Author Topic: [WIP] Team Avalanche's Graphical Overhaul  (Read 403362 times)

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1400 on: 2009-09-11 15:49:08 »
cause the bricks aren't damaged and they are lame looking haha

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1401 on: 2009-09-11 16:34:27 »
if you look at the original, the bricks are quite long, so if you are going to find a source image, keep that in mind, if you do the texture filter in photoshop, do lots of brushwork on top of it to dirty it up.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1402 on: 2009-09-11 16:47:13 »
I did that with the dirt. But i'm not to happy with it. I think i'll redo it

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1403 on: 2009-09-11 16:50:00 »
photosourcing rarely works well in 3d, and you've reaaaally gotta know what your doing, plus photorealistic textures just... wont fit in ff7 :P

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1404 on: 2009-09-11 16:57:24 »
if you wanna do that go for it, but our 2d overhaul is by in large original content, if not created by us, then the exception is created by square (artwork avatars). Filters can be helpful, but are not a be all answer to making nice images.

Here is the ground i made for our test:



the issues with photosourcing, they usually dont til well, and you'll need a lot of tiles for this many bricks :P also... yes the ground has bricks on it.. its not a wall though! cobblestone, ever heard of it? its not the same. anyhow, most of the work that'll make an image more real is in the grunge. adding a brick pattern doesnt do much on its own other than make it look fake. you need to put a personal touch on your art otherwise it looks like stock images, and for all the work we do on ff7, i'm not gonna lower our standard to stock.

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1405 on: 2009-09-12 03:50:20 »
Alright, took a whack at making this texture, and with timu's help, this is what i came up with



Needs some work i know. But so far i'm liking it. opinions on the curb please. as i made that entire brick section myself :-D

KnifeTheSky77

  • *
  • Posts: 548
  • Somnambulistic Paraphile
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1406 on: 2009-09-12 04:15:40 »
That is THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST etc etc
I think that the curb should show some elevation against where it meets the brick
or maybe a small division between the two

also 1920x1080 res please
« Last Edit: 2009-09-12 04:18:04 by knifethesky77 »

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1407 on: 2009-09-12 04:16:29 »
agreed, it doesn't seem to look right. i'll add some shadowing

Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1408 on: 2009-09-12 04:17:59 »
the curb is a bit too high (up down on the texture) other than that its nice, is that downscaled? or did u make it at 600/600 :P

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1409 on: 2009-09-12 04:20:22 »
I made it myself, i painstakingly made a brickish style picture. then saved it as a texture for texturizer cheats way i know. But it worked :-D

Also it's downscaled haha
« Last Edit: 2009-09-12 04:28:21 by hellbringer616 »

Costa07

  • *
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1410 on: 2009-09-12 08:13:15 »
I made it myself, i painstakingly made a brickish style picture. then saved it as a texture for texturizer cheats way i know. But it worked :-D

Also it's downscaled haha

Well this is what i got so far in the first battle nothin too fancy i would like to hear some thoughts about it. Exspecially out of you sl1982 you ain't afraid to say whats wrong with it and thats what in need to fix it right

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UBubewWBv4

halkun

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2097
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1411 on: 2009-09-12 09:22:23 »
the bricks need to be longer

albertopsp

  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Spanish NoOb (Or so I think) xD
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1412 on: 2009-09-12 10:05:52 »
I made it myself, i painstakingly made a brickish style picture. then saved it as a texture for texturizer cheats way i know. But it worked :-D

Also it's downscaled haha

Well this is what i got so far in the first battle nothin too fancy i would like to hear some thoughts about it. Exspecially out of you sl1982 you ain't afraid to say whats wrong with it and thats what in need to fix it right

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UBubewWBv4

WOW!!!  :-o :-o Incredible!! Good work. ;-)

aaronlite

  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1413 on: 2009-09-12 10:48:08 »
I think the bricks look too deep inbetween... Maybe too low res too idk, something just look weird bout it. =/

Anyways, started working on a background texture. So much work for these...







sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1414 on: 2009-09-12 15:49:57 »
I made it myself, i painstakingly made a brickish style picture. then saved it as a texture for texturizer cheats way i know. But it worked :-D

Also it's downscaled haha

Well this is what i got so far in the first battle nothin too fancy i would like to hear some thoughts about it. Exspecially out of you sl1982 you ain't afraid to say whats wrong with it and thats what in need to fix it right

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UBubewWBv4

Good first attempt but those bricks stand out way too much, Dirty them up, fade the color, and try to make the lines between bricks less noticable

edit: So i just finished up bahamut zero and i must say it is pure awesomness
« Last Edit: 2009-09-12 16:45:28 by sl1982 »

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1415 on: 2009-09-12 17:09:33 »
the change you made to the background is very nice. How did you do it?

S: did you get a chance to look over how that texture looks in game yet?

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1416 on: 2009-09-12 17:14:32 »
the change you made to the background is very nice. How did you do it?

S: did you get a chance to look over how that texture looks in game yet?

Not yet, i figured you were going to send me the new updated one you were talking about in pm.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3938
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1417 on: 2009-09-12 17:20:40 »

This is incredible!

aaronlite, if you successfully replace 2D backgrounds in this game, I promise you that people will treat you as a god amongst men. That's basically the holy grail of FF7PC hacking.

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1418 on: 2009-09-12 17:25:37 »
aaronlite, if you successfully replace 2D backgrounds in this game, I promise you that people will treat you as a god amongst men. That's basically the holy grail of FF7PC hacking.

This. I'd say that higher resolution, true-to-the-original backgrounds are now on top of my list of most wanted mods for FF7.

Now then, have you tested these backgrounds in the actual game, aaronlite? I remember that Seifer tried upscaling them with photoshop a while ago and the tiles didn't fit together any more. That was an awfully big shame :cry:

obesebear

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1357
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1419 on: 2009-09-12 18:55:31 »
Aaronlite and Hellbringer,

Maybe ya'll should create your own threads about your work?
Kinda like how Pyrozen has his own world map retexture thread.  It would be easier to follow everyone's work if it wasn't all jumbled into a single thread.

aaronlite

  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1420 on: 2009-09-12 21:52:43 »
I just use photoshop to do the background. Extracted it with Palmer http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8450.0
so seifer tried to insert higher res background and it doesn't work? Has anyone else tried and can confirm it works? I haven't tested in game. Not sure how yet, haven't tried...

Can anyone confirm if higher res backgrounds work or not? ;o


Timu Sumisu

  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • The Master
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1421 on: 2009-09-12 22:02:12 »
what was the original resolution, and what did you redo it at?

aaronlite

  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1422 on: 2009-09-12 22:06:10 »
Original is 640x480 and now its 1280x960

Costa07

  • *
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1423 on: 2009-09-12 23:23:33 »
the change you made to the background is very nice. How did you do it?

I just took the image and worked hard on redoing it and put it in like sl1982 told me too. Even though it was a hastle at first but I seem to not be real good with the brightness things are a little too bright. Just hope i can change it right and also dirty up the bricks a little like sl1982 said.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: [REL] Team Avalanche's 2D Overhaul
« Reply #1424 on: 2009-09-13 02:23:21 »
I just use photoshop to do the background. Extracted it with Palmer http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8450.0
so seifer tried to insert higher res background and it doesn't work? Has anyone else tried and can confirm it works? I haven't tested in game. Not sure how yet, haven't tried...

Can anyone confirm if higher res backgrounds work or not? ;o



Gimme those images and i will see if i can get them working in the game

edit: after much tweaking and messing around got the images into the game and it works flawlessly
« Last Edit: 2009-09-13 16:30:36 by sl1982 »