Author Topic: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)  (Read 12709 times)

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
« on: 2019-05-07 19:43:42 »
Hello.
Here's a very simple speedhack for ff7 generated with cheatengine.
It'll works as long as your ff7 exe is named ff7.exe (all languages version will works)

You need to launch this small exe after ff7

the use is realy basic:
-F11 = enable / desable speed hack / slow down
-F10 = Set Slowdown (x0.75,x0.50,x0.25 then go back to x0.75)
-F12 = Set speedhack (from 2x to 32x then go back to 2x)



http://wowsatsuki.free.fr/FF7.Spdhck.v2.7z
« Last Edit: 2020-03-13 19:20:47 by satsuki »

themanchino

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #1 on: 2019-06-02 04:35:57 »
Hey, this sounds great, but it's not working for me, I don't know why. My exe is called ffvii_en.exe and I don't know how to change it, can you help me please? I'm running the steam version of the game.

Thanks!

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #2 on: 2019-06-02 09:57:37 »
it'll work only if your ff7 exe is named ff7.exe

LeOsTyLe

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #3 on: 2019-06-13 20:04:16 »
Amazing tool. And the music dont speed up like in the Super Nintendo Emulators, well done. Good for rushing through the story and farming weak monsters.

unab0mb

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
    • 7th Heaven Web Site
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #4 on: 2020-01-04 17:08:35 »
Satsuki, what an awesome tool! I sent you a DM in Discord with a couple of questions. Looks like you are on the forums more than the Discord. Awaiting your reply and thank you.

AndyPandy

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #5 on: 2020-01-21 17:35:38 »
Hi, No matter what I do to add this application to the exceptions list, my antivirus (bit defender) keeps on blocking it from running. is this really a virus?

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #6 on: 2020-01-22 06:15:30 »
Not a virus but it's using opengl hack  to works (cheatengine), so some antivirus detect it as a virus

magitek

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #7 on: 2020-01-29 17:42:29 »
It won't work on the steam version? I tried to rename ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe and it gives me errors. Even if I don't rename, it won't run without the launcher.

Is there a way to modify it to work on ff7_en.exe? Or at least releasing this as a cheat table to use on CE. If using vsync will it be limited to 60fps? Thanks!
« Last Edit: 2020-01-29 17:44:22 by magitek »

NFITC1

  • *
  • Posts: 2937
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #8 on: 2020-01-29 17:51:26 »
What is this doing? Reducing the cycle-waiting time between frame redraws or actually optimizing some of the graphic function calls?

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #9 on: 2020-01-29 18:56:57 »
@magitek
It's working on steam version last time i tested it (as long as the exe is named ff7.exe), do you launch the speedhack as admin ?
If the vsync is used, it's limited to 60 fps.
If you want you can do it with cheatengine out of box, just use the speedhack feature of CE
here's my CE script for this tool :
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CheatTable CheatEngineTableVersion="28">
  <CheatEntries/>
  <UserdefinedSymbols/>
  <LuaScript>strings_add(getAutoAttachList(), "ff7.exe");
  lastSpeed = 2;
  lastspdhack = 1;
 
function togglesh()
  if lastSpeed == 64 then
    lastSpeed = 2;
  else
lastSpeed = lastSpeed + lastSpeed;
  end
  speedhack_setSpeed(lastSpeed);
  lastspdhack = 0;
  sleep(100);
end
 
function disblesph()
  if lastspdhack == 0 then
speedhack_setSpeed(1);
    lastspdhack = 1;
    sleep(100);
  else
speedhack_setSpeed(lastSpeed);
    lastspdhack = 0;
    sleep(100);
  end
end
  createHotkey("disblesph",VK_F11);
  createHotkey("togglesh",VK_F12);
</LuaScript>
</CheatTable>

@NFITC1
It's just using cheatengine speedhack feature ^^ (with keyboard shortcuts)

magitek

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #10 on: 2020-01-29 20:09:43 »
Thanks a lot for the script!

I couldn't even use your program, because if I rename the ff7_en.exe to ff7.exe, the game won't launch.

The problem is that without vsync, there's screen tearing all over here and with vsync on there won't be a speed difference if using the 60fps battle mod.

I don't know how some trainers do it with other games, maybe using a frameskip option.


Mijin

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #11 on: 2020-03-08 14:35:29 »
I wish there was some way to get this to recognize controller buttons. I tried remapping a button to F11 through JoyToKey, but it won't recognize any input while the game's running. I stream the game through my phone, so I'm out of luck. I wonder if I could find some way to make a clickable on-screen button for this.

Rashaken

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #12 on: 2020-03-10 21:57:29 »
Starting getting a virus error when using this mod, not getting any warnings from my antivirus but, it wont launch while this mod is active. Went down the mod list launching, this is the only mod that popped the error.


15:53:17|ERROR|SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher|System.IO.IOException: Operation did not complete successfully because the file contains a virus or potentially unwanted software.

   at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
   at System.IO.FileStream.Init(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, Int32 rights, Boolean useRights, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, SECURITY_ATTRIBUTES secAttrs, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy, Boolean useLongPath, Boolean checkHost)
   at System.IO.FileStream..ctor(String path, FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share, Int32 bufferSize, FileOptions options, String msgPath, Boolean bFromProxy, Boolean useLongPath, Boolean checkHost)
   at System.IO.File.InternalReadAllBytes(String path, Boolean checkHost)
   at _7thWrapperLib.RuntimeMod.GetLoadPrograms()
   at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher.LaunchProgramsForMod(RuntimeMod mod)
   at SeventhHeaven.Classes.GameLauncher.LaunchGame(Boolean varDump, Boolean debug, Boolean launchWithNoMods)


satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #13 on: 2020-03-11 06:53:39 »
It's a 7h error, report it to 7h forum.
This hack use cheatengine witch does code injection so most of antivirus state it as a virus but its a false positive, just add it to the av exception

Rashaken

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #14 on: 2020-03-12 01:47:04 »
my antivirus isnt the one showing it as an issue, its the mod itself. I've been using it for awhile and it only started giving me this error yesterday. I've also use CE to speedhack the game (since your mod is showing this issue) and im not having the issue with CE itself.

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #15 on: 2020-03-12 06:42:31 »
So report it to 7h support

unab0mb

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
    • 7th Heaven Web Site
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #16 on: 2020-03-12 07:03:59 »
This isn't a 7H problem either. The system is blocking the execution of the speed hack. 7H is just attempting to launch it, but problem is on the system. For whatever reason, it thinks it's a virus or potentially unwanted program. You would have to add it to your exceptions list in your antivirus.

Chrysalis

  • *
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #17 on: 2020-03-12 08:43:56 »
satsuki is it possible to implement slowdown as well as speedup since it uses CE stuff?

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #18 on: 2020-03-12 11:22:03 »
Yes bu why ?

genesis063

  • *
  • Posts: 614
  • Self proclaimed number 1 Sephiroth fanboy
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #19 on: 2020-03-13 06:50:12 »
Not sure if anyone else experiences this but I get a crash when talking to people.  Probably need to turn it off when I talk to people.  I am using the 7h version FYI.

Edit: So good news the mods is not to blame thankfully just need to pinpoint which one it is.
« Last Edit: 2020-03-13 07:46:58 by genesis063 »

Chrysalis

  • *
  • Posts: 321
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #20 on: 2020-03-13 08:02:02 »
just to help in some debugging, I can do it via cheat engine, but a hotkey would be easier.  But no biggie if cant be implemented.

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #21 on: 2020-03-13 12:28:21 »
@genesis063
No crash on talking, can you try the genuine exe ?

@Chrysalis
Ok, i'll do this asap (in some hours after my works)

zeldagirl

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #22 on: 2020-03-13 14:02:42 »
Where can I find this ? Great work.. Kisses

unab0mb

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • *
  • Posts: 384
    • View Profile
    • 7th Heaven Web Site
Re: Simple speedhack for FF7
« Reply #23 on: 2020-03-13 18:42:38 »
@genesis063
No crash on talking, can you try the genuine exe ?
The "7h version" is your genuine exe. It is not modified in any way. It's only put in an iro that 7h opens on game launch. The likely cause of dialog issues would be other mods, not the speed hack.

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: Simple speedhack/slowdown for FF7 (v2)
« Reply #24 on: 2020-03-13 19:22:43 »
V2 up in first post, added slowdown with F10 (0.75x,0.5x,0.25x then 0.75 again)
The F11 to enable/diasble seedhack keep the last used hack speed (slowdown or speedup) so if you put a slowdown of 0.5 for exemple, F11 will toogle between 0.5x and 1x