Author Topic: Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8  (Read 5551 times)

J*** H*******

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« on: 2001-03-22 02:28:00 »
Message.

The SaiNt

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #1 on: 2001-03-22 10:20:00 »
AFAIK, the enabled 8 bit textures thing is only a form of emulation.
Early TNT drivers for ASUS had ways to enable 8 bit palleted textures but they either caused FF7 to display corrupted ones or make it not load at all.

The X-Ray vision thing is also an implementation of the ASUS cards. It's called the ASUS See-Through driver I think. It's a super stupid driver that can make wall textures and such transparent so you will supposedly gain an advantage in those games like Half life since you can see people hiding behind the walls.


Sir Canealot

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #2 on: 2001-03-22 20:00:00 »
ROFL!

Lol how brilliant!


M0T

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 991
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #3 on: 2001-03-23 01:16:00 »
Oh come on, half life wasnt hard enough to need seeing through walls to complete.

J*** H*******

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #4 on: 2001-03-23 02:43:00 »
Message.

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #5 on: 2001-03-27 08:03:00 »
So..FF8 doesn't work without glitches on the beta drivers.

I just got/built a new computer. MSI K7T-Turbo-R with, 1.2Gig Athlon 266FSB chip, 2 30gig IBM HD running in Raid 0. And a 175 Dollar 64 meg Geforce Pro 2 (MSI brand). And I can't get that card to work with FF8. Well, it did work with DirectX6.1a and the Det. 6.31. but after a while the textures would all vanish and the Direct 3d would deactivate (about 15 to 30 minutes) figured it was the 6.1a driver so I went to 7.0a. And that's when the graphics did that misalign thing. Tried every number on that text alignment and none would fix it.  I then went to 8.0a and still no go....
The game doesn't look too bad in Softwaremode. But now I'm going to put my old 8meg V2 in, and see if it will do the job.


TongitzKing

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #6 on: 2001-03-27 08:13:00 »
Maybe this might fix it maybe not.  Well did you try the Geforce patch for it?  

windcloud

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #7 on: 2001-03-27 08:16:00 »
I can't help you... but the screen shots are funny...

The Skillster

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2284
  • Karma: 3
  • Loving every Final Fantasy
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #8 on: 2001-03-27 19:29:00 »
i think new detonators (11.01) r out go find em!

J*** H*******

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #9 on: 2001-03-28 02:27:00 »
Message.

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #10 on: 2001-03-28 16:38:00 »
Well I have both installed and still i get the grid lines....I'm beginning to think that the Card I bought is defective....

Also I couldn't get the V2 going... I think I got some kind of hardware conflict from the Microstar Geforce Card.

I think maybe the texture alignment doesn't work on this generic card. It just switches between two different settings, it seems. All the odd numbers are close to good  and all the even number are truly messed up. There is no visial diffences between the odd numbers as well as all the even numbers. (1,3,4,7 all look the same, 0,2,4,6 all look the same)

If I ever get it fixed, I'll post it. (I wonder if Im really downloading the Geforce patch....I DL one from 3dfiles and the other from the messed up site of EA.
FF8Sqeanvpatch.zip

Funny thing is, I have the non Geforce version patch too (got it from EA). And comparing the two zip files (between 3dfiles and EA)...I see almost no difference. The files are the same size down to the last byte. The strange thing is that the Geforce patch I downloaded from EA shows the date to be 4/7/00 and the one from 3dfiles says 4/6/00 for FF8.exe. Both have the same time of 4:48PM. I think that's strange. If the bytes weren't the same I would have guessed that one was a virus.

Where is a reliable site that will give me the Geforce version if the above sites are truly listing the wrong version.....can someone verify the Download at either EA or 3dfiles?

I'm beginning to think that I should have just spent the extra 150 dollars for that Elsa Card.

[This message has been edited by Threesixty (edited March 28, 2001).]


Anonymous

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #11 on: 2001-03-28 05:35:00 »
Message.

The SaiNt

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1302
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #12 on: 2001-03-28 06:54:00 »
3D Mark 2001 us out to kill everyone's PC!
I get really low scores on it  :(

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #13 on: 2001-03-28 08:22:00 »
Thanx Jari, for all your help (and everyone else here).

I think I figured out what happened.
It's a long story, and I imagine when you finish reading the fresh threads here, you'll read this story :).


First of all, the EA's Geforce patch is either wrong...or I clicked the wrong one. (I'm positive that I click on the correct one)

When I finally Ironed out all the conflicts on this freshly built computer took a good 24 hours to do. (Via kt133a and the Raid 0 were fussy....mainly because of the Raid. The only thing I have on the IDE part is my CDRW....anyway) I installed FF8. After playing it with a 200mmx for a year, I wanted to see the movies and battles in it's full glory. Win98SE put DirectX6.1a on the system...I put in the MSI manufacture Drivers in; they are based off the 6.31 D3, it seems. I Downloaded the Geforce patch from 3dfiles. It was fine, no grid lines, at all. As a matter a fact, I still didn't know what the grid lines were, at that point. But I had another problem, the textures would disappear after awhile. I would see nothing but white and the game would bog down. So I found the Nvidia site and downloaded the latest legal drivers 6.50, but the problem was still there.

The next day, I thought maybe I got a bad download on the Geforce patch. So I went to the source of EA, and got it there. Installed it, at the same time (big mistake) I downloaded  http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?ReleaseID=16819" TARGET=_blank>DirectX7.0a  from Microsoft. And installed them both. The whiteouts stopped, but the gridlines made their appearence. I played with the texture alignment all that day.

The next day Downloaded 8.0a during lunch break...left the computer and connection going while I was at work. Came back installed DX8 (didn't work) and Played with the Texture alignments, anti-aliasing, and driver versions 6.31 and 6.50 and made the post here and at Eidos Board.

Today....surfed the web came here first. Pondered about the Geforce problem, and the event's I did in the past. Decided the problem was probably related to the patch and EA. Continued Surfing, while downloading the Geforce patch from Adrenaline Vault. Couple of hours ago, installed the Vault version of the patch. Grid lines still there.....Last ditch attempt: I remembered that the MSI Drivers were loaded, so I reloaded the Nvidia's 6.5 (my video out is now disabled, but I'm don't use it anyway). And wouldn't you know it.....No more white outs, and more importantly, no more grid lines.

To sum it up: Download the patch from  http://srd.yahoo.com/goo/final+fantasy+8+patch/3/*http://www.avault.com/pcrl/patches_temp.asp?patch=ff8" TARGET=_blank>Adrenaline Vault  and use the 6.50 Nvidia D-3 Drivers.

I knew I would solve it eventualy....well... I was going to give up if those Drivers didn't do anything. Lucky me.

Next goal: FF7 and Geforce. LOL.


Anonymous

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #14 on: 2001-03-28 23:55:00 »
Message.

h2opoloplyr_11

  • Guest
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #15 on: 2002-02-10 21:34:00 »
ok... i have 64mb geforce2 mx 400 and have the same problem. i read that 12.41 drivers will fix the problem, and it did. ff7 and ff8 now works fine.

ff8 is a little bit slow and laggy, does any one know how i can fix this?

Sukaeto

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 570
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Sukaeto's web server
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #16 on: 2002-02-12 02:18:00 »
Damn . . . this is an old topic.  Perhaps a mod should close it, since it really didn't need to be revived.

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #17 on: 2002-02-15 06:32:00 »
Heh....I find my story hard to follow.....has it been a year already?

CKtalon

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ffrc.cjb.net
Detonator 11.00, RivaTuner and FF7/8
« Reply #18 on: 2002-02-16 04:02:00 »
Anyone tried the 27xx drivers?