Author Topic: nvidia geforce 9500gt  (Read 3768 times)

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
nvidia geforce 9500gt
« on: 2009-09-22 03:32:56 »
so i just got a new graphics card for my computer... i don't why but now i can't run final fantasy vii. i have an nvidia geforce 9500gt graphics card. so if you can find any solution to my problem i would really appreciate it.  :-D

obesebear

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1358
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #1 on: 2009-09-22 18:15:06 »
The first solution I can think of is to make sure to double click ff7.exe...

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #2 on: 2009-09-22 21:02:58 »
thx but no. it doesnt run anymore. not even when i double click it. it tries to run but all i get is a black screen and goes back to the desktop.

NFITC1

  • *
  • Posts: 2944
  • I just don't know what went wrong.
    • View Profile
    • WM/PrC Blog
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #3 on: 2009-09-22 21:38:05 »
is there anything in the APP.LOG file after it crashes?

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #4 on: 2009-09-22 23:18:46 »
this is what i have in the app/log file

INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r19334, Copyright (c) 2000-2009 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce 9500 GT/PCI/SSE2 3.0.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Original resolution 1280x960, window size 1280x960, output resolution 1280x960, internal resolution 1280x960
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
ERROR: COULD NOT OPEN FILE C:\Program Files\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\ff7input.cfg
initializing sound...

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #5 on: 2009-09-22 23:22:20 »
This probably won't work, and I don't really understand what's going on here, but maybe you could reconfigure the custom graphics driver. I'm assuming (from your resolution) that you're using it.

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #6 on: 2009-09-22 23:44:07 »
what do u mean by reconfigure? sorry but im kinda new here. how exactly do i do that?

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #7 on: 2009-09-22 23:48:37 »
what do u mean by reconfigure? sorry but im kinda new here. how exactly do i do that?

You have a file called ff7_opengl.reg, right? Run that again to reset the registry entry for the custom graphics driver. Or maybe run ff7config.exe and then run ff7_opengl.reg to reset everything related to graphics.

Also, it seems that you are missing ff7input.cfg; maybe this is the problem. Did you delete it by accident? Perhaps you could ask about this file in the custom graphics driver thread.

Jari

  • Guest
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #8 on: 2009-09-23 00:00:39 »
I have this recollection that SaiNt's hi-res patch also runs in 1280x960.

But does it generate app.log? Or is that something done only by Aali's driver?

ddmosho

  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #9 on: 2009-09-23 00:11:32 »
yea i don't know why i'm missing that. i was thinking that also. i'll try that and get back to you.  :-)

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #10 on: 2009-09-26 15:22:48 »
Run the game as admin if you're using Windows Vista, also in win97 compatibility mode.

hotdog963al

  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Horse
    • View Profile
    • Horse HQ
Re: nvidia geforce 9500gt
« Reply #11 on: 2009-09-26 15:37:21 »
I recently got a 9500GT too, and it works just as well as it did on my old 6600GT.