Author Topic: OpenVIII - an open-source Final Fantasy VIII engine implementation  (Read 4238 times)

LordUrQuan

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Definite progress... Even without putting in the manual hard-coding of C:\Games\FF8, the intro began to play (sans sound) and I got to the main menu.  Upon choosing the 'Open VIII debug tools' option, I got an unhandled exception in DirtyEncoder.cs, line 67.
Code: [Select]
System.NullReferenceException: 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object.' value was null.
Identical errors (in other locations) if I attempt to start a new game or load a saved one.  I knew those options wouldn't work, but thought it might be helpful in figuring out why the debug won't load.

Sebanisu

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
That's odd. Can you see what is on the stack when it gives the exception? https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/debugger/how-to-use-the-call-stack-window?view=vs-2019 the idea is something is sending null to the dirtyencoder and it's throwing an error. So I need to make the encoder handle null better and I need to know what is sending null to it. The stack shows all the commands being executed in a first in, last out order. So it'll show what lines started this chain of events. I have a few ideas of what it could be. Just desire more info.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk


LordUrQuan

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
I think this is what you asked for: https://imgur.com/E7psnHq

Sebanisu

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
I think this is what you asked for: https://imgur.com/E7psnHq
Yep. I'll work on it tomorrow night.


Did a small fix before work. I forced the values in that area to send null to it and got the same exception and added a null check to length. So it returns 0 instead of throwing an error.

I was wondering, some of those lines of text have a : with something after it. the ones that were sending null will have nothing after the :. Which ones is it?

Anyhow have a good day.
« Last Edit: 2019-05-05 09:22:32 by Sebanisu »

LordUrQuan

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
I was wondering, some of those lines of text have a : with something after it. the ones that were sending null will have nothing after the :. Which ones is it?
I honestly don't understand the question since there's no : punctuation in my screenshot :(

Unrelated noob question: In VS 2017, if I want to download all the latest changes being made, but not attempt uploading, is 'Sync' the correct button to press?  I've been nuking the entire repo and cloning from fresh (inefficient, but at least it ensures I don't screw up anything!)

Sebanisu

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
You were getting the exception when going to the Debug menu inside the running OpenVIII is what i meant. I kinda wanted to know what was missing maybe a screenshot.

When you goto Sync there's Fetch and Pull. Fetch checks for updates and Pull gets the newest code. I think, I have been using the GitHub gui. And sometimes don't pay attention to what the words on the buttons are.  :P

LordUrQuan

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Ok... either I did it wrong (again), or Maki broke something earlier today?  Got this error just after attempting a fresh run to test out your null->0 changes:
Code: [Select]
1>------ Build started: Project: FF8, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
1>  C:/Users/Simplisafe/Source/Repos/MaKiPL/OpenVIII/FF8/Content/Shadow.png
1>C:/Users/Simplisafe/Source/Repos/MaKiPL/OpenVIII/FF8/Content/Shadow.png : error : Importer 'TextureImporter' had unexpected failure!
1>  System.DllNotFoundException: Unable to load DLL 'FreeImage': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)
1>     at FreeImageAPI.FreeImage.GetFileType(String filename, Int32 size)
1>     at FreeImageAPI.FreeImage.LoadEx(String filename, FREE_IMAGE_LOAD_FLAGS flags, FREE_IMAGE_FORMAT& format)
1>     at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.TextureImporter.Import(String filename, ContentImporterContext context)
1>     at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.ContentImporter`1.Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content.Pipeline.IContentImporter.Import(String filename, ContentImporterContext context)
1>     at MonoGame.Framework.Content.Pipeline.Builder.PipelineManager.ProcessContent(PipelineBuildEvent pipelineEvent)
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\MonoGame\v3.0\MonoGame.Content.Builder.targets(84,5): error MSB3073: The command ""C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\MonoGame\v3.0\Tools\MGCB.exe" /quiet /platform:DesktopGL /@:"C:\Users\Simplisafe\Source\Repos\MaKiPL\OpenVIII\FF8\Content\Content.mgcb" /outputDir:"bin\DesktopGL\Content" /intermediateDir:"obj\DesktopGL\Content"" exited with code 1.
========== Build: 0 succeeded or up-to-date, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========

Sebanisu

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Looks like if i'm reading this correctly the FreeImage.dll is in a c++ redistributable pack. https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784  http://community.monogame.net/t/monogame-noob-unable-to-load-freeimage/6255

Monogame probably used it for windows and uses something else on linux. It's because maki is loading a png for putting a shadow under characters. If you installed a texture pack for high res menu graphics it would probably had the same error.

Might need to add this to the readme if it works for you.

Though it does seem linux is broken :P I fixed the linux bug on my fork, but in the middle of building a ingame menus so no need to commit right now :)
« Last Edit: 2019-05-06 03:10:52 by Sebanisu »

LordUrQuan

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Adding the 2013 re-dist got me through the build fail and into the debug menu.  Just got a note that Maki committed a bunch of stuff, so I'll refresh my local repo. Question I should have asked earlier... is there a slack/IRC/discus/whatever so I don't keep spamming the thread?  I'll work on a new Windows (and maybe OpenSuSE since I also use that at home) "Getting started" late tonight or sometime tomorrow so other folks hopefully won't have as steep a curve to get started.

Sebanisu

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
There is a room on the discord. You could also comment on an issue on github. I made one related to getting  the CD version working after you posted.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk