool and click Settings (at the top) then Configuration, you should be see some addresses which point the tool toward the game's files; it can then use these files to show things like field models, item names, etc.

Omnislash is item ID 87.

***

Kimera: 3D Model Editor/Viewer
There is a tool to view/edit 3D Models but there's some steps involved and it's trickier to get running than the Wall Market tool. I'm a little hazy on the steps, but it'll involve installing some dependencies using the command line (administrator version).

First, the tool thread:
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=4194.0

Next, download and install Visual Basic Power Packs 3.0 if you don't already have it; this can help with getting old visual basic tools to run, like Wall Market.

For Kimera, you'll need to register some dependency files to get it working, specifically: MSCOMCT2.OCX, MSSTDFMT.DLL, msvbvm60.dll, and COMDLG32.OCX. If these aren't in the Kimera download, then I can get them to you instead; some sites provide old files like these but exercise caution about downloading such files from unknown sources.

I've only installed these via Windows 7, but a guide going through different OS can be found here: http://www.ctimls.com/Support/KB/How%20To/Register_dll.htm

Once you've got the files, drop a copy of each into the Kimera tool folder. Next, go into the folder called Windows on your C drive and go to sysWOW64 folder. We're going to drop another copy of the four files into here, registering them via CMD one at a time. So drop those four files into this sysWOW64 folder.

Click Start and in the search bar type cmd; you'll see cmd appear above in search results; right-click this and select 'run as administrator'. On the command line, type:

cd\Windows\sysWOW64
and then press Enter. This gets us to the directory address where we're going to register our four files to the system.

Next, type:
regSvr32{filename.extension}
and press enter.

A success message of some sort should appear. Do this for each of the four files listed above. What this does is, it takes 32bit dependencies and gets them registered with the PC so that the tool can make use of them when running. These files used to be part of the system, but changes to the .NET Framework meant that old files got ditched which leaves older tools high and dry.

***

ULGP: .lgp Archive Manager
While that should get Kimera working, you'll need to take some steps to actually view models as FF7 has the 3D models tied up in archives with a .lgp format. We use a tool like Luksy's ULGP tool to decompile these archives into their individual files: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=12831.0

When an archive has been decompiled, you can then open the models inside using their 'master' file (.hrc extension for field models from char.lgp, or files ending in 'AA' for battle models from battle.lgp; note that battle model files have no visible file extension). You can also open individual model parts too.

When edits have been made, we recompile the archive using ULGP again and it (should) be ready to go.

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #34 on: 2018-09-13 22:23:05 »
The item list should be populated with the game's kernel; if you open the tool and click Settings (at the top) then Configuration, you should be see some addresses which point the tool toward the game's files; it can then use these files to show things like field models, item names, etc.

Omnislash is item ID 87.

***

Kimera: 3D Model Editor/Viewer
There is a tool to view/edit 3D Models but there's some steps involved and it's trickier to get running than the Wall Market tool. I'm a little hazy on the steps, but it'll involve installing some dependencies using the command line (administrator version).

First, the tool thread:
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=4194.0

Next, download and install Visual Basic Power Packs 3.0 if you don't already have it; this can help with getting old visual basic tools to run, like Wall Market.

For Kimera, you'll need to register some dependency files to get it working, specifically: MSCOMCT2.OCX, MSSTDFMT.DLL, msvbvm60.dll, and COMDLG32.OCX. If these aren't in the Kimera download, then I can get them to you instead; some sites provide old files like these but exercise caution about downloading such files from unknown sources.

I have all of those.

I've only installed these via Windows 7, but a guide going through different OS can be found here: http://www.ctimls.com/Support/KB/How%20To/Register_dll.htm

Once you've got the files, drop a copy of each into the Kimera tool folder. Next, go into the folder called Windows on your C drive and go to sysWOW64 folder. We're going to drop another copy of the four files into here, registering them via CMD one at a time. So drop those four files into this sysWOW64 folder.

Where is the "sysWOW64" folder? I just have the Kamira folder.

Click Start and in the search bar type cmd; you'll see cmd appear above in search results; right-click this and select 'run as administrator'. On the command line, type:

cd\Windows\sysWOW64
and then press Enter. This gets us to the directory address where we're going to register our four files to the system.

The search engine found no matches. "sys"

Next, type:
regSvr32{filename.extension}
and press enter.

Where is that?

A success message of some sort should appear. Do this for each of the four files listed above. What this does is, it takes 32bit dependencies and gets them registered with the PC so that the tool can make use of them when running. These files used to be part of the system, but changes to the .NET Framework meant that old files got ditched which leaves older tools high and dry.

***

ULGP: .lgp Archive Manager
While that should get Kimera working, you'll need to take some steps to actually view models as FF7 has the 3D models tied up in archives with a .lgp format. We use a tool like Luksy's ULGP tool to decompile these archives into their individual files: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=12831.0

When an archive has been decompiled, you can then open the models inside using their 'master' file (.hrc extension for field models from char.lgp, or files ending in 'AA' for battle models from battle.lgp; note that battle model files have no visible file extension). You can also open individual model parts too.

When edits have been made, we recompile the archive using ULGP again and it (should) be ready to go.

Okay, i'll try it.

REPLY IN BLUE

Is there any way to switch Green with Pink on the Chocobo races so player replaces the pink one instead of the green one? The field editor actually has the ability to edit model placement.
« Last Edit: 2018-09-13 22:30:00 by Abashi76 »

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2799
  • Karma: 167
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #35 on: 2018-09-14 00:10:03 »
The sysWOW64 folder is a windows folder; it's located in:
C:\Windows\SysWOW64

If you don't have a 64-bit operating system then this folder likely won't exist. If it's a 32-bit operating system you have, then refer to that in the guide I linked. You can check what kind of OS you have by going to the control panel, going to System & Security, and then System to get an overview.
https://imgur.com/a/DizCRyS

***

The minigames are their own separate modules, and chocobo models aren't coloured until they're loaded into the game (at which point, the grey chocobo model is given a hue). It'll likely require some kind of .exe modification and I haven't looked into that minigame.

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #36 on: 2018-09-14 17:54:11 »
The sysWOW64 folder is a windows folder; it's located in:
C:\Windows\SysWOW64

If you don't have a 64-bit operating system then this folder likely won't exist. If it's a 32-bit operating system you have, then refer to that in the guide I linked. You can check what kind of OS you have by going to the control panel, going to System & Security, and then System to get an overview.
https://imgur.com/a/DizCRyS

***

I still get the error : "Component 'Mscomct2.ocx' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid"! What else do i have to do? I must have a 64-bit if i have the folder; i imported all the files (except for the .exe) from the "Kimera" folder to the right system folder.

The minigames are their own separate modules, and chocobo models aren't coloured until they're loaded into the game (at which point, the grey chocobo model is given a hue). It'll likely require some kind of .exe modification and I haven't looked into that minigame.

Okay, i guess it wouldn't be possible to add new chocobo or increase the max number of stables yet.

There are a lot of recolored enemies from "Hardcore" and "New Threat" mods that would like to import to my own mod. Is that possible? It should be possible. Some mods actually do change enemy encounters on the world map, and someone was almost going to add a forest near Kalm to find Yuffie, but decided no to for some reason. If somebody managed to add a forest on the world map and change enemy encounters such as around "Fort Condor", shouldn't that mean there is a program out there that can edit the world map?

Also, how do i change attack names? Mods do it all the time .......
« Last Edit: 2018-09-14 18:19:54 by Abashi76 »

UpRisen

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: 5
  • Again...Again... AVALANCHE is born again!
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #37 on: 2018-09-14 21:49:10 »
You can change attack names in Proud Clod and you can change the spell names in Wallmarket. PrC checks itself vs your Kernel2 file so change names in WM first then in PrC.

As for using the recolored models thats a bit trickier. For the boss enemies they use the same texture ids as vanilla so all you need is the p and texture files from the battle folder of the mods. For enemies that are completely new or replace another enemy in the scene.bin then you will also have to have the scene inplace too. its gets real tricky and finnickey at that point. But before you take updated models or code from another mod ask the mod developer first for permission.

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2799
  • Karma: 167
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #38 on: 2018-09-15 00:59:34 »
There are a lot of recolored enemies from "Hardcore" and "New Threat" mods that would like to import to my own mod. Is that possible? It should be possible. Some mods actually do change enemy encounters on the world map, and someone was almost going to add a forest near Kalm to find Yuffie, but decided no to for some reason. If somebody managed to add a forest on the world map and change enemy encounters such as around "Fort Condor", shouldn't that mean there is a program out there that can edit the world map?

Also, how do i change attack names? Mods do it all the time .......

Did you register the four files via the command line (CMD)? Putting them in the folder on its own isn't enough, they need to be registered manually.

Like Uprisen said, if you're making a mod with other people's assets that you intend to distribute then I'd get permission from the mod authors. You can use models from my NT mod, but if you're planning to take stuff from the Hardcore mod then ask Gjoerulv first.

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #39 on: 2018-09-16 15:39:42 »
You can change attack names in Proud Clod and you can change the spell names in Wallmarket. PrC checks itself vs your Kernel2 file so change names in WM first then in PrC.

I know how to change attack names that the player uses. For some reason, when i try to change the attack names in "Proud Clod" the name won't change (is this a bug?). I know how i am supposed to do it. Do i have to use another program first?

As for using the recolored models thats a bit trickier. For the boss enemies they use the same texture ids as vanilla so all you need is the p and texture files from the battle folder of the mods. For enemies that are completely new or replace another enemy in the scene.bin then you will also have to have the scene inplace too. its gets real tricky and finnickey at that point. But before you take updated models or code from another mod ask the mod developer first for permission.

If i have to contact them anyway, could i give them advice on how to use those custom enemies better while combining "Hardcore" and "New Threat" mods?

So, do i have to register a Windows program to use "Kimera"?

Do you think anybody would be willing to combine the two best mods for the game for me based on what i say is the best way to do it? I mean, by adding all the custom enemies from both "New Threat" and "Hardcore" mods, except changing where they are placed and put them in more ideal places (can't give any good examples because i don't know how to describe it)? If not, i would have to learn how to do it myself, and then ask them. Where do i ask them?

Also, it's possible to add new maps right (the ones you see in the 'Makou Reactor' program)? I was thinking the game could be expanded by flipping some existing maps horizontally (since it isn't possible vertically and the reason for that is obvious). This would be useful to make new areas (outside the world map) by flipping a cave or a pathway that is not a part of a city, or by flipping certain junkyard paths in Midgar. There are a lot of maps that are just flips in Great Glacier as well as maps used more than once in Midgar.

If not possible, is it possible to combine the two (Hardcore & New Threat) mods together? They seem to make a perfect mod if combined together the right way.
« Last Edit: 2018-10-11 23:26:26 by Abashi76 »

Abashi76

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mod Request : Difficulty Balancing and Mideel patch
« Reply #40 on: 2018-10-15 01:51:26 »
It bothers me that the "Hardcore Mod" has a lot of new enemies in which belongs in "New Threat Mod" and "New Threat Mod" has a lot of difficulty changes that belongs in "Hardcore Mod".

PS:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bM5xa2r6ZU4&t=0s&list=PLGKrtevu-xqZF1GHW-QX5xyrk6H19C-SB&index=95

my comment, it's a good idea (Sylka Chan)
« Last Edit: 2018-10-15 02:08:55 by Abashi76 »