Author Topic: [PC] p model simple editor - Kimera (0.97b)  (Read 358113 times)

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #650 on: 2013-07-07 16:02:14 »
nah i got past them errors, it was because i was using the wrong extractor and leaving it in the wrong place, i got left with the same problem you did with the save error.
No system64 folder only thing related maybe is "SysWOW64"
not a clue what that is

LeonhartGR

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2459
  • Karma: 33
  • ~Whatever...~ Marriage defeated by Ultimecia (mil)
    • View Profile
    • LeonhartGR Productions
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #651 on: 2013-07-07 16:52:16 »
SysWOW64=[Sys]tem[W]orld[ O ]f[Warcraft] 64 bit...  :-o

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #652 on: 2013-07-07 17:33:01 »
Really? ahh ok, pc came installed with a demo of it lol my bad

Rundas

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 728
  • Karma: 15
  • What do you even do?
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #653 on: 2013-07-07 17:42:57 »
Nonono he was kidding! Those are system files! Don't delete them!

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #654 on: 2013-07-07 17:47:28 »
im not gunna delete them lol, anything there is there for a reason haha

cmh175

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 869
  • Karma: 66
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #655 on: 2013-07-08 00:31:21 »
Syswow64 are files for 64 bit windows. Kimera seems to run on 32 bit though. You'll need to do this as an admin, which will also put you in the system32 directory. Search "cmd", right click run as administrator. Regsvr32 will register what ever .dll file you need. 

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #656 on: 2013-07-08 01:41:22 »
yeah iv done everything that has been said, run cmd as admit, have the DLL in the system32 folder and typed the correct line and it tells me this
"The module MSSTDFMT.DLL failed to load
make sure the binary is stored in the specific path or debug it . . ."
ect

cmh175

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 869
  • Karma: 66
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #657 on: 2013-07-08 03:57:33 »
It means you're probably in the wrong directory. Are you sure you're opening the command prompt as an administrator and you copied the .dll file to the correct location? Make sure it says system32 in the command line, otherwise you need to navigate to it. "cd windows\system32" You should already be there if you ran cmd as an admin, but sounds like you're in another directory. Remember google is your friend and you're not the first person to have trouble with the MSSTDFMT.dll file.

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #658 on: 2013-07-08 04:17:09 »
I do it as said before, to the last detail and this is my error

cmh175

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 869
  • Karma: 66
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #659 on: 2013-07-08 04:28:13 »
Did you try googling this? Nothing you need to do in the command line requires a period. I may not have been clear so just copy and paste this: regsvr32 MSSTDFMT.DLL

When you added the period you changed the file name and format so the computer didn't recognize it.

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #660 on: 2013-07-08 04:38:55 »
Theres everything in 1 shot

cmh175

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 869
  • Karma: 66
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hendrickson's Artstation
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #661 on: 2013-07-08 13:19:37 »
Sorry, this is the point where you'll need to inquire Microsoft support. At this point it's either user error or you're missing something else. Perhaps Win8 has it's own version of the .dll file and yours isn't compatible. I'm not sure, I personally hate windows, Win8 above all.

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2456
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #662 on: 2013-07-08 13:47:55 »
A 32 bit file Must be installed in SysWOW64. It's a big misunderstanding of the most users. I don't know why Microsoft has done (and named) it this way...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WoW64
« Last Edit: 2013-07-08 13:51:22 by Kaldarasha »

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #663 on: 2013-07-08 14:36:28 »
so ill put it in that folder then? if so whats the new command line?

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2211
  • Karma: 35
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #664 on: 2013-07-08 14:41:18 »
I bet it would be the exact same command, but I'm not 100% sure.

Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #665 on: 2013-07-08 14:46:14 »
nope, same error, i may just give up completely. Win8 rejects it by the looks of things

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2456
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #666 on: 2013-07-08 15:08:08 »
Quote
If the DLL is 32 bit:

Copy the DLL to C:\Windows\SysWoW64\
In elevated cmd: %windir%\SysWoW64\regsvr32.exe %windir%\SysWoW64\namedll.dll

I also found this:
Quote
Type "regsvr32 name.dll" into the Command Prompt and press "Enter." Note that "name.dll" should be replaced with the name of the DLL that you want to register. For example, if you want to register the iexplore.dll, type "regsvr32 iexplore.dll."


Tsunamix

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 798
  • Karma: 31
  • I prefer to work with someone than against them.
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #667 on: 2013-07-08 15:50:05 »
Well done Kaldarasha,

"If the DLL is 32 bit:

Copy the DLL to C:\Windows\SysWoW64\
In elevated cmd: %windir%\SysWoW64\regsvr32.exe %windir%\SysWoW64\namedll.dll"

fixed my error, thank you very much :D, +1 karma for you :P
id ask to put that on the original post in the thread for future references

Template

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 861
  • Karma: 17
  • Life is a series of cats.
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #668 on: 2013-07-08 18:55:50 »
id ask to put that on the original post in the thread for future references

It's a right of passage. You have to learn how to make Kimera work or Kimera will eat you alive when you actually start using it.  :-P Can't make it too easy or Kimera will be eating people left and right. 

TheHierarchy

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #669 on: 2013-07-21 18:45:09 »
Theres everything in 1 shot



I also found this:

Hey, I stumbled on  the Kimera model viewer on this site, It seems very helpful, I got .095b working but it can't save nothing i do!!  so then i try the latest one and I'm  getting an error splash screen; "MSSTDFMT.dll file". I'm reading a lot on this site for trouble shooting but it's all too complicated. I'm a windows 8 user, Is there a way anyone could make a working ".EXE" for win8 users or a dll file so that i don't lose my mind here...  :'(

TheHierarchy

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #670 on: 2013-07-23 03:24:34 »
Well, I seem to have gotten the hang of things on my ruthless Sephiroth.




I have one problem though, him and his flashy effects are missing.





Any ways i can fix this?

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2456
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #671 on: 2013-07-23 20:27:14 »
Kimera kills a needed information for transparency ( from my understanding it's some kind of a material information, which is needed for the transparency to work).
It was some what hard to restore it, but well...
I don't know if it works, a second time for the models, but you must convert the rsd-files of the models with bitrun to a 3ds file and then you must apply the new bones to the model.

TheHierarchy

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #672 on: 2013-07-25 01:04:02 »
Kimera kills a needed information for transparency ( from my understanding it's some kind of a material information, which is needed for the transparency to work).
It was some what hard to restore it, but well...
I don't know if it works, a second time for the models, but you must convert the rsd-files of the models with bitrun to a 3ds file and then you must apply the new bones to the model.

That's sounds pretty complicated.  :(  but i'll try that out when i get a chance.

I got sephiroth partly showing now but it's still glitched up.




I'll see what i can come up with.

TheHierarchy

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #673 on: 2013-07-25 21:45:42 »
Ok i managed to do a conversion but i end up loosing all of the textures. :-(

ASE seems to convert just about right.



...............But the kimara program can't load it, any ways of getting the textures to port straight over?

Kaldarasha

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 2456
  • Karma: 155
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: Kimera: FF7 p model simple editor
« Reply #674 on: 2013-07-25 22:13:32 »
It doesn't help, any soloution I have would mean to you, that you must recolore the model yourself.