Author Topic: FF7 - Problems Using Nvidia - only 12 FPS in battle  (Read 135 times)

tjh3316

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hello,

I am having issues using Nvidia with FF7. A few weeks ago I realized I was only using Intel Graphics and not my Nvidia graphics.
Everything works fine with Intel. However, when I switch to Nvidia there is significant clipping and I am forced to use Vsync in order to correct this.
The graphics look much better with Nvidia which is why I want to figure out how to fix the 12 FPS in battle.
After doing some research, I found out that Vsync only allows for multiples of 60. This seems to be reason why I am only getting 12 FPS as there is a cap at 15 FPS during battle.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to get to 15FPS while using Nvidia given the issues I am encountering?

Thank you all for your work on these mods btw. They are awesome!!

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2762
  • Karma: 190
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: FF7 - Problems Using Nvidia - only 12 FPS in battle
« Reply #1 on: 2019-02-08 10:05:55 »
Did you mean factors (1,2 3, 4, etc) instead of multiples (60, 120, 180, 240 etc.) of 60? Both 12 and 15 are factors of 60 :P

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9349
  • Karma: 319
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Problems Using Nvidia - only 12 FPS in battle
« Reply #2 on: 2019-02-08 16:03:00 »
The graphics look much better with Nvidia which is why I want to figure out how to fix the 12 FPS in battle.

<  May be related to broken fps frame limiter.  Fixed in Reunion R06. Not sure about R05.

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2847
  • Karma: 169
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Problems Using Nvidia - only 12 FPS in battle
« Reply #3 on: 2019-02-08 23:51:41 »
You could try using Dan's Ochu tool to manually alter the FPS and uncap it:

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=14194.0

Set the tool to run as admin/unblock/give permissions, etc. Run the tool and then start the game. It should show a bunch of tabs in the ochu window, go to the FPS one and press the F1 key to make the values turn green/editing mode. Set the Battle FPS value to something like 20 (or higher) and then right-click it and select 'update'. This should set the battles to run at a higher fps, and you can set the field/world to run faster as well if you want.

One thing to note is that audio will run at original speed so some clipping/desynch can occur. I typically find that setting it at 20-24fps is a good compromise for smoothness + audio synch. Also, I think the game runs slightly faster than the FPS you set but that might be system-related.

tjh3316

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Problems Using Nvidia - only 12 FPS in battle
« Reply #4 on: 2019-02-09 01:14:46 »
thank you all!!

using Ochu fixed the issue.