Author Topic: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0  (Read 4834 times)

DK23

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« on: 2020-03-05 13:32:37 »
Hello,

I tried to use 7th Heaven 2.0 but when I click "Play", I have this error :

### Launching Final Fantasy VII ###
Checking FF7 is not running ...
Checking FF7 .exe exists at C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\FF7.exe ...
Verifying installed game is compatible ...
Verifying game is not installed in a System/Protected folder ...
Verifying game is full/max install ...
...    field\flevel.lgp not found. Scanning disc(s) for files ...
...     failed to find field\flevel.lgp on any disc ...
Your FF7 installation folder is missing critical file(s). When you installed FF7, you may have accidentally chosen to install the 'Standard Install', but the 'Maximum Install' is required.

7th Heaven can repair this for you automatically. Simply insert one of your game discs and try again.
Failed to launch FF7. View the above log for details.


I've installed the game from Steam, under C:\Steam\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VII\FF7.exe (so not in Prgm Files Folder)

But when I install, I don't have 'Std Install' or 'Maximum Install'
I've tried to reinstall the game, reinstall 7th Heaven but still not working

Any idea ?

Thanks

Flash0429

  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #1 on: 2020-03-05 14:40:42 »
seems like you may be running a non-english version of the game, unfortunately currently 7th Heaven cannot automatically convert a non-English version of the game for use with modding. However, you can use the old Game Converter to convert your game and then run 7th Heaven 2.0 which may work.

DK23

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #2 on: 2020-03-05 21:52:09 »
I worked like a charm !

Thank's a lot !

devinthedude3

  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #3 on: 2020-04-30 00:55:15 »
seems like you may be running a non-english version of the game, unfortunately currently 7th Heaven cannot automatically convert a non-English version of the game for use with modding. However, you can use the old Game Converter to convert your game and then run 7th Heaven 2.0 which may work.

I am having the same situation. I have never modded a game before or used steam. I am a major noob. please can you explain what the old game converter is, where and how I use it. Thank you for any help.

Nakira

  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #4 on: 2020-05-12 09:23:46 »
I have the same problem.

What is the "old game convertert" and how to use it?

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #5 on: 2020-05-12 13:37:21 »
I added a Step 6 with a download to the Game Converter.

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15520.msg218296#msg218296

Forron

  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Hi there!
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #6 on: 2020-05-17 11:11:46 »
I added a Step 6 with a download to the Game Converter.

http://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=15520.msg218296#msg218296

Thank you! Sadly is there WAS no music after converting.
After re downloading "damaged" files via steam it worked like a charm. But sadly Mods don't apply.
« Last Edit: 2020-05-17 11:52:34 by Forron »

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #7 on: 2020-05-19 05:15:32 »
Save the music files before using the Converter, then copy them back. Or download a music mod.

Forron

  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Hi there!
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #8 on: 2020-05-19 09:28:08 »
Thank you for the reply. The music works again, but the mods still don't work.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #9 on: 2020-05-19 15:20:57 »
They work, I promise :) It's possible you don't have the paths set correctly in Settings > General Settings.
« Last Edit: 2020-05-19 15:22:36 by EQ2Alyza »

khal

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #10 on: 2020-05-21 12:59:01 »
Did you managed to load the mods?
I had the same problem (could not start the game from 7th Heaven due to flevel.lgp missing).
Used the game converter, now the game starts but no mod get applied :(

I don't see any strange thing in applog.txt or FF7_GC.log but that's the first time I mod FF7 so I may be missing something.
The only strange thing I see is the textures path specified in "General -> Settings" (and in 7H_GameDriver.cfg mod_path) points to an empty folder (INSTALLATION_FOLDER\mods\Textures).
It's seems the only thing modified when installing a mod is the folder INSTALLATION_FOLDER\mods\7th Heaven where the .iro is stored, so maybe something is not working correctly.

EQ2Alyza

  • 7th Heaven Crew
  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 3199
  • Dilly-Dally Shilly-Shally
    • View Profile
    • EQ2Alyza - YouTube Channel
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #11 on: 2020-05-21 13:28:51 »
\mods\Textures is just an assigned folder for the memory injections during gameplay. It'll always be empty outside of game and nothing needs to be put into it.

If mods (none? some?) aren't applying ingame, then you'll first need to check your Settings > General Settings paths to make sure they point to the correct locations.

khal

  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start from 7th Heaven 2.0
« Reply #12 on: 2020-05-21 14:16:58 »
Oh ok now I understand why it's empty, thanks.

None of the mods were working, but you were right, something was not working correctly with my ff7 exe path location in "General Settings".
I changed it to "INSTALLATION_FOLDER\ff7_fr.exe" when I installed 7th Heaven because I have no ff7.exe in my localized game.
But it's seems to cause problem.
I just renamed it to "ff7.exe" and changed the path again in "General Settings" and now it works, mods seems to get applied.
I guess the injection method only look for a specific exe name?
Anyway thanks for your help, I will now try to setup everything in order to be able to play ;)