Author Topic: [FF7PC] Remako HD Graphics Mod (AI enhanced field backgrounds) - 1.0 is out now!  (Read 27375 times)

Cloud’s Stripe

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
A dotmask is much better. :P


The mask in mds7_w2 is messed up and parts lattice fence are not correctly visible when a 3D object is behind it.

Hello,

What do y’all use (and in what configuration) for scanlines or a dot mask in combination with the upscaled backgrounds (remako/satsuki’s/manakaiser’s)? Seems like an excellent combination indeed!
I only know of Reshade’s scanline option; i have no idea where to find a dot mask, searched mds7_w2 for clues but didn’t find anything.

Thanks
« Last Edit: 2019-05-29 09:01:43 by Cloud’s Stripe »

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Alright for everyone and the whole community who want to mix and match stuff, I did something..

First, I made the Remako Field mod have the Minigames and Char folders as secondary on off options.

(Link) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FUmTtwDi1Ny7U0asLtc05PBaLJSZT89b



Second, I added the minigame stuffs to all the separate mingame folders in the community iro file..

(Link) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1RUpDuaypWP_S5dunUTWv5gKBGV7vzn5C



Links all set..

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2411
  • Karma: 150
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Hello,

What do y’all use (and in what configuration) for scanlines or a dot mask in combination with the upscaled backgrounds (remako/satsuki’s/manakaiser’s)? Seems like an excellent combination indeed!
I only know of Reshade’s scanline option; i have no idea where to find a dot mask, searched mds7_w2 for clues but didn’t find anything.

Thanks

Sadly I could play the game with dotmask only on epsexe with Pete's opengl plugin. For pc I haven't seen this feature.

CaptRobau

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Your movies are generally great quality. Even better than satsuki's.

But some movies like funeral, boogdemo, boogdown, boogstar, boogup, sqlogo are arguably worse than satsuki's.

phoenix movie has sound issues that you should fix
gold1 has chipping sound around 00:07- 00:09

Great work though and I'm using a mix of yours and satsuki movies.

Thank you. I looked through the fmvs for issues, but it's easy to miss the forest for the trees with bugs. You kinda stop hearing what everything is supposed to sound sometimes.

Alright for everyone and the whole community who want to mix and match stuff, I did something..

First, I made the Remako Field mod have the Minigames and Char folders as secondary on off options.

(Link) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1FUmTtwDi1Ny7U0asLtc05PBaLJSZT89b

Second, I added the minigame stuffs to all the separate mingame folders in the community iro file..

(Link) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1RUpDuaypWP_S5dunUTWv5gKBGV7vzn5C

That's a great idea that I had not thought off. Will make them on/off options in the next update.


Kuraudo.

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 3
  • Panta rei
    • View Profile
Hi CaptRobau,

What about animations? Is it possible to fix it?
« Last Edit: 2019-05-29 21:44:03 by Kuraudo. »

daghda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
On the png error issue I think I found the problem.  When you are installing the prerender background mod, it may seem like 7thheaven is locking up and froze.  Leave it alone for a good 20 seconds and it will install the prerender patch.  If you force quit it while its frozen, the mod won't install correctly and you will get that png missing error.  Try uninstalling it and reinstalling but waiting this time for it to unfreeze on its on.  Hopefully this works!

CaptRobau

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Hi CaptRobau,

What about animations? Is it possible to fix it?

As I wrote in my release post on my site:

Quote
Some effects on some screens aren't filtered to avoid in-game animation bugs. Examples include the glow in Mt. Nibel and the waterfall behind Aeris' house. Still, the bump in resolution outweighs the loss of some of the game's background animations, don't you think?

So no. Not right now at least, with the current tool set.

On the png error issue I think I found the problem.  When you are installing the prerender background mod, it may seem like 7thheaven is locking up and froze.  Leave it alone for a good 20 seconds and it will install the prerender patch.  If you force quit it while its frozen, the mod won't install correctly and you will get that png missing error.  Try uninstalling it and reinstalling but waiting this time for it to unfreeze on its on.  Hopefully this works!

Thanks for the info

Matroska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I've followed the instructions on the Remako site, I even made a clean install of FFVII on Steam to be on the safe side, but it doesn't work. The game starts up as normal and there are no changes other than the movies being in better quality (since the original files themselves have been replaced, that's inevitable). I've also installed other mods like ones that change the character models and they're not showing up either. All mods have been activated, it's not like I just installed them and forgot to activate them which I'd guess might be one obvious cause. The game isn't installed in program files, I've followed the load order guide on this site.

Edit: I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the FF7 converter. Now when I try to do it, it says "could not find any languages". I've copy-pasted the directory and put speech marks around it, so I'm not sure what's wrong with that. When I first ran the program it apparently worked without errors, but maybe there was an error it didn't detect/display, and the converter didn't work in the first place (although it did ostensibly work, taking me to the config page).

Edit: The saga continues. Another clean install, got it working this time. The Remako upgraded backgrounds worked as did the improved field models. Then the game crashed upon loading Barret's initial dialogue to Cloud on the train platform (well that's what I assume anyway, it had Barret looking at Cloud then the game froze). Here's the log.

Spoiler: show
[00000000] INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.8.1b
[00000000] INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
[00000000] INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2 4.6.0 NVIDIA 430.86
[00000000] INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
[00000000] INFO: Found swap_control extension
[00000000] INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
[00000000] INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 3840x2160, output resolution 2880x2160, internal resolution 3840x2160
[00000000] INFO: Shader limits: varying 124, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 4096
[00000000] INFO: postprocessing program link log:
Fragment info
-------------
0(133) : warning C7050: "refractedColor.w" might be used before being initialized

[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
[00000000] INFO: VGMStream music plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
[00000000] LOCK UNLOCK TEST
[00000001] MATRIX INITIALIZE
[00000001] INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
[00000001] initializing sound...
[00000001] creating dsound primary buffer
[00000001] reading audio file
[00000001] loading static sounds
[00000001] sound initialized
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] Entering MAIN
[00000001] Exiting MAIN
[00000001] START OF CREDITS!!!
[00000001] INFO: D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\eidoslogo.avi; h264/pcm_s16le 1280x960, 30.000300 FPS, duration: 11.133222, frames: 334
[00000077] set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
[00000142] END OF CREDITS!!!
[00000142] Entering MAIN
[00000142] set music volume: 127
[00000142] Exiting MAIN
[00000142] START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000562] END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000562] Entering MAIN
[00000566] Exiting MAIN
[00000566] Field Start
[00000567] INFO: D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\data\movies\opening.avi; h264/pcm_s16le 1280x896, 15.000200 FPS, duration: 119.465074, frames: 1792
[00002842] ERROR: unhandled exception
« Last Edit: 2019-07-08 18:52:14 by Matroska »

jackkane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
it keeps asking me to insert disc one this is when trying to use 7th heaven.

Chrysalis

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
With what we currently have, it is. After this fully releases, if something new comes along that uses this same method (or better), then it will be added. The older mods will need to be retired to free up the limited storage space.

I can provide hosting space, for free of course, if it means maintaining choice for the community.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3032
  • Karma: 208
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Sure, that's fine. Nothing stopping you from downloading the 3 options from Catalog 2.0 and archiving them yourself.

There will be 3 choices in Catalog 3.0 using AI enhanced texture packs, so there isn't a change in choices. Their quality is superior to older methods, so it's not worth keeping around options no one will use.

kekko1285

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hey CaptRobau, are you planning to release a follow up to this release fixing bugs and issues? Would be nice to keep this mod maintained since I think it is the best looking one :D

Chrysalis

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Sure, that's fine. Nothing stopping you from downloading the 3 options from Catalog 2.0 and archiving them yourself.

There will be 3 choices in Catalog 3.0 using AI enhanced texture packs, so there isn't a change in choices. Their quality is superior to older methods, so it's not worth keeping around options no one will use.

Thats good to hear you adding all the new packs.

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Hey CaptRobau, are you planning to release a follow up to this release fixing bugs and issues? Would be nice to keep this mod maintained since I think it is the best looking one :D
So far CaptRobau haven't fixed anything from it's initial release, i hope he will, maybe you can try to mp him.
Others packs are ready to use, check on this forum, you may find a pack more finalised.
« Last Edit: 2019-07-21 17:07:11 by satsuki »

kekko1285

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
So far CaptRobau haven't fixed anything from it's initial release, i hope he will, maybe you can try to mp him.
Others packs are ready to use, check on this forum, you may find a pack more finalised.

Good to see you've edited your initial message, it was way too mean  :wink:
Try to not make the "frechness" that is in you take over :D <- (I'm Italian, I love french people and this is just a joke)

Anyway, yes, I'll try to PM him. I can see from his personal blog he's on different projects, he might not want to perfect this one. It is a pity, although understandable.

Chrysalis

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 251
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
both need scanline effect and they'll look great.  Which is what I do.

Where are your scanline textures? Or you applying it postprocessing?

CaptRobau

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Hey CaptRobau, are you planning to release a follow up to this release fixing bugs and issues? Would be nice to keep this mod maintained since I think it is the best looking one :D

Hi, sorry forgot about this thread. I do have plans for a Remako v1.1 version, with some fixes and new features. Want it finished in 2019, but don't know when exactly. One of these coming weeks I'll probably look myself in with FF7 one more time to get the new update out.

purplegreendave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hi, I have a pretty old/rubbish laptop. I was just wondering if there's any chance it would be able to run this mod?
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/43544/intel-core-i5-540m-processor-3m-cache-2-53-ghz.html
Intel HD Graphics, pretty basic stuff.

If you guys think it might handle the game + this mod, are there any other mods you think I could/should run in tandem?
Is there a notable difference between the SE Store and Steam versions with regards ease of modding?

I'd like to get a playthrough in before the remake but if this wont work out for me I'll just dig out my PS3 and play the OG disk version instead. I'd happily throw down the $10-15 for a pc key if I could play with some upgrades though!

CaptRobau

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Sadly, I've heard reports that a modded FF7 can't run well on integrated graphics. I don't want you to spend money on the game without a firm guarantee that it will work. If someone has more data regarding your setup and Remako, I'd be happy to have my statement disproven.

purplegreendave

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Thanks for the reply. That's kind of what I expected. Would have been nice for the faster battles if nothing else but I don't want to buy a game that won't run on my computer. I had kind of hoped that it would handle the neural-improved backgrounds because they're static images but I really have no idea how it works.