Author Topic: FF8 Character battle models swapping  (Read 717 times)

Takuhi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
FF8 Character battle models swapping
« on: 2018-09-03 01:29:21 »
I've been working on just swapping out Squalls casual outfit for his actual SeeD outfit(See pix below) and have had pretty much success on changing the field models with no glitches however, I have not been able to find any information about actually changing the battle model. I would like to continue using the SeeD outfit in battle but I am unsure how to go about it. I've done a lot of searching on google and on the forums with not much luck since most either relates in just texture replacements,fixes for the game, or field model replacement.(Also thanks to Shunsq for the tutorial on field model swapping). Any help in pointing me in the right direction and what I would need to do would be greatly appreciated.

Spoiler: show


Kniouky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #1 on: 2018-09-04 17:32:24 »
Can you tell us how can you swap field model ? Cause I'm trying too but my game crash everytime, So I think i'm doing something wrong.
I don't remember that Squall was wearing this outfit in the Infirmary, so I think you used the chara.one file from the field with this model, right ?

Teach me how to do that xD

Anyway, I was trying to swap battle models too, especially with Rinoa in her party dress, I almost did the field model (but it crash cause I don't know how to do it correctly)

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536082036-linoa-2.png

But in battle it's a total fail.

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536082037-skin-rinoa.png


Shunsq

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Karma: 38
  • 20 years to mod a game, that's insanely long
    • View Profile
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #2 on: 2018-09-04 17:56:30 »
To exchange game models follow this tutorial:http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15668.50
See reply#72 by myself.

Takuhi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #3 on: 2018-09-04 18:15:44 »
Can you tell us how can you swap field model ? Cause I'm trying too but my game crash everytime, So I think i'm doing something wrong.
I don't remember that Squall was wearing this outfit in the Infirmary, so I think you used the chara.one file from the field with this model, right ?

Teach me how to do that xD

Anyway, I was trying to swap battle models too, especially with Rinoa in her party dress, I almost did the field model (but it crash cause I don't know how to do it correctly)

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536082036-linoa-2.png

But in battle it's a total fail.

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536082037-skin-rinoa.png
Yeah I just followed Shunsq's tutorial he wrote on how to swap them. Which he beat me to posting a link to lol
From what I've been able to determine from reading up on old threads and any info I can get from different websites is that the battle models seem to be harder to swap with the field models since they have a different type of format setup and battle animations attached to them. If it was possible to take apart the format, extract the rigged model separate from the animations and then recreate the format with the new model inserted and battle animations added with it would be a better way to go about it.

Kniouky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #4 on: 2018-09-04 18:56:26 »
Yay thank you ! It's working but... there's something wrong haha

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536087169-oups.png

I use the d023.mch ;o

Maybe I need to switch the animations too ?

EDIT: Trying to swap Rinoa casual outfit with her party dress (Finally !)

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536090695-low-poly.png

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536090694-high-poly2.png

Low poly model is okay, the High poly model have some issues...

So there's no chance to see Squall and Rinoa with theses outfits as battle models ? >.<
« Last Edit: 2018-09-04 19:58:29 by Kniouky »

Takuhi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #5 on: 2018-09-04 20:53:07 »
Yay thank you ! It's working but... there's something wrong haha

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536087169-oups.png

I use the d023.mch ;o

Maybe I need to switch the animations too ?

EDIT: Trying to swap Rinoa casual outfit with her party dress (Finally !)

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536090695-low-poly.png

https://www.noelshack.com/2018-36-2-1536090694-high-poly2.png

Low poly model is okay, the High poly model have some issues...

So there's no chance to see Squall and Rinoa with theses outfits as battle models ? >.<

I noticed in the first image, you're swapping Squall with Rinoa which I think the reason it didn't work is because of they have different bone structures which is why her model goes all jumbled when squall's animations are applied to it. Its good to see you are having better luck with swapping Rinoa with own model though I can't explain the missing pieces with the HQ version. Are you making sure to delete it in Deling the model you are swapping out so when you add the HQ version of her party dress, it updates the size of the model? That's basically what the missing pieces look like to me, like only part of the model is being read and not the whole thing.
As for the battle models, Its looking like its not an option sadly unless someone has made a tool to extract the models and reimport the new one into the file.

Mcindus

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 766
  • Karma: 129
  • Artist, Modder, Musician.
    • View Profile
    • Lunatic Pandora
Re: FF8 Character battle models swapping
« Reply #6 on: 2018-09-30 04:53:50 »
Ok, so....

This is from another post, but it's relevant:
There are some issues with texture count.
To exchange game models follow this tutorial:http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15668.50
See reply#72 by myself.

Shunsq - is there a way for me to import my own model as long as i use the same bones, etc. as the field file?  Instead of using the high poly model, what if we exported the low poly, I turned it into my own high poly model (using the same UV's, animations and bones so the texture problem doesn't exist) In theory, this would work, but I don't know about the poly count, etc...  Right now, i have a 13k poly squall that I made from the original battle model.  I need to rip the low poly .mch file and then modify it.

« Last Edit: 2018-09-30 05:04:11 by Mcindus »