Author Topic: Resolution  (Read 12065 times)

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3689
  • Karma: 42
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Resolution
« on: 2010-01-01 15:58:03 »
Hey guys I need to know what resolution you guys normally play in. I have found that if people run in 1280x960 or less I can tweak things to make it look much better for them. For people running a higher resolution then this the work I have already done looks the best at that resolution. So what res do you guys run in?

KnifeTheSky77

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 549
  • Karma: 21
  • Somnambulistic Paraphile
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #1 on: 2010-01-01 16:30:46 »
Depending on what computer im using, 1920x1080 or 1440x900

InuRa

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #2 on: 2010-01-01 16:38:53 »
Since this is something I play on my laptops, usually 800x600 (window), 1024x768 (window) or 1440x900 (fullscreen) depending on the mood and space needed.
EDIT: Always on 4:3 to conserve the original aspect
« Last Edit: 2010-01-03 05:11:48 by InuRa »

Hellbringer616

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1915
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #3 on: 2010-01-01 17:05:10 »
i play at 1280 x 960, but only because last i checked thats as high as i can get without stretching vertically can go up to 1920 x 1080 if i wanted (and will if i wont get stretching)

Saying using your patch then playing at that resolution is best then? (1080 i mean)

pyrozen

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 793
  • Karma: 0
  • Team Avalanche Member
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #4 on: 2010-01-01 17:38:08 »
with my new computer, i run at 1600x1200

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 4049
  • Karma: 121
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #5 on: 2010-01-01 18:09:32 »
I usually run at 1680x1050.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3689
  • Karma: 42
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #6 on: 2010-01-01 19:04:35 »
The way the patch is right now all the text and gui graphics look best on higher resolutions. On lower resolutions if i modify things it will look better. Might make a selectable option on the installer in one of the later releases.

Tekkie.X

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: 20
  • Formerly known as DragonNinja
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #7 on: 2010-01-01 19:59:04 »
1024x768 for me. I can run it at 1280x1024/960 I just choose not to.

albertopsp

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: 0
  • Spanish NoOb (Or so I think) xD
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #8 on: 2010-01-02 15:03:30 »
1024x768 or 1366x768

willis936

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #9 on: 2010-01-02 15:35:29 »
1440x900

I'd argue that 16:10 is the most common aspect ratio.

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 4049
  • Karma: 121
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #10 on: 2010-01-02 17:23:37 »
1440x900

I'd argue that 16:10 is the most common aspect ratio.
Aali's driver will pillarbox it to 4:3 though, so that doesn't really matter.

romeo14

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #11 on: 2010-01-02 23:38:51 »
these are my settings, and my desktop is the same resolution
window_size_x = 1152
window_size_y = 864
preserve_aspect = no
fullscreen = yes

has anyone tried messing with the postprocessing bloom setting? as it is now its too strong and doesnt look good but i think with some tweaking it could be a very cool option


Prince Lex

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 883
  • Karma: 1
  • Opinionfact is Redundancy
    • View Profile
    • Myspace Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #12 on: 2010-01-03 01:50:48 »
I play in 1280x960 or 1280x720 if my HDMI is plugged in.

has anyone tried messing with the postprocessing bloom setting? as it is now its too strong and doesnt look good but i think with some tweaking it could be a very cool option



I screwed about with this for a while. In some cases (using different shaders instead of bloom.post) I was able to create some nice effects, some didn't really work very well. I wasn't sure how to tweak the code in the files to cause much of a difference. If you want to see, its somewhere in the custom graphics driver thread (more towards the start). I wanted cell-shading which I think is entirely possible if you know how to write the code, but I remember someone saying that it would have to be main.frag and vert.frag that had to be changed for that, as opposed to the actual postprocessing shader. If I can find the link to the post I'll put it here.


EDIT: Found it http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=8306.msg108753#msg108753

Note that the photos were taken at a time long before the whole "team avalanche" stuff.
« Last Edit: 2010-01-03 02:00:07 by Prince Lex »

CyberPirate

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #13 on: 2010-01-04 10:14:51 »
1920x1080 here!

AlbusJC

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 1
  • If you really love something let it go
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #14 on: 2010-01-04 16:05:10 »
1280x1024

Salk

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #15 on: 2010-01-05 11:54:46 »
1024x768 here.

You might want to run a poll actually.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3689
  • Karma: 42
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #16 on: 2010-01-05 14:58:37 »
I would if i knew how to run a poll

Marc

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 445
  • Karma: 0
  • I hear Voices ... in my head
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #17 on: 2010-01-05 22:09:40 »
I run at 720p.

I'd suggest keeping your current work as its more future-proof and ... welll ... its already done ?

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3689
  • Karma: 42
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #18 on: 2010-01-06 00:55:29 »
I run at 720p.

I'd suggest keeping your current work as its more future-proof and ... welll ... its already done ?

Well i would never downgrade the working textures below the 4x the original texture. As for a seperate install for people that run lower resolutions it does seem to make a huge difference in image quality if i tweak them. So it would still be future proof so to speak

Masqurin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #19 on: 2010-01-06 21:22:16 »
1024x768 for me. I can run it at 1280x1024/960 I just choose not to.
Exactly the same for me. :)

gumil

  • Guest
Re: Resolution
« Reply #20 on: 2010-01-07 12:59:50 »
1366x768 please

d33eniz

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 174
  • Karma: 1
  • I am watching for you... but I can't find you...
    • View Profile
    • United ODC Corporation
Re: Resolution
« Reply #21 on: 2010-01-07 18:54:15 »
window_size_x = 1280
window_size_y = 800
preserve_aspect = no
fullscreen = yes

Well, playing on a laptop, fullscreen, native laptop screen resolution- anything differnt looks bad- and I mean it: BAD. xD"

sithlord48

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 1520
  • Karma: 33
  • Dark Lord of the Savegame
    • View Profile
    • Blackchocobo
Re: Resolution
« Reply #22 on: 2010-01-08 12:02:02 »
i play on my monitor @ 1680*1050 it is a 16:10 aspect.

Timber

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution
« Reply #23 on: 2010-01-08 16:29:10 »
I play at 1360x768 on my TV (with the aspect preserved), I find most TVs have this res.

hay

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 208
  • Karma: 1
  • If I had a buggy, I'd cross the southern desert
    • View Profile
    • The Gold Saucer Maintenance Crew
Re: Resolution
« Reply #24 on: 2010-01-08 18:04:35 »
1920x1200
if not:
1650x1050