Author Topic: FFVII laptop problem  (Read 10005 times)

spot1

  • Guest
FFVII laptop problem
« on: 2005-05-13 09:12:44 »
First off hi all!

my problem is i just got a hand-me-down laptop so i figured i'd put FFVII on it so i could play it on the way home from university.  So i installed everything and it all works fine the only prob is that the controls don't work.  I've tried copying a saved game with the controls changed from my pc version but i can't even load that as the cursor won't move on the first screen.  Any ideas??

Nanaki

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #1 on: 2005-05-13 10:08:41 »
Welcome to the boards
(sorry i cant help just the welcome wagon)

Undesirable Too

  • Guest
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #2 on: 2005-05-13 10:11:13 »
In case you didn't already know, the numeric keypad is used by default to control the game. This may prove to be a problem on laptops. You might wanna try copying the ff7input.cfg file across from your PC to the laptop, rather than the save game.

ice_cold513

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #3 on: 2005-05-13 10:45:58 »
well look on the laptop for [Fu] button some time. Down on the left by the Ctrl hold the Fu down. I think you use jkliyuo them 1's and then pick new 1s so you dont have to hold the fu down.i might not have the right buttons to press down but it by H J K

RPGillespie

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 427
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/rpgillespie6
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #4 on: 2005-05-13 13:07:34 »
Here's what I did on my laptop:

I first installed the "ff7 input patch" (If you don't have it download it from google) to same directory ff7.exe was in (This is essential becase laptops dont have num keypad).  Then I hooked in a gamecontroller (Joysticks work too) via usb (pin sockets work too). You may have to borrow one, etc. The game automatically detects the controller and it works sweet. I used the gamecontroller to set my keyboard to the keys I wanted.  Now I don't need the GC anymore!

If you don't have a gamecontroller of some type Install ff7 to a PC with a numpad.  Install the ff7 input patch, and set the keys to something other than the numpad.  Then using a flash drive/disc transfer ff7input configeration file (ff7input.cfg or something) and overwrite the one on your laptop with it.

Happy playing

RPGillespie

I actually bought a PS2 like gamecontroller so that when I play, the joystick controls cloud, L and R rotate the camera respctavly on the world map, etc.  I find it much funner than my keypad.

Threesixty

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1172
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/threesixtyci/
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #5 on: 2005-05-13 17:56:09 »
Eidos does have a patch for laptops on their support page...
doesn't always work, though.


http://support.eidosinteractive.com/GI/CustomerSupport/FaqSearchResults.jsp?problemType=13&searchText=&game=79&platform=3

spot1

  • Guest
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #6 on: 2005-05-14 01:56:54 »
thanks for the ideas everyone i'll try all your advice!

ChaosControl

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 745
  • Karma: 2
  • ยค
    • View Profile
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #7 on: 2005-05-16 20:59:32 »
The laptop patch worked on my laptop.

Compaq Armada 700
700 mhz
256 mb ram
agp4x ati rage mobile

sENGzAI

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • http://ksfung.hypermart.net
FFVII laptop problem
« Reply #8 on: 2005-05-19 11:04:50 »
it usefull for me also