Author Topic: [FF7] LGP-Editor - Highwind (1.21) (Discontinued, use LGP/UNLGP)  (Read 36219 times)

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.20 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #50 on: 2007-07-23 14:28:43 »
I am found that higwind can export/import TEX files and looks like with right transparency(Yeah a few post above its saying:P), but looks like it do some mess with palette and file size(pictures still looks same).
Firstl I couldnt find preview, I didnt find it before becouse I was usualy clicked to blank space behind file name, and I must click on name, or where some text is.

And why PNG files have in the end BMP insted PNG?

I cant sort files, only sorting possible is compressed/uncompressed.

« Last Edit: 2007-07-23 14:31:51 by kruci »

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.20 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #51 on: 2007-07-23 14:42:52 »
I think my program can only handle .tex and .bmp images.
The sorting should be disabled at all, the sorting for compressed/uncompressed is a bug.
When sorted, i think the programm would extract the wrong files and so on, would you mind try that for me?

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.20 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #52 on: 2007-07-23 15:24:36 »
If I export bitmap, it save PNG file, but give BMP insted PNG on the end.

I can test it.

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #53 on: 2007-07-27 13:19:17 »
Hi, i've uploaded a new version, 1.21, i fixed some problems with the texture-editor.
Now you can select which file type the extracted image has.

Please, tell me when you find bugs because im sure it hase some!

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #54 on: 2007-07-28 09:59:37 »
TEX looks like he doesnt know 4bit color, or just say what is max number of colors. I thought that it use 4bit colors, but TEX never does. But documentation to TEX say that it can 4bit color, but it still use 1Byte for 1pixel. Thus preview/export use of 4bit TEX files use real 4bit colors, not 1Byte color and are messed.
Export to GIF doesnt work right, it doesnt use original palate, it use some kind of own palete. After export to GIF picture lose colors (exported BMP has 256 color, GIF has 56 color).
Export to BMP have always 24bit colors(good if find 16bit TEX?).

Only little sugestion, if I export image file, I must write name of file, but better is if it use TEX file name as default.

Edit:And TEX files use allways 256 palette entries?
« Last Edit: 2007-07-28 10:09:45 by kruci »

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #55 on: 2007-07-28 11:49:25 »
So the 4 bit color depth of tex files doesnt really make any compression compared to 8 bit?

About the GIFs, i think i cant change how much colors they have, thats a pre-built method i call.

The TEXs of FF7 always have 8bit color depth, i think.

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #56 on: 2007-07-28 12:27:39 »
So the 4 bit color depth of tex files doesnt really make any compression compared to 8 bit?
TEX created by Highwind, 4bit has ~33k, original TEX 4bit has 66k

About the GIFs, i think i cant change how much colors they have, thats a pre-built method i call.
I was wondering that GIF "destroy" colors. I think that GIF use some default palete, instead of creating new, or getting it from original.

The TEXs of FF7 always have 8bit color depth, i think.
Some files(their previews) are saying that they are 4bit.
http://wiki.qhimm.com/FF7/TEX_format says that 4bit TEX exist. But not use 4bits per pixel. So its not pixel size but max color?

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #57 on: 2007-07-28 12:45:37 »
I have uploaded a newer version, with the 4bit support FF7 needs.
About the GIFs, the current format is all i can do.

Cyberman

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1575
  • Karma: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #58 on: 2007-07-28 17:03:13 »
All right if you are dealing with character textures you will have some technical difficulties.
The textures for characters are mostly 4 bit.  However they have multiple palettes.  Editing this is likely to create some problems.
Cloud I think has 3 or 4 palettes alone.  When I was making something to view the battle models the only way I could extract the textures was to iterate through every textured polygon and plot it's area onto a bitmap using the fixed palette that polygon selected. That sounds great and easy save when you reverse the process.
The PS1 stores the textures with the battle model. The PC variant uses it's own texture system (mutter).  So if you wish to 'reverse' the model information and modified textures on a model you will need to keep this in mind.

For field backgrounds there is ONLY one size for the palettes these are 256 colors per set of blocks.  Some scenes have as many as 30 palettes.
I don't know why they picked such an overly complicated scheme (FF9 uses a much simpler and more efficient one).
If you need to figure out these things ask there are some OLD FF7 abusers still listening in ;)

Cyb

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #59 on: 2007-07-28 20:58:15 »
Yeah, thanks for your explanation, Cyberman.

But does this really make a difference when converting bmp/jpg/gif... to tex and vice versa?
Each texture has one single and own palette, or did i misunderstand something?

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #60 on: 2007-08-09 10:11:36 »
Higwind create biger TEX file than original TEX, example, exported from original TEX(size 66796) to created by Highwind TEX(size 131072). Files are some, except that on the end (after 66796) are all zero.
« Last Edit: 2007-08-09 11:26:04 by kruci »

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #61 on: 2007-08-09 19:55:36 »
Higwind create biger TEX file than original TEX, example, exported from original TEX(size 66796) to created by Highwind TEX(size 131072). Files are some, except that on the end (after 66796) are all zero.
You mean it makes the correct files, but there are just 00 in the end?
OK, im gonna fix it, strange that i didnt notice that until now  :-D

kruci

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #62 on: 2007-08-10 09:36:11 »
Yes correct, but with a lot of 00 in the and.
strange that i didnt notice(or post) that until now:P

Chrisu

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: 0
  • Simply there
    • View Profile
    • Christian's Programs
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #63 on: 2007-08-10 11:33:20 »
Yes correct, but with a lot of 00 in the and.
strange that i didnt notice(or post) that until now:P
I found the bug, the calculating of the filesize of the tex files was wrong, i fixed that. (I havent uploaded the new version yet)

pyrahedh

  • Guest
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #64 on: 2011-08-03 08:48:14 »
Hello!
I'm new to this moding of the FF games. I've got a problem with the Highwind tool. When I try to make a new archive and when I want to save the changes after I've added a folder I get the following error (It dosn't matter what verson of the program I'm using).

Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you clock Continue, the application will ognore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.
Unable to read beuond the end of the stream.

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IO.EndOfStreamException: Unable to read beyond the end of the stream.
   at System.IO.__Error.EndOfFile()
   at System.IO.BinaryReader.FillBuffer(Int32 numBytes)
   at System.IO.BinaryReader.ReadInt32()
   at Utilities.Util.ReadLGPElement(BinaryReader reader, Int64 dataPos, Int64& fileLen)
   at LGPTools.LGPElement.get_Data()
   at LGPTools.LGPFile.SaveToFile(ProgressBar bar)
   at LGPTools.LGPViewer.save_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4961 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Highwind
    Assembly Version: 1.2.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.2.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/ze0154/Desktop/Highwind/Highwind.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4961 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4957 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
ChrisiTools
    Assembly Version: 1.2.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.2.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/ze0154/Desktop/Highwind/ChrisiTools.DLL
----------------------------------------
ChrisiUtilities
    Assembly Version: 1.1.4.0
    Win32 Version: 1.1.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/ze0154/Desktop/Highwind/ChrisiUtilities.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.

When I press continue nothing happens.

Thanks in advance.
~pyra


DarkFang

  • Pirate
  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Karma: 1
  • Ponies! <3
    • View Profile
Re: [Release] Highwind 1.21 - .net FF7 LGP-Editor
« Reply #65 on: 2011-08-03 09:32:40 »
Three year old thread, and this program is really outdated. Use Aali's lgp command line tool.
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8641.0