Author Topic: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICIAL PROBLEM THREAD*  (Read 218085 times)

pyrozen

  • *
  • Posts: 791
  • Team Avalanche Member
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #250 on: 2010-10-01 22:00:24 »
Thanks sl1982. ;)
will be fixed at some point, i am extremely busy with real life ATM. Though there really aren't that many unfinised, id say less than 50 at this point.

lee

TinySarabia

  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #251 on: 2010-10-06 18:12:34 »
question, i installed this mod and it works great... when i first installed it... Now im having problems with the fonts ever since i reinstalled... It appears slightly pixelated... any solution to this?

Sajo

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #252 on: 2010-10-25 07:11:58 »
hello I'm new here so hi. Anyways, I've been playing ff7 on PC for a while and found out about this, so I tried this mod. BTW I love this mod, thank you. Almost everything works great, except I have a very slight issue. I decided to use the optional Barret re-skin. His world textures are fine, but his in battle textures don't show up... at all. His model's there, but just black polygons. I was wondering if this was a common issue or is it an installation problem of some sort. Thank you :)

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #253 on: 2010-10-25 13:17:42 »
It is most likely a problem with aali's driver. You do not have it installed properly.

Sajo

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #254 on: 2010-10-25 14:24:09 »
reinstalled, worked perfectly, thanks!

LightAcolyte

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #255 on: 2010-10-27 03:38:07 »
I'm using the newest 7.9b version of Aali's graphics driver and I am getting the error message:
"Aali's custom driver is not installed, or not installed correctly. Please re-install and try again. To download driver go to
http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8306.0"

Any help is appreciated!  Thanks! :)

willis936

  • *
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #256 on: 2010-11-02 20:22:44 »
GUI 2.06 problem:  The limit fonts take some colors from different font tables and the spacing in field is off by quite a bit.  Ignore the restore image here that got fixed while reinstalling the overhaul.  I assume this problem comes from Microsoft Security Essential since it browns its pants whenever I install GUI 2.06 and this last time it actually identified the instal.exe as a threat and deleted it from my directory!


sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #257 on: 2010-11-02 20:24:59 »
Try turning off the cache. And the MSE flag that comes up is a false positive due to the patch included to fix the limit and level bars.

willis936

  • *
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #258 on: 2010-11-02 20:34:40 »
Okay.  I'll stop taking up space in your GUI 2.0 thread.  Turning off the cache, running config, and playing the game worked so now I turned it back on and deleted my old cache folder.  The restore problem is still there I assume because I actually don't have as many spells in my texture folder as I should.  I have bio1, all of the bolts, break, despell, eskill, all of the fires, flamethrowe, flare, ice2, quake 1&3, remove, seffect, shield, tornado, and ultima.

Also this seems consequential but my config.doc has a lock icon in the corner.  I believe that has something to do with permissions.  It's strange that it's there now when it wasn't before but it doesn't seem to effect anything.
« Last Edit: 2010-11-02 20:36:53 by willis936 »

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #259 on: 2010-11-02 20:37:07 »
The seffect files are the ones that handle the restore effects. Maybe take a look at your app.log and see if they are being loaded or not.

willis936

  • *
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #260 on: 2010-11-02 21:02:17 »
Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.8b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
INFO: NVIDIA Corporation GeForce GT 240M/PCI/SSE2 3.0.0
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 8192x8192
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 1366x768, output resolution 1024x768, internal resolution 1280x960
INFO: FBO extension detected, using fast scaling/postprocessing path
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r21874, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
INFO: FF7Music helper plugin loaded
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
set music volume: 127
set music volume: 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\data\movies\eidoslogo.avi; truemotion2/pcm_u8 320x240, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.133333, frames: 152
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/mods/avalanche/menu/buster_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 406
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/mods/avalanche/menu/coloa_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/mods/avalanche/menu/colob_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/textures/Limit/limit/jo_b03_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/textures/Spells/eskill/jo_b04_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
[BATTLE] Begin main battle loop
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/textures/Spells/bolt1/thunde00_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/textures/Spells/bolt1/sonic_1_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
[BATTLE] End of current battle
[BATTLE] Begin end battle stuff
stop_sound
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_QUIT
[BATTLE] endof battle.
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_QUIT
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Field Start
cross play music: 0
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=4
set music volume: 127
Field Quit
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE SWIRL
Swirl sound_effect1
stop_sound
End of Swirl sound_effect1
Entering FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Exitting FRAME_QUIT SWIRL
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Scene# 412
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_INITIALIZE
[BATTLE] Begin main battle loop
INFO: 24-bit PNG loaded (C:\Program Files (x86)\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII\/textures/Limit/bigshot/hvshot_00.png); this is slow, please convert to 32-bit
WM_CLOSE
[BATTLE] Entering FRAME_QUIT
[BATTLE] endof battle.
[BATTLE] Exitting FRAME_QUIT
Field Quit
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD

Interesting that turning cache back on (even with the old cache folder deleted) the font gets screwed up again.

Also the Limit text problem is fixed with cache off.

EDIT:  I used restore in that first battle but it still used the original texture.  It doesn't say any textures failed to load either.

Also putting seffect folder in the modpath didn't fix the problem.

Started with a fresh battle.lgp.  Update in a few mins.

Okay so the fresh lgp fixed my problems.  Have you found a way to make caching work with the new GUI?  Also I can't seem to download .7.9b from aali's link :<
« Last Edit: 2010-11-02 21:51:21 by willis936 »

LevelOne

  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • I feel so sad for the moon. Darn Betelgeuse...
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #261 on: 2010-11-16 03:45:25 »
Damn I feel stupid for posting this, I assume it's something that should be obvious, but I'm "desperate!" I've heard so many good reviews of the project and it's so unfortunate that it's the only mod I can't get to work...heheh

So, I went and downloaded the most recent version of Aali's Graphics Driver, and it works just fine (Vista sucks, but it does have openGL)

I installed it just like the forum described:

Extracted all of the files to my ffvii folder

Changed my OpenGL.cfg (just changed the window size)

and every time in the past like 40 attempts of downloading Team Avalanche's low res it kept telling me that I've failed to install it, or that I've installed it correctly...

It seems like it should be almost painfully simple, is there anything I'm missing?

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #262 on: 2010-11-16 11:57:24 »
are you running the TA installer as Admin?

LevelOne

  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • I feel so sad for the moon. Darn Betelgeuse...
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #263 on: 2010-11-16 12:46:44 »
Edit: total mistake, it looked like it would work but then it just did the same thing. Who knows, I think I may be able to get the spoiler texture pack working though, so that's a plus :)
« Last Edit: 2010-11-16 12:49:06 by LevelOne »

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #264 on: 2010-11-16 14:16:29 »
Did you set to use the custom driver in Aali's custom config file?
What exactly does it say when it says it's "Failed to install"?

LevelOne

  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • I feel so sad for the moon. Darn Betelgeuse...
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #265 on: 2010-11-16 22:12:37 »
I'm not too much of a nublet when it comes to this kind of thing, I read the instructions and followed them to the letter haha. I did set the config to custom driver, and all it says can be found ^ up there, "Aali's custom driver is not installed, or not installed correctly. Please re-install and try again. To download driver go to http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8306.0"
 It's really a head scratcher :s

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #266 on: 2010-11-17 01:45:16 »
Okay
What OS are you running? (windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Linux, OS X, ect.)
Are you running the installer as admin? (only if Vista/7)
Is your FF7 directory located in C:? (not that i think it matters)
What language is your FF7 in?
Did you run Aali's custom config file? and set it to the custom driver?
Did you include EVERY file from Aali's driver in your FF7 directory? (overwriting when needed in the case of upgrades)

Please help us (well mostly them) help you by providing the information :D

LevelOne

  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • I feel so sad for the moon. Darn Betelgeuse...
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #267 on: 2010-11-17 04:36:51 »
heheh okay Hellbringer :)

Well, I'm running Windows Vista (32 bit home premium, dunno if that matters)

My game's located in C:program files/squaresoft/

I tried running it both normally and as an admin, and got the same result for both.

Language:English

Changed the config from software render -> custom

And I did use all of the files. I'm thinking of trying something new, however, since I was gonna reformat my pc anyway.

A: I'm gonna download the game normally, install the 1.02 patch, then take all of the files from Aali's latest driver and put it in the ffvii directory.

Before installing any mods, I'm either just going to download the Team Avalanche mod beofre anything else (OR) right after installing the Pheonix Rejuvenation Project. When I looked the process up originally it said to install the PRP before it, but I'm having some second thoughts.

Any input would be greatly appreciated :)

Edit: Originally didn't think the home premium part for my version of windows really mattered but...well, who knows.

Edit: Nevermind, don't need help any more :s turns out I never ran Aali's config as an admin. If anyone else has that problem, it could just be that simple mistake haha... /facepalm

Thanks a ton for the help HellBringer, I appreciate the thought :)
« Last Edit: 2010-11-17 08:33:07 by LevelOne »

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #268 on: 2010-11-17 13:36:22 »
No problem, Glad i could be of service

Soul

  • *
  • Posts: 283
  • "I'll take a potato chip AND EAT IT!"
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #269 on: 2010-12-19 12:44:15 »
Well. I encounter this thing several times now. When I use certain magic spells. This thing pops out. I think theres a problem with the textures of the magic spells and such. Anyone knows how to solve this problem?
OS: Vista 32-bit
Version: English
Patches & Mods Used: 1.02, Aalis Driver, FF7 Music, I used Wallmarket to change the spell names. I also used the Avalanche GUI V2.0.5.
There is a texture folder in my ff7 directory. And it contains the limit folder, spell folder, summon folder, and WMRP folder. I dont know why it happens though. But some of my other spells work like bolt2 and fire2.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #270 on: 2010-12-19 13:25:49 »
If you checked your applog you would probably see some other errors that are actually causing this.
I'll bet you anything it says "missing external texture" before every one of those.
You still have .tex files installed from the old 2D overhaul.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #271 on: 2010-12-19 14:33:53 »
All spells and battle effects still use the old format aali. None of it has been upgraded to modpath.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #272 on: 2010-12-19 15:04:59 »
So he's just missing the textures then :)

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3749
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #273 on: 2010-12-19 15:06:05 »
Funny thing is it doesnt even look like he is using GUI v2 properly.

Soul

  • *
  • Posts: 283
  • "I'll take a potato chip AND EAT IT!"
    • View Profile
Re: STICKY: 2D Overhaul & WMRP *OFFICAL PROBLEM THREAD*
« Reply #274 on: 2010-12-19 21:18:46 »
How can I use it properly then? I think the use of the GUI is that I'll just install it and its done.