Author Topic: Postprocess fail & "Something very bad happened" crash  (Read 332 times)

Code-E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
This is my first time modding FF7 so I've probably done SOMEthing wrong, but I just can't work it out. I've already tried saving a file to all 10 save slots, which didn't work for me.
I fixed a crash on startup and have been looking around for a different solution to this for about an hour with no luck.

Quick rundown on my laptop:
Win10
Intel Core i5
8GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce 940M

Let me know if there's anything else I need to include and thanks for any help!

The Crash.dmp file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hvlMb97epe7okkXun2J7Bx9uaPssh9JG/view?usp=sharing (hopefully this works, I don't send files with Google Drive very often)

Here's the contents of the APP file:

Code: [Select]
[00000000] INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.8.1b
[00000000] INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
[00000000] INFO: Intel Intel(R) HD Graphics 520 4.4.0 - Build 21.20.16.4599
[00000000] INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
[00000000] INFO: Using PBO
[00000000] INFO: Found swap_control extension
[00000000] INFO: Max texture size: 16384x16384
[00000000] INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1920x1080, output resolution 1440x1080, internal resolution 3840x2160
[00000000] INFO: Shader limits: varying 64, vert uniform 4096, frag uniform 4096
[00000000] INFO: postprocessing program link log:
Fragment shader contains a user varying, but is linked without a vertex shader.
Out of resource error.

[00000000] : init_postprocessing failed, postprocessing will be disabled
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r25886, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
[00000000] INFO: VGMStream music plugin loaded
[00000000] INFO: Loading external library Multi.dll
[00000000] LOCK UNLOCK TEST
[00000001] MATRIX INITIALIZE
[00000001] INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
[00000001] initializing sound...
[00000001] creating dsound primary buffer
[00000001] reading audio file
[00000001] loading static sounds
[00000001] sound initialized
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] set music volume: 127
[00000001] Entering MAIN
[00000001] Exiting MAIN
[00000001] START OF CREDITS!!!
[00000001] INFO: C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII\data\movies\eidoslogo.avi; vp8/vorbis 1280x960, 30.000000 FPS, duration: 11.133000, frames: 334
[00000213] set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
[00000278] END OF CREDITS!!!
[00000278] Entering MAIN
[00000278] set music volume: 127
[00000278] Exiting MAIN
[00000278] START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
[00000278] : unhandled exception

The Profile Details (I'm only trying to use one mod right now):

Code: [Select]
Remako_HD_Graphics_Mod_BETA_0.1
ID: 5c89adb2-66b9-41c9-b6f0-b04183215f04
Version: 1.0
field_bg = 1

FF7_GC.log:

Code: [Select]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FF7 GameConverter, Version 7th Heaven
Creator: Kompass63
Editor: EQ2Alyza

Start running at    Date: Wed 05/01/2019    Time: 14:55:10.04
Active code page: 437
ActualPath C:\Users\cwbla\AppData\Local\Temp\7ZipSfx.000


You are running "Windows 10 Home" on a 64 Bit Operating System (AMD64)

Real Management 32Bit WOW64

This patch is not yet applied.


Installation path found at...

""

If an installation path IS found, press ENTER.

If an installation path IN NOT found, TYPE IT IN and press ENTER.

EXAMPLE: "C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII" (parenthesis included)

corrected manual input FF7_new_Path "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII"



Installation Path = C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII

WARNING: Game is installed in a system folder...
This can potentially cause some modding errors...

Copy game files over to C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII?
YES
Copying game files to C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII

Patching...

Copying Registry Keys...

Setting GC Registry Keys...

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\GameConverterkeys


Setting language to en...

Detecting drive letter for FF7 Discs...

Drive letter for FF7DISC1 --- D:\

Movies path found at...

"C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII\data\movies\"

Backing up files to be modified...

Backing up more files to be modified...

Copying English Files...

Copying 1.02 patch for ff7.exe...

Copying Aali's Custom Driver, version 0.8.1b...

Moving OGG music files...

Adding more Registry Keys...
Adding Registry Keys to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
Adding Registry Keys to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Graphics
Adding Registry Keys to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\MIDI
Adding Registry Keys to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\1.00\Sound
Adding Registry Key to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\FF7app.exe

Please check over the settings for FF7Config...

1) Sound tab should have a Sound device set. Do NOT leave it blank.
2) Perform the Sound and MIDI tests.
3) Graphics tab can be ignored.
4) Click OK when finished.

Inserting Multi.dll, Hext.dll, and Languagefile...

Patching FF7anyCDv2...

Install the Laptop Keyboard Patch?
(Choose YES if keyboard does NOT have a NUMPAD)
NO

Patching complete.

Check FF7_GC.log for details.


called with ""C:\Users\cwbla\AppData\Local\Temp\7ZipSfx.000\FF7_GameConverter_7H.bat""
Arguments: "C:\Users\cwbla\AppData\Local\Temp\7ZipSfx.000\FF7_GameConverter_7H.bat"

PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE:          x86
PROCESSOR_ARCHITEW6432:          AMD64
Actual Path:                     C:\Users\cwbla\AppData\Local\Temp\7ZipSfx.000
Product Name:                    Windows 10 Home
Architecture:                    AMD64
Running in Modus                 32Bit WOW64
OS Bit Version                   64
Reg-Keyname Steam                HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Steam App 39140
Reg-Keyname Re-Release           HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{141B8BA9-BFFD-4635-AF64-078E31010EC3}_is1
Reg-Keyname 1                    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.
Reg-Keyname 2                    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\FF7app.exe
Reg-Keyname 3                    HKCU\SOFTWARE\Classes\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Square Soft, Inc.
Steam Release is present:        Yes
Steam Release Path:               
Re-Release is present:           
Re-Release Path:                 
Original Release is present:     
Original Release Path:           
Destination Path:                C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII
Source Path:                     C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII
Videos Path:                     C:\Games\Final Fantasy VII\data\movies
Original Videos Path:             
Original Language                en
Converted Language               en
Original Drive Letter:           
Converted Drive Letter:          D:\
and now clear up Variables...
Ending at           Date: Wed 05/01/2019    Time: 14:57:26.15



paladin181

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 109
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Postprocess fail & "Something very bad happened" crash
« Reply #1 on: 2019-05-02 23:10:16 »
You need to properly apply the GC patch

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3075
  • Karma: 213
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Postprocess fail & "Something very bad happened" crash
« Reply #2 on: 2019-05-02 23:48:28 »
Before using the GC again, go into the Nvidia Control Panel and force ff7.exe to use your 940M GPU. Report back if the game at least launches, and we'll go from there.

Code-E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Postprocess fail & "Something very bad happened" crash
« Reply #3 on: 2019-05-03 00:24:51 »
Before using the GC again, go into the Nvidia Control Panel and force ff7.exe to use your 940M GPU. Report back if the game at least launches, and we'll go from there.

I forgot that on a laptop you have to specify some things to use the GPU. That fixed the postprocessing error, but it's still crashing after the Eidos intro.
I can try applying the Game Converter again if that's the problem.

Quick Edit: I've tried reapplying the Game Converter but it doesn't seem to have fixed anything
« Last Edit: 2019-05-03 00:34:18 by Code-E »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3075
  • Karma: 213
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Postprocess fail & "Something very bad happened" crash
« Reply #4 on: 2019-05-03 10:03:13 »
Do a fresh install: http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=16538.0 --- 5th one has the directions

When you run the GC on the fresh install, try applying it to the original directory (C:\Program Files x86\...). I'm not confident the copy option always works.