Author Topic: [PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)  (Read 153596 times)

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #350 on: 2014-07-18 18:38:02 »
Okay guess I am just an idiot then, lol I just checked again and the reason it looks better with my old files is because I removed the door texture so the gondola looks more consistent even if its pixelated.  Guess I'll have to do that for now.  Strange that they used a 3d object in this scene though, since similar moving objects are just moving layers.  Like Rufus's lift in Junon.  Sorry for the false positive  :'(

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2437
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #351 on: 2014-07-18 18:46:41 »
The good thing about it is that we can make a full 3D object to replace.

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #352 on: 2014-07-29 18:20:24 »
anyone have palmer 0.7b i am getting crashes on empty layers with 0.8b that I wasn't getting with 0.7b but now the link is dead.  This is significantly slowing down the import process.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #354 on: 2014-07-29 20:16:38 »
okay so I think I found another issue.  Palmer can't seem to find files that are under a certain file size.  For example I have a layer that is just one small sliver in bugin1b and after compression it is only 1.96 kb.  Palmer says the file is missing presumably because its so small (can't think of any other reason, as its formatted exactly the same as the other images).  Any chance this can be fixed so I can finish importing?

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #355 on: 2014-07-29 20:35:24 »
Please provide details on how to reproduce any problems you've found in 0.8b.

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #356 on: 2014-07-29 20:45:32 »
here is my upscaled version of bugin1b.  The file bugin1b_0_00000516.png is there but if you try to import it into palmer 0.8b or earlier versions Palmer just ignores that file and says its missing.  Again the only reason I can guess is because the file size is sub 2 kb.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #357 on: 2014-07-29 22:53:05 »
Have you tried ways to save that file above 2kb and if Palmer then recognizes it? Would be an easy way to confirm your theory.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #358 on: 2014-07-29 23:33:46 »
here is my upscaled version of bugin1b.  The file bugin1b_0_00000516.png is there but if you try to import it into palmer 0.8b or earlier versions Palmer just ignores that file and says its missing.  Again the only reason I can guess is because the file size is sub 2 kb.

That file is an 8-bit paletted PNG. Palmer only supports truecolor images, 24- or 32-bit. Error reporting could be better in this case..

Now what about that crash?

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #359 on: 2014-07-30 05:43:29 »
That file is an 8-bit paletted PNG. Palmer only supports truecolor images, 24- or 32-bit. Error reporting could be better in this case..

Now what about that crash?

omg man how the heck did I overlook that I am sorry.  Can I change this in photoshop?

*edit*
never mind I figured it out.  How stupid of me!  Sorry if I made it seem like I was experiencing two different errors this was the only "crash"  I had, though its more of an error on my part.  Although a feature that logs errors to a file and continues batch processing instead of stopping on every error would be hella useful.
« Last Edit: 2014-07-30 06:02:08 by yarLson »

Redz

  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #360 on: 2015-04-19 23:33:33 »
This is for the 1998 version, right? There is no way of using it with the 2012 version?

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2437
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #361 on: 2015-04-20 06:54:09 »
Right, there is no way.

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #362 on: 2015-07-14 13:31:37 »
Hello i can't download palmer 0.8b, can anyone post a mirror ?
Thanks a lot

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #363 on: 2015-07-18 08:07:15 »
Anyone use this tool ?

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #364 on: 2015-07-19 07:15:15 »
By the way is there any way to use palmer with commandline instead of gui ?
Thanks

joca.bt

  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #365 on: 2015-07-19 18:03:55 »
It has a functionality for batch importing/exporting. Not sure how it works though. Never managed to get it working properly :/.

Edit: have you tried Makou Reactor? It's easier to use and to extract backgrounds with, in my opinion, but needs a lot of mouse work.
« Last Edit: 2015-07-19 18:20:51 by joca.bt »

yarLson

  • *
  • Posts: 708
  • spr nrd
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #366 on: 2015-07-20 04:04:09 »
you can do the batch work right in palmer gui and its pretty simple if I remember correctly if you have it mind uploading for me I actually think I like this new algorithm afterall and I would like to do some in game tests

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #367 on: 2015-07-20 06:39:00 »
I only have the 0.7b (https://mega.co.nz/#!6tBjiBrL!qN6FHRvAnD-aSzYraYC6cvpIoZYcr73GSE_YTBwu5lk), i never found a 0.8b valid link.
I've tried the batch import or export function but can't make it works (i probably didn't do it in the right way.)

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2437
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile

satsuki

  • *
  • Posts: 501
    • View Profile
    • My softs (french only)
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #369 on: 2015-07-20 17:07:54 »
Thanks !

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #370 on: 2015-07-20 23:03:22 »
Thanks :)

ghneu

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #371 on: 2015-07-23 07:35:11 »
Hi, I'm trying to figure out why animated textures get glitched after being resized (see for example under this topic : http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=11933.0).
That's most probably because these textures are "transparent".

Palmer uses the png format which, I believe, cannot handle transparency information.

After discussing with Makou reactor's programmer, I think it means the textures contain erroneous/useless informations (dark pixels around the image), shifting the location of the texture when the game tries to place it... thus creating glitches.

Haven't found a way around this yet...   :?

Aavock

  • *
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #372 on: 2015-07-23 15:26:20 »
Hello ghneu,

*.png files does handle transparency information; is it only a layer or the entire scene? Can you provide a screen of the texture shifting?

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2437
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #373 on: 2015-07-24 04:18:06 »
We are talking about the lightlayers right? This is a problem with aali's driver in general. After you resize these textures you make the color pallet bigger as the game can handle. If you look closely you will see that the game use pretty less colors for the backgrounds which is the actual problem for resize projects. Anyway there was already a discussion about that problem and aali said that only a shader based solution will work.

ghneu

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC] Field background editor - Palmer (0.8b)
« Reply #374 on: 2015-07-24 06:31:59 »
Thanks for your replies, yep I'm talking about the animation layers including lightlayers.
So the glitches aren't related to the png format but rather to palette problems.

You must be right because I have a "missing palette write to external texture field" error message.
I could not locate the topic where the issue was discussed.

I do not understand why there are no palette problems with the backgrounds themselves and why the lightlayers are glitched though.