Author Topic: [FF7PC] Reasonable difficulty mod (1.1)  (Read 47829 times)

hay

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 1
  • If I had a buggy, I'd cross the southern desert
    • View Profile
    • The Gold Saucer Maintenance Crew
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #25 on: 2009-01-04 19:18:28 »
Thanks, that means a lot for me ;]

Bluegrass79

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #26 on: 2009-01-05 06:09:27 »
Thanks, that means a lot for me ;]
damn thats the first time you've posted in your thread in 3 freaking years man!

hay

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 1
  • If I had a buggy, I'd cross the southern desert
    • View Profile
    • The Gold Saucer Maintenance Crew
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #27 on: 2009-01-06 16:26:02 »
Yeah... It seems so... I was absent for more than two years on this forum, you know, busy stuff, didn't realized that 2 years have passed... Recently I occasionaly started to visit it again but didn't want to perform necromancy with this topic so I didn't revived it. Anyways, I did this patch for my own purpose, just to have more fun with the game, nothing more, I'm really glad some people like it.

Edit: Oh, crap it's 3 years o_O'. Where did that time go...

Abashiri

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #28 on: 2009-03-23 10:14:29 »
HOW DO I INSTALL THIS PATCH? This came without a readme or instructions.

Also, are there any previews or anything?

PS: Are you going to continue to update this mod?

If so , may I make requests:

-Jenova Synthesis should be harder
-Tropic Wind should do damage comparable to Aqualung
-Different forms of sewer monsters (Crabs and Ghosts) for different places new opportunities for ghost hands
-Harder enemies in that hidden forest area
-Lower hp for human bosses , they do more damage instead of having high hp
-The Serpent in the lost shinra plane (underwater) should do more damage
-Only the serpent and squid enemies should appear in most of it, other than the area with treasure chest (really good item)
-New Ghosts could go in forest around bone village, new crabs can go by the beach around bone village
-Midgar enemies should do significantly more damage, add more potions and items if needed
-An Osmose Materia (absorbs MP), oh wait, isn't there an absorb already? Could Osmose be added to it?
-Combine this mod with SceneRedux, since they are not compatible together (must replace scene.bin either way)

I actually havn't tested this yet, as I couldn't get my game working.
« Last Edit: 2009-03-23 22:11:12 by Abashiri »

hay

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 1
  • If I had a buggy, I'd cross the southern desert
    • View Profile
    • The Gold Saucer Maintenance Crew
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #29 on: 2009-03-23 11:55:28 »
There's short instruction how to do this. Also you have info in first post:

"Installation
--Download and launch. Point patcher to your 'ff7\data\battle' directory and have fun--
Don't forget to backup your original scene.bin.
"

PS: Are you going to continue to update this mod?
Yes I do. Right now I'm really low on time but I have some neat(in my opinion) tweaks. I'll consider your suggestions, thanks a lot for your feedback and interest in this small patch.
Cheers.

Abashiri

  • Fast newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #30 on: 2009-03-24 03:29:49 »
I think I got most mods to work, can't be sure yours did. The enemies hit like 15 or something. The amount of damage by starter enemies should be increased. The first few soldiers should be hitting at least 30. At least that way I would know it works or not.

hay

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: 1
  • If I had a buggy, I'd cross the southern desert
    • View Profile
    • The Gold Saucer Maintenance Crew
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #31 on: 2009-03-24 11:13:19 »
You can quite easily verify if it's working using different means:
1. Check "Last modified date" in file's Properties. If it's your patching time, it's fine.
2. Try to patch it again. If it's patched or contains different modifications, patch won't work since it's made specificly for original scene.bin.
3. Initial enemies(Soldiers with tonfas, grenades and machine guns) should always survive Cloud's 1 attack which wasn't the case before the patch.

Also this patch wasn't meant to be difficult in any way but a bit more challenging than original game, hence the name: Reasonable Difficulty Mod.

Great Sephiroth

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 106
  • Karma: 0
  • I Will never be ........ a memory
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #32 on: 2009-07-02 15:20:02 »
i have a bug in the temple of the ancient in random battles i fight Godo and in place of the first boss i fight two flying monsters its weird in a both sides battle
and the wall boss in the same place are replaced by 2 ancient dragon in the front


edit: Forget about it i found the problem,  i was modifying the scene.bin with hojo, thats why the batltles was mixed up,     the problem is with Hojo
« Last Edit: 2009-07-02 17:29:27 by Great Sephiroth »

gjoerulv

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1116
  • Karma: 34
  • me
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #33 on: 2009-07-02 19:25:39 »
You must update the kernel.bin. The problem isn't with Hojo. Hojo has a function that can update the kernel.bin. Look in file -> update kernel.

Matt2Tees

  • Sauntam/MXster/Machinimatt
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #34 on: 2009-09-03 21:26:18 »
Just found a problem, when ever I get a random encounter on the grass outside Fort Condor the game crashes  :|

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3936
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #35 on: 2009-09-03 23:21:48 »
Do you have any other mods installed? Because sometimes when the scene.bin is changed by one mod and the battle.lgp is changed by another (or not changed at all), the game can crash because it's looking for an enemy model that isn't there.
« Last Edit: 2009-09-03 23:23:28 by Kudistos Megistos »

drfeelgud88

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • Karma: 0
  • da DOC iz here!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #36 on: 2009-09-04 00:03:45 »
Do you have any other mods installed? Because sometimes when the scene.bin is changed by one mod and the battle.lgp is changed by another (or not changed at all), the game can crash because it's looking for an enemy model that isn't there.
Yup. Totally. Like when you try to combine (I think Kula Wende's mod) and gjoerulv's hardcore mod. It crashes on the save point on the reactor mission because of the "robot" monster in that area. It's been deleted from the lgp files.  :-P

Matt2Tees

  • Sauntam/MXster/Machinimatt
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #37 on: 2009-09-04 01:16:32 »
Oh, its probably because I've still got the hardcore mods battle.lgp in my game  :roll:

drfeelgud88

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • Karma: 0
  • da DOC iz here!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #38 on: 2009-09-04 01:33:40 »
Oh, its probably because I've still got the hardcore mods battle.lgp in my game  :roll:
LOL! Damn. I hope that doesn't make the game explode haha.  :lol:

Matt2Tees

  • Sauntam/MXster/Machinimatt
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #39 on: 2009-09-04 01:39:44 »
Quote
LOL! Damn. I hope that doesn't make the game explode haha.  :lol:

I hope not  :cry:

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3936
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #40 on: 2009-09-04 01:43:26 »
Nah, the game only explodes if you make a loop in the AI, or if you give an enemy a 255 def% stat and use an attack on it with an attack with 255 att% :-D

What you're doing will only make the game implode :-P
« Last Edit: 2009-09-04 01:46:13 by Kudistos Megistos »

Matt2Tees

  • Sauntam/MXster/Machinimatt
  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #41 on: 2009-09-04 01:47:02 »
Quote from: Kudistos Megistos
What you're doing will only make the game implode :-P

That sounds worse!  :|

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3936
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #42 on: 2009-09-04 01:50:19 »
It is!

You get all the crappiness of your game and your PC breaking, but none of the fun of watching an explosion. :cry:

Harruzame

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 483
  • Karma: 0
  • Mondai Nai....
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #43 on: 2009-09-04 01:50:34 »
hahaha... :-D :lol:

Lol..that's sick man...

secondadvent

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 287
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #44 on: 2009-09-04 02:28:32 »
making a loop isn't bad in the AI, it only is if you do not have a way to break the loop, i use a loop to level up the enemies :D. but yeah, having the game implode is always worse, because it could suck you in XD.

meandmetwo

  • Guest
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #45 on: 2010-07-11 15:31:46 »
Hi, actually I have a problem with this mod (resonable difficulty mod) I´m trying to install it, but it make me an error, it says: C:\ … \ FINAL FANTASY VII\DATA\BATTLE\scene.bin: unknown version.

What can I do?

Thanks!


No necroposting.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: 2010-07-11 16:20:06 by obesebear »

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3936
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: FF7 - Reasonable difficulty mod[1.1]
« Reply #46 on: 2010-07-11 16:00:33 »
Uwaaaaa! Necropost!

What's probably happening is that the patch can't install because you've modified the scene.bin in some way. Have you played around with it in Hojo or Proud Clod or installed another hard mod? If you have, then try getting hold of a clean version of scene.bin and try again (you may also need to use a clean version of kernel.bin, kernel2.bin and flevel.lgp if you have installed gjoerulv's mod). Clean versions of all the files will be on the ff7 installation disc.