Author Topic: [FF7PC]FF7 SYW V3 upscale: Battle, world map, fields and videos (Final relesase)  (Read 20926 times)

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Alright, I only added one feature to the final edit by Satsuki, which I'm currently testing out for others to use (Char ONLY option tested and working so far with OGFields, Remako, & Ark)

The option only turns on just the /char folder, in case someone wants to use other field map mods which don't have any of these smoother /char folder edits..



Link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1E3CB4hX434m9krBEVA9CCQsVPIfIQg4V

Other community .iro alter if missed: "All I did was take apart the World_Textures_2.0 .iro, added your updates and repackaged it exactly the same (when you go into the options you can choose your new updated world maps or the other choices, all still there)



(Updated version link) I added all of Satsuki's fixes and then found a few missing from Grimmy and added them in as well for those using 7th Heaven with the community world texture .iro, enjoy. :)

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CG8Ggr8uO9wb8XXyZhQWhR1US5O64raN
« Last Edit: 2019-05-06 08:20:42 by tracido »

Shino

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Hallo,

i love your work *-* it looks so awesome.

Can you make 2 Videos with the German Videos?

Thank you :)

Greetz
Shino

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: 55
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
I have no plan so far to do no french version of the videos, but at least for the ending you can take my video, crop the black borders (witch contain texts) than add new black borders and add your subs.

Shino

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Okay,

how did you edit the Video?
i can't open the files for editing.

or can you explain how you upscale the video, than i can make this 2 videos.
I can´t find anything how this work.

greetz
Shino
« Last Edit: 2019-04-25 18:41:34 by Shino »

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: 55
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Quote
or can you explain how you upscale the video, than i can make this 2 videos.
Realy complex processing with at least 4 or 5 tools, some home made and witch only work in my computer environment (with dependcies, specific cpu and gpu ...)

Quote
how did you edit the Video
Try virtualdub2 it's doing this in an easy way, or go fro avisynth (thats the way i edit my video but not realy easy to handle)

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Realy complex processing with at least 4 or 5 tools, some home made and witch only work in my computer environment (with dependcies, specific cpu and gpu ...)
Try virtualdub2 it's doing this in an easy way, or go fro avisynth (thats the way i edit my video but not realy easy to handle)

Nice. Yeah, I'm still blown away by the work you've done on the videos, I even dropped my AC Blu-Ray bits I'd added, just because your work was so impressive.

Shino

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Realy complex processing with at least 4 or 5 tools, some home made and witch only work in my computer environment (with dependcies, specific cpu and gpu ...)
Try virtualdub2 it's doing this in an easy way, or go fro avisynth (thats the way i edit my video but not realy easy to handle)

Thank you :) i will try this.

Manakaiser

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile

or can you explain how you upscale the video, than i can make this 2 videos.
I can´t find anything how this work.


Upscaling videos really is fairly straight forward.

Use ffmpeg to split the individual frames from a video
Optionally/depending on the source: remove compression artefacts with the batch method of your choice; Use ESRGAN/gigapixel to scale
Use ffmpeg to recombine audio and images.

Its very simple with ffmpeg:

   ffmpeg -i video.video $filename%03d.png -hide_banner (splitting)
   ESRGAN/gigapixel
   ffmpeg -framerate 30(or whatever you want) -i '%3d.png' -b:v 6393K video.mp4 (recombining to video)
   ffmpeg  -i video.mp4 -i audio.audio -shortest -c:v copy  videoplusaudio.mp4 (adding audio)

Theres an all in one script for esrgan video scaling too but its alot slower and limits your options to remove compression unless your have a proper interpolated  or trained model that can handle it and still give you statisfactory results on the scaling itself. Like ALOT slower. Ubearably slow!

But if you prefer that:
https://pastebin.com/EFghprz7
« Last Edit: 2019-04-26 09:42:48 by Manakaiser »

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Upscaling videos really is fairly straight forward.

Use ffmpeg to split the individual frames from a video
Optionally/depending on the source: remove compression artefacts with the batch method of your choice; Use ESRGAN/gigapixel to scale
Use ffmpeg to recombine audio and images.

Its very simple with ffmpeg:

   ffmpeg -i video.video $filename%03d.png -hide_banner (splitting)
   ESRGAN/gigapixel
   ffmpeg -framerate 30(or whatever you want) -i '%3d.png' -b:v 6393K video.mp4 (recombining to video)
   ffmpeg  -i video.mp4 -i audio.audio -shortest -c:v copy  videoplusaudio.mp4 (adding audio)

Theres an all in one script for esrgan video scaling too but its alot slower and limits your options to remove compression unless your have a proper interpolated  or trained model that can handle it and still give you statisfactory results on the scaling itself. Like ALOT slower. Ubearably slow!

But if you prefer that:
https://pastebin.com/EFghprz7

I may do this as I just got an FMV in French and I can't translate, so I may have to get this down..

Had no idea what was being said without voice in a scene already, so I'll just put back in the Advent Children scenes I had with English & Toshiba DVD enhanced which look better overall for now..
« Last Edit: 2019-04-27 09:47:01 by tracido »

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile


Added another option at the choice menu in this community mod, which combines the best looking of the new and satsuki's better upscaled & undone parts in some sections.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CG8Ggr8uO9wb8XXyZhQWhR1US5O64raN
« Last Edit: 2019-05-05 18:04:52 by tracido »

LeOsTyLe

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Awesome work. I play it with New Threat and Chaos Mod. Looks beautiful. First i wanted to wait till Remako Mod did Battles and World Map, but i just saw someone else (you) already did the work^^ Well done.

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Hello Tracido, thx for the sharing, awesome world texture with thoose combines ! ^^, are you plan to do the same with the field texture and the battle texture?

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Hello Tracido, thx for the sharing, awesome world texture with thoose combines ! ^^, are you plan to do the same with the field texture and the battle texture?

I did, just scroll up and one page back. ;) You can even mix the fixes from Satsuki from his /char folder for the 3d parts of the 2d backgrounds, with any other field mod for the 2d backgrounds.

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
oh got it thx

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
oh got it thx

Don't forget to check out the new magic's from Kela51 I added to the community mod for Spell Textures.. Good luck and enjoy.

levantine

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
already got it but thx ;)

tracido

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
already got it but thx ;)

Ohhh, oh, I figured out what you meant, so I went ahead and combined the updates for satsuki into the community battle .iro & added the three files from satsuki missing from the new combination..

There is no community background field mod, but they are big files, and putting together .iro's too large can cause issues.. Another reminder, I work with a killer beast of a system, near 32GB of RAM free for code injection, so some may not even be able to run as many as I do. So putting them all together, I wouldn't suggest it.

However, test this to make sure it is working, I'm doing that now.



https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Q8i23WUxVZIfHGa-qM0EpLeDUO5FUmrA
« Last Edit: 2019-05-11 13:31:53 by tracido »

sylandro

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I've found that there are some issues with transparency in the world upscale. For example, the Chocobo's dust trail when it runs and the Highwind's exhaust smoke look weird in comparison to the original version. Everything else looks pretty good though!

joca.bt

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
For the magic i'm correcting the Kela51's one (not 100% done but he'll or i'll release the corrected version after that) : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=18425.0

Have you been able to finish the work on this? Will there be a release?

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: 55
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
If Kela's dont i will

Kuraudo.

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: 3
  • Panta rei
    • View Profile
Hi Satsuki, thanks for the many updates and passion you are putting here.

Would like to ask you which are the most low-quality background from the OG among all? (apart from Gold Saucer)

And if you create a deadline for yourself for V4?

Cheers,
Kuraudo

satsuki

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: 55
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
No deadline for v4, need lots of time to get it where i want.
There's some realy low quality fields in ff7 but the worsts are probably the game_2, jtemplb and mtcrl_9

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 9829
  • Karma: 313
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Luckily, with your pack + scan lines, even the bad ones look amazing.

GregOli

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Hey guys! Big noob question here. I'm modding my game a bit for my first playthrough (late to the party, I know).
I'm trying to keep things as close to vanilla as possible while still improving them, So I'm using The Reunion r05c (Menu, retranslation and 60fps Battles), Mxster's Chibi Reconstruction V1.6, Bloodshot's FF7 Re-animated, 0.1 and Bynyl's FF7 Soundtrack Remake.

Is there any way i can use this mod without downgrading the game to the 98 version? I'm using the Steam version and this seems to be the only mod on my list that requires it.
« Last Edit: 2019-06-25 20:49:14 by GregOli »

AssailantLF

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Is there any way i can use this mod without downgrading the game to the 98 version? I'm using the Steam version and this seems to be the only mod on my list that requires it.

I'm not sure that is possible, pretty sure it's necessary for both Reunion and 7th Heaven to be converted, but I'm new so I might be unaware of a workaround.

What is the particular reason you don't want to use the 98 version? I don't think there's any loss of quality or features (besides the quit menu option), if that's your concern.