Author Topic: Fuzzy Backround Graphics  (Read 4747 times)

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« on: 2006-09-10 23:56:31 »
im not really sure if this is the propper place to post but I was wondering if anyone could lend me a hand. My FF VII has great graphics in all areas axcept the backround like houses,trees,and goodluck reading any signs in the game. SO if anyone thinks they can help thank you in advance.

Mod Edit: Moved to Game-Tweaking.
« Last Edit: 2006-09-11 18:45:46 by Alhexx »

zero88

  • *
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #1 on: 2006-09-11 00:43:43 »
No, this should be in Game Tweaking.

And there isn't much you can do. It's how the backgrounds were done; quick and fast, with sh*tty results, as you can see. As far as I know, as it stands now, there is nothing you can do. Since the backgrounds are prerendered, there isn't much you can do, save redoing each individual background...and even then, I'm pretty sure you can't reinsert them without the game readjusting them back to that crappy resolution that they are in now to begin with (or something to that effect).

I think I might have saw that the high resolution patch may soon come with a feature that will let you filter the backgrounds, but those are just filters. Maybe when Q-Gears is done (that's said very tentatively; don't expect major results in Q-Gears for perhaps years), there will be the ability to adjust the resolution of the backgrounds, hence making them more clear.

Until at least the filters are done, there's nothing you can do, really.

RW_66

  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #2 on: 2006-09-11 07:20:28 »
Unfortunately it's true.. the backgrounds are a direct port of the PSX 320 x 240 16-bit palletised pre-rendered backgrounds. The original artwork had been lost in the transition from FF7 to FF8, so the Eidos port-team were forced to use the lo-res PSX BGs. Short of somebody ENTIRELY re-doing the BGs, it's probably never going to be cleaned up worth a damn.

mirex

  • *
  • Posts: 1645
    • View Profile
    • http://mirex.mypage.sk
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #3 on: 2006-09-11 08:11:53 »
King Mod: maybe you should make an screenshot of your game screen and show us so we can see what you mean by 'fuzzy'.

Asdayasman13

  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #4 on: 2006-09-11 15:49:47 »
Most of the signs aren't _meant_ to be read.  What desktop resolution do you use?

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #5 on: 2006-09-11 16:04:03 »
ok i got the screen shot but can't post on the forum.
« Last Edit: 2006-09-11 17:08:48 by King Mod »

zero88

  • *
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #6 on: 2006-09-11 20:15:41 »
Most of the signs aren't _meant_ to be read.  What desktop resolution do you use?

Unless he's playing it in a window, I *don't* think his desktop resolution matters, since FF7 resizes it, anyway. Sorry if you're talking about something outside of the game.

ok i got the screen shot but can't post on the forum.

If you have the screenshot, upload it onto a website. I personally use http://www.imageshack.us because it lets you resize images and upload for free and without having to sign up for an account. Just take the screen shot with the Print Screen button, open up MS Paint (or something similar), paste the image (just press CTRL + V), save it as a JPEG (saves space for the forum), and upload it onto a website of your choice. If you're using imageshack.us, then have it resize it to a 640x480 resolution so the picture is clear for us to see what you're talking about.

All you have to do then is obtain the direct link to the image and paste the URL into this code: <img src="(paste the url here, don't include parantheses)">

That should enable you to post a picture of what you're talking about...like I said, most of the backgrounds are fuzzy and pixel-ly looking anyway, but yours might be too much so, and could therefore indicate a greater problem...

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #7 on: 2006-09-12 05:41:07 »
ok now look a the cat type statue on the left. Dosen't it look too fuzzy?
<img src=(http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/6250/screen01jpgxd3.jpg)>
« Last Edit: 2006-09-12 15:40:04 by King Mod »

Zack

  • *
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #8 on: 2006-09-12 21:30:12 »
Maybe you are asking to much from the game.

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #9 on: 2006-09-13 15:07:38 »
yeah im pretty sure that i am not asking too much ftom the game. my fav games ever are the phantasy star series.

Asdayasman13

  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #10 on: 2006-09-13 21:15:12 »
Those backgrounds look fine to me...

@zero88  unless he's playing windowed, FF7 resizes everything, so if he was running 1600x1200, well, think of doing a stretch like that in fotieshop with low filters...

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3938
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #11 on: 2006-09-13 23:37:53 »
That's the way the game is. The backgrounds were originally made in a low resolution, and this game doesn't have any sort of filter for stretched backgrounds. The attempts in the past to make the backgrounds look nicer using manually filtered backgrounds or by adding the filter into the engine have never been completely successful.

Wuz

  • *
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #12 on: 2006-09-14 03:39:55 »
looks beautiful to me :)

ironic: someone with background glitches would love to have it that good, here this guy is complaining about it.

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #13 on: 2006-09-14 13:55:17 »
I wouldn't say i was complaining i just remember plaing FF7 on (PS) and the GFX were awsome. And I just wanted to thank everyone for all the help.

Asdayasman13

  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #14 on: 2006-09-14 19:21:18 »
The graphics are (comparitively) awesome, as on the PS, it's played on a much lower resoloution.  Something like 578xsomething or other (someone help)  Therefore, the backgrounds (which are images) need to be scaled up more, whereas the moving models (which are not fuzzy) (which are based on formulae) do not.  I can't explain why, it just makes sense to me.

Can someone please help me with this explaining lark?

King Mod

  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #15 on: 2006-09-14 21:20:27 »
 The only problem is on movies, they look all pixilated. I think I have to install movie player

Asdayasman13

  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #16 on: 2006-09-14 21:45:57 »
The movies are in (If I remember correctly) 640x480 and would also need to be enlarged.

Zack

  • *
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #17 on: 2006-09-14 21:48:53 »
The movies look pixelated in the game, but fine in windows. Some people have had more success by rencoding the movies so maybe you should try searching the forum for more information.

Asdayasman13

  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: Fuzzy Backround Graphics
« Reply #18 on: 2006-09-14 21:51:14 »
would they work with different filesizes/resolutions?