Author Topic: [PSX/PC] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.7.2)  (Read 264798 times)

Green_goblin

  • Cool newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Parasite Eve Translation Project
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #375 on: 2014-10-12 13:43:13 »
Yes now it works, it looks like the "Makou_Reactor_en.qm" included in the 1.6.2 release is not ok.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #376 on: 2014-10-12 14:22:47 »
Mystere, did you look at the bug I mentioned before, where when saving over fields on your harddrive (or whatever), it adds on the current field to the existing saved field?  It doesn't do a proper overwrite.  In order to get a proper save, I have to delete the existing field and then save.

myst6re

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: 60
  • Light King of the Savegame - Field Master - FF8.fr
    • View Profile
    • FF8.fr
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #377 on: 2014-10-12 14:30:02 »
Mystere, did you look at the bug I mentioned before, where when saving over fields on your harddrive (or whatever), it adds on the current field to the existing saved field?  It doesn't do a proper overwrite.  In order to get a proper save, I have to delete the existing field and then save.

More or less, I added the truncate flag where it lacks, but I have not tested.



I reuploaded Makou 1.6.2 with correct qm files, I think it was compiled for Qt 5, not 4.8.5.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #378 on: 2014-10-12 14:43:47 »
When you save over a file though, why not just issue a delete to the current one?  Why is it adding data to a file you are trying to overwrite?  Most overwrites simply delete the old and write the current?

myst6re

  • Freak
  • *
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: 60
  • Light King of the Savegame - Field Master - FF8.fr
    • View Profile
    • FF8.fr
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #379 on: 2014-10-12 14:57:21 »
When you save over a file though, why not just issue a delete to the current one?  Why is it adding data to a file you are trying to overwrite?  Most overwrites simply delete the old and write the current?

Yes, the truncate flag is a shortcut to do that.  I forgot to use it for iso file (that's your bug?) and AKAO/tuto file exportation.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #380 on: 2014-10-12 15:06:17 »
I see :)

Yeah, that sounds about right!

meesbaker

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #381 on: 2014-10-21 22:18:36 »
Hey myst6re, thx again for updating your tool. I modded more than half the game by now and all issues are gone. ;)

Now Im needing a little help. Im trying to give Wutai the initial status that it usually has after the episode with Yuffie. That means I want the tower and the stores to work and so on...it's easily done with a save edit but I want Wutai to behave that way when visiting it for the first time.

Any ideas?

vayneruel

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #382 on: 2014-10-22 15:50:14 »
If you set to bit 4 In var 3- 189 and bit on 6 in var 3- 207 you close Yuffie side quest so Wutai works normally.
Bit on 16 in var 3- 189 close the tower event.

meesbaker

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #383 on: 2014-10-23 00:17:53 »
Thx that worked.

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #384 on: 2014-10-23 01:10:42 »
Is there a way to play only parts of movies? Or a hack (displaying something over it, etc).. I want to reduce the length of intro. Not sure if the movie controls allow this though.

Also is there an easy way to fade music (in and out)? I have seen the fade music transition function (such as in Shinra mansion when Sephiroth throws materia at Cloud), but not sure how it operates, when I use it, it just seems the same as changing the volume.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #385 on: 2014-10-23 07:46:35 »
The intro movie is hardcoded in the exe (or at least parts of it are) if I remember...  The others are editable in Makou.

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #386 on: 2014-10-23 15:37:40 »
The intro movie is hardcoded in the exe (or at least parts of it are) if I remember...  The others are editable in Makou.
I'm only developing for PS1, I was able to skip it (at least in an emulator) but then it just shows you at the train station straight away so it looks a little weird. I'll see if I can come up with another solution..

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #387 on: 2014-10-23 15:40:09 »
My apologies.  :)

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #388 on: 2014-10-23 22:53:29 »
By the way, your Japanese encoding is great myst6re, its the only program I can use for changing text in the JP versions. I know its only a field editor, but is there a way to also change the text for items & menus without corrupting everything (while wallstreet is great, it can't be used with JP versions)?

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #389 on: 2014-10-23 23:06:18 »
Use touphScript.

See tools.
Though it doesn't work with PSX... :( yet.

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #390 on: 2014-10-23 23:33:25 »
Use touphScript.

See tools.
Though it doesn't work with PSX... :( yet.
Yeah, I would of thought text formats would be quite similar. Though no idea to be honest. Well, I hope someone can do it sooner or later. As well as maybe font extract/importation, don't think that can be done on JP version either with current tools..

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #391 on: 2014-10-24 23:22:53 »
Hi Mystere, it's getting late here and I've had a few beers, but I think I can do this  :-D

Earlier today I had an idea of how to get round this silly var /byte issue with the banks.

Basically... get rid of the vars.

For the user, let's deal in banks (1-5) and "Temp" (field [5] and [6]) being temporary.

So when a user uses a 16 bit write, you'd make it so Makou used the correct code, but to the user it would look like 16 bit write to a bank.  So  "Bank [2][222]" instead of "Var [3][222] or Var[4][222]".  And with this method, the actual bytes used can be verified.  The user would be dealing with actual bytes and the actual banks.
« Last Edit: 2014-10-26 13:29:00 by DLPB »

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [1.5.1] Makou Reactor - a FF7 field editor
« Reply #392 on: 2014-10-30 17:20:14 »
Quote
Little request if you don't mind, it would be cool to copy and paste models and animations from one field to another without having to manually set them. Like copy Red XIII's model and animations from bugin2, and paste it into mds5_1 for example.

Done, thanks for the suggestion.
I just noticed the above posts, but I can't seem to do this, how do I copy for example, a chest or potion field model, into another field? When I try it doesn't show the correct model preview (or none at all). This is for all PS versions. If I just save it, does it show up in-game? Or is this a PC only feature? Thanks! :)

Edit: No worries, figured it out!
« Last Edit: 2014-10-31 12:01:51 by Roden »

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #393 on: 2014-11-02 22:12:26 »
Can someone check Woa_3 > drctr > s0-main

It looks to me like this entire scene is never seen.  I don't think it's supposed to be seen either, since the screen it would have to come after doesn't allow for it.  I'm chalking this one down to a redundant conversation.
« Last Edit: 2014-11-02 22:17:08 by DLPB »

Sega Chief

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 3453
  • Karma: 198
  • These guys is sick
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #394 on: 2014-11-03 03:25:17 »
That conversation doesn't play and it's definitely redundant in any case; the dialogue from Text 68-70 in Field 293 more or less performs the same function but in less words.

DLPB

  • No life
  • *
  • Posts: 10306
  • Karma: 270
  • The ascension of the ordinary man
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #395 on: 2014-11-03 21:17:34 »
This one definitely was intended :) >

trnad_2 > 1 > s0 - main

Var check for ID has been set to 68 instead of 69.  Both are highwind main bridge, so script coder (kyonen) has gotten confused. 

The scene sees Cloud say "So... Rufus is here too."

I've placed it back into the Reunion retranslation.

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #396 on: 2014-11-10 22:57:09 »
I just came across maybe a major bug with the PS1 version. I was using the open ISO feature on a clean ISO, I removed all the unused text from rootmap.dat (the train screen in midgar), and started adding some new text and dialog display. It worked fine (both in-game and in editor), at least for awhile... after making a few extra changes I went to play the game again and my changes stopped showing up. Makou saved the file and scripts fine, but the game would only show me my old version (not any new changes).

Why would the game show the old version when it clearly saves a new one? I checked the LBA of the Rootmap.dat and it was moved to 1227.

So I exported the script from Makou and inserted it using MassIsoUpdate on a different ISO and it worked fine as it should.. so the script is saving correctly. So I inserted 30kb of script and the LBA changed to 1570. But the Makou ISO is just always stuck showing me the old version (I don't even know where it could possibly store that old script since its saving the new script?). Weird huh! It must not be updating Field.dat properly or something?

meesbaker

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #397 on: 2014-11-10 23:14:34 »
MR auto deletes unused text, so if you create new dialogue but never call upon it in a field script the dialogue will just be erased.

Roden

  • Crazy poster
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #398 on: 2014-11-10 23:24:40 »
MR auto deletes unused text, so if you create new dialogue but never call upon it in a field script the dialogue will just be erased.
Nah, that's definitely not the issue, for a couple of reasons:
1. I only touched this field manually.
2. I never use that auto function, doesn't sound useful to me (plus too risky).
3. I made changes not to do with dialogue also.
4. Obviously I did call upon it.

I just copied a fresh ISO and inserted that same script, and now the game just displays the game's default script without any changes at all, though the script IS inserted and viewable in Makou (again at LBA 1227, but its not linking to it). The script isn't even that much bigger than original either. So just seems a litttle strange MassIsoUpdate can handle this properly and Makou can't (since Makou can do everything else ;D)..
« Last Edit: 2014-11-10 23:26:29 by Roden »

meesbaker

  • Insane poster
  • *
  • Posts: 328
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
Re: [FF7PC/PSX] Field Editor - Makou Reactor (1.6.2)
« Reply #399 on: 2014-11-10 23:38:15 »
Strange, did you try inserting the new field file using cdprog? As long as your file is only slightly larger than the original one it will still fit into the sector.

Mostly that is the safest way to go. Extract your whole FIELD directory using cdmage, then mod the directory using MR and finally insert the modded files in cdprog, that's 100%.

Another issue when using a different method like Hack7 or MassIsoupdate is increasing the ISO size. As I know that you are creating mods you should know that it is pretty tricky to have the image size increased as you can't make small ppfs anymore.

For MR this may be a small bug in the save ISO function.