Author Topic: [FF7PC]FF7 SYW V3 upscale: Battle, world map, fields and videos (Final relesase)  (Read 17204 times)

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Outdated, please use the V4 instead : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=19204


Here's my release of FF7 battle, world map and fields upscaled 4x.

I used mostly esrgan with some waifu prefilter for fields and world map.
I used mostly gigapixel for battles.

The main goal of this release is to get as much details as possible without oversharping nor overcleaning the files.
I wanted to get the rendering as natural and constant in quality as possible across the whole game.

The game have been done 3 time for bug hunting and optimisations, no bug reported (only the driver's ones but not related to this pack)
Some effect on some screens aren't filtered to avoid ingame animation bugs (ancnt2,blin68_2,datiao_8,jtempl,jtmpin2,trnad1,woa1,woa2,woa3)

I've also refiltered the videos files from french psx version, i've tried to find the best rendering possible, but on some videos the sources are so bad in quality that i had to do a strong filtering (feel free to test them ^^)

Iro link (for 7theaven): (thanks tracido for your help)
Fields (+char) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yQhaC0dgUJgPMbKnLhPrKB9FYa4biHz_/view?usp=sharing
Battle : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FkGzDaBjzLY_WlCyAky16PB00zw1NbPr/view?usp=sharing
World : https://drive.google.com/file/d/13KpIDN4IIwRx4u5kTN1eTcdXBJZqUcCk/view?usp=sharing
Magic from Kela51 works (with lots of tweak and correction by myself) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BrPbrD7QqMrV9w046EqNCBcawXkez-kH/view?usp=sharing

Archive links:
Fields, battle, char, world: http://www.mediafire.com/file/fscwse0ncsmgd30/FF7.SYW.V3.fields.char.battle.world.7z/file or Mirror (google drive) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BdD8HvHAxcrrMTKwzS0icznKuVM997zJ/view?usp=sharing
Movies: http://www.mediafire.com/file/tfnq2n5ij1e315m/FF7.SYW.V3.movies.7z/file

For the french players only, there's a all in one installer with hard mod selection, game patch... : http://ff7.fr/forum/index.php?page=post&ids=419792

If you like this works, you can make a donation (thanks ^^) : http://yatoshicom.free.fr/don.syw.html

Checksum (for verifcation if extraction don't process well)
Code: [Select]
Pack:
MD5 : FC69E2DBD9F33731C543A7022A76B21E
SHA-1 : C044318AE8CE54D2F9613C73FC3B531D1D39C27B
SHA-256 : EBB8681B655E9EB6ACCD762EA570666622C33BD45CD45C5CDAEE537F6EFC722A

movies:
MD5 : 88B7666F5BE355E8C5FBED5EE90D27CA
SHA-1 : 2BC54945F1B77FE097B841DA0EAFD76EE8B3C5BD
SHA-256 : 787C0264751FA6D1E05B8FBE21C6FD7707C45252E296D28BF744DB8EDAF713A0

How to use the release:

for the main pack:
If you don't have a converted ff7 :
You need first need to have a converted 1998 version of ff7 (http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=14047.0)
Then edit the file "ff7_opengl.cfg" of your ff7 install folder with notepad and find the "mod_path=" line, so you can set up your mod folder
Unpack the 7z file i provided (with 7-zip for exemple) and put all the extracted folders in the mod folder you set up, then play ff7


If you have a converted ff7:
Unpack the 7z file i provided (with 7-zip for exemple) and put all the extracted folders in the mod folder you set up, then play ff7

If you use 7thHeaven:
Just use the iro linked files

for the movies:
Just replace the movies from "\data\movies" with the one i provide


Here's some ingame screens:




































some more ingame screen from Reiletuag
Spoiler: show









Thanks to all people how have helping me in any way to do this works (azertyuiop2, Aavock, Kaldarasha...).[/s]
« Last Edit: 2019-09-02 20:11:06 by satsuki »

Yuffie1983

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
 :o :o  These are looking very beautiful, keep up the awesome work. Are you close to finishing?

adol125

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
how to use this?

LordUrQuan

  • VirtualBox dweller
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • Karma: 0
  • LOAD "FF2J",8,1
    • View Profile
Square really ought to license your work for re-integration into the main trees for future re-releases!!   8-)

iDerek759

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
I gotta say, these look great satsuki!   :)

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
@Yuffie1983
It's finished, you have the downloads links in the first post

@adol125
I added a "how to" in the first post

@LordUrQuan and iDerek759
Thanks

adol125

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
it means, i cant use because of translation patch :D

Ravoz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Satsuki, thanks much for providing this. You did an incredible job! These fields and videos are beautiful! I'm sure it took an incredible amount of time to complete these, thank you! This is the remastered FF7 I've been wanting!

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Why can't you ?

LordUrQuan

  • VirtualBox dweller
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • Karma: 0
  • LOAD "FF2J",8,1
    • View Profile
satsuki, could you post a SHA-256 for these?  I'm a little surprised mediafire doesn't do that automatically.

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
satsuki, could you post a SHA-256 for these?  I'm a little surprised mediafire doesn't do that automatically.
I'll do it as soon as i'm home, but with 7-zip if the file is corrupted you can't do a full extraction properly

LordUrQuan

  • VirtualBox dweller
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 323
  • Karma: 0
  • LOAD "FF2J",8,1
    • View Profile
I'll do it as soon as i'm home, but with 7-zip if the file is corrupted you can't do a full extraction properly
Ah!  I wasn't aware that 7zip had that bit of built-in verification :)  No worries, then.

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
I added checksum if needed ^^

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2411
  • Karma: 149
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Awesome job! One complain from my side, the effects for the Highwind looks wrong.

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Awesome job! One complain from my side, the effects for the Highwind looks wrong.
You mean in the world map ?
If it's in the world map, the aali driver don't do great with alpha channel on the effects so the flammes of the reactor of the highwind looks "solid" (i don't know if a better solution is possible)

Could you post a screenshot or video ?


iDerek759

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
I found another texture bug for ya satsuki.

https://i.imgur.com/sSzhuP8.jpg

The ambient lighting around the sample pod stays consistent instead of fading down low like it usually does.

BahamutSIN

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Possibly one of the most exciting FFVII developments since the Remake announcement. Thank you for sharing this.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2411
  • Karma: 149
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
I found another texture bug for ya satsuki.

https://i.imgur.com/sSzhuP8.jpg

The ambient lighting around the sample pod stays consistent instead of fading down low like it usually does.

Sadly the lightlayer can't be replaced without to break the light animations.

iDerek759

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 6
    • View Profile
Sadly the lightlayer can't be replaced without to break the light animations.

Aww, well that's a bummer... oh well.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9679
  • Karma: 314
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
I've had a look at them and honestly I'm not impressed.  The detail has been obliterated. I'm looking at the Gold Saucer fields at 1280 * 960 and the look is very plastic and smooth.  It's again traded one problem (blockiness) for another (super smooth).

My own solution using scanlines on the originals is actually better. 

I appreciate the monumental time and effort, but this isn't to my taste in any case.  Unless I am doing something wrong.

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: 51
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
@iDerek759
As said Kaldarasha it's driver related.
I removed these bugged texture from my pack, i gess you just overwrited your old texture instead of deleting the olds one then copy.
Remove all your old field folder before copying my file ^^

@DLPB
The gold saucer is realy low quality in original game with lots of limited palette color use, so i needed to eavily filter to make it consistant with the other fields of the game.
If ff7 most of field are well upscaled with esrgan with realy low to no filter at all, but some of the files (mainly in the gold saucer, the blin and some isolated files) need realy eavy filter to not look too blocky.
Some of the worst fields to upscale was blin 1 to 3, most of the gold saucer, the kuro8, the colne2 ... i think about 90% of the game looking great with this pack, 7%/8% looking ok, and 2%/3% not as good as i want to (and i tried about 20 method/mixed layer/hand editing.. for those fields).
If you try the game and not some random screen you'll see it's better than scanlines (i tried lots of scanline and overlay stuff (i realy love using mame with the advanced crt shaders) while playing ff7 and i think my current pack is realy better)
But it's true than any upscale method will (one or more)
-Add artificial texture (that's mainly the way gigapixel works)
-Add false lines (can appens with some IA model)
-Looks like oil painting (mostly with some noise filtering method)
-Remove small details that your own eyes can "gess" from and untouched blocky source
-Shift more or less colors or alignment
-give a smooth or oversharped look (mostly with some noise filtering method)
-...
ATM no uspcale nor downscale will give a perfect look of the source, i tried to give the most constant and natural render to the game, i like my works, but anyone will have is own opinion, if you don't like it or another method looks better to your taste, just use your favorite method ^^
« Last Edit: 2019-03-03 15:41:47 by satsuki »

opengrip

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Sadly the lightlayer can't be replaced without to break the light animations.

I've had this same issue but I also managed to do a pack and have this light layer work properly... not 100% sure how I did it at the time though... I'll be testing a new pack soon so I'll let you know if its working for me or not

opengrip

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
I've had a look at them and honestly I'm not impressed.  The detail has been obliterated. I'm looking at the Gold Saucer fields at 1280 * 960 and the look is very plastic and smooth.  It's again traded one problem (blockiness) for another (super smooth).

My own solution using scanlines on the originals is actually better. 

I appreciate the monumental time and effort, but this isn't to my taste in any case.  Unless I am doing something wrong.

I do get what you are saying but overall I think satsuki's work looks amazing and is a huge improvement over the originals. This being said after doing some comparison shots with the pack i'm working on now, mine will lean a bit more towards the detail side and less smoothing/smudging/masking etc in comparison. As Satsuki said though the fields are inconsistent so having more detail in my pack will look better for some fields and worse for others. The early blins are really hard to make look good regardless. Its crazy how some of the original fields are beautifully painted and almost look lifelike (icedun) with detail and others are so low quality in comparison. When it was all downscaled it was harder to tell i guess.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2411
  • Karma: 149
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
I tested a PNG file which has no edits and was exactly the same as the source and it didn't work. So the pallet isn't the only problem but the PNG format itself.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9679
  • Karma: 314
  • For I realized that God's a young man, too.
    • View Profile
I prefer the old blockiness to be honest (with the heavily filtered areas).  However, when adding scanline effect to these upscales - you actually get the best of both worlds and it looks a LOT better.

Observe (open in full size):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ij_qS6q-xwY2FDdeKvRWaa7IH8OBH_7W/view?usp=sharing

It masks the plastic effect and the bad smoothed areas - your brain fills in the detail. I am not sure if the same is true generally of upscales.