Author Topic: alright guys, i need your help  (Read 5254 times)

Boudreaux

alright guys, i need your help
« on: 2005-06-02 16:55:04 »
Like many of you I love FFVII, but never got a chance to finish it on my old playstation...

So, a recently aquired friend let me borrow his FFVII for PC...before install i did some research and realized that i need patches...

I started playing the game, and everything worked great "right outta the box" but then i got to the part where cloud must race the chocobo, and low and behold, it crashes..

so, following your FAQ which i was directed to from another site, i downloaded the chocobo patch, but this is where my problem begins...

my computer has this weird virus/program that does not allow me to go into "my computer" or "my documents".  When i click to go into these folders, the computer freezes up for a minute... then all the icons on my desktop dissapear, and then everything "returns to normal"...  

as you would guess, this makes it a problem getting to my recently downloaded chocobo patch.  Now, i know this does not directly corolate to FFVII, but if someone coudl help me get rid of whatever is causing this, it would be greatly appreciated so i could go on and finally finish ffVII.

Here's what i know...i have a program that i beleive is causing it all, called "drwatson postmortum debugger" and i think it may have come from a windows update, but i am not sure.  whenever i go into the task manager and end the process for that program, everything runs normal.  When i attempt to get into my documents or my cpu, it comes back up in the task manager processes list.  

Heres how it looks when you go to the task manager
 "drwtsn32.exe"

Now, i suck w/ computers and tweaking them to work better and what not, in fact i have virtually no knowledge (as i dont know how to 'apply' the patch that i d/led either).  I tried deleting the program from my harddrive/computer to no avail, so i am at a loss of what to do next.