Author Topic: hard drive mod path  (Read 3096 times)

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
hard drive mod path
« on: 2014-06-30 22:28:30 »
Essentially, this

INFO: tried to load g:\game\ff7\/mods/bootleg/field/blin62_3/blin62_3_15_00.png, failed

times 200 is my problem.
As you can see it tries to find an impossible path like ff7\/mods
thats \ followed by /, not a V
Where does the game store this path? I searched the registry but couldn't find it and it's also not in a config file.

Kaldarasha

  • *
  • Posts: 2450
  • Prince of Model Editing
    • View Profile
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #1 on: 2014-06-30 23:13:33 »
I don't understand why there is a switch from \ to /. ???
The path itself is only for Aali's driver to replace the field texture of blin62.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11008
    • View Profile
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #2 on: 2014-06-30 23:30:22 »
All of the modpath slashes are wrong.  Is this a problem with Aali's driver?

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #3 on: 2014-07-01 00:31:36 »
Well, this is sitting on a external drive
I remember that I did something a long time ago to play some japanese game that switched part of my OS to japanese.
for example, in my bootleg config, it shows the japanese yen symbol instead of the slash but when copy pasted it is just the slash
That's probably the cause of the error because upon further inspection, that copy pastes to this
G:\Game\FF7\mods\
if windows is simply confused and reads the path like that because of my windows settings, then I don't even know how to fix this because I don't remember what I did to get to this state to begin with. Something with the regional settings, I believe.

found it. system locale.
reboot might take a while, so, uh, I'll report back.

So it's not my system locale.
And I have no idea how to fix something with Aali's driver
« Last Edit: 2014-07-01 00:47:28 by Tenko Kuugen »

Vgr

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2163
  • If it quacks like a duck, it must be a duck
    • View Profile
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #4 on: 2014-07-03 01:07:04 »
It's always been like this (or at least for a long time) and, IIRC, it's not a problem. Something else might have gone weird. Or so I think, I could be wrong.

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #5 on: 2014-07-03 04:36:30 »
Pretty sure an impossible path is not something normal.

Where is this path stored anyway? It has to be stored /somewhere/ and that means I can edit it and fix this.

Kranmer

  • *
  • Posts: 766
    • View Profile
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #6 on: 2014-07-03 08:08:53 »
Reason this happens is because the registry for FF7 sets the path like this
g:\game\ff7\
but Aali's Driver uses
/mods/
for the mod folder, so the registry is being read then Aali's driver uses that info and adds /mods to the end of it so you end up with the odd path name but it still works it just looks odd.
And if you really did want to fix it i suppose you could just alter the registry from
g:\game\ff7\
to
g:/game/ff7
and that would fix the mod path name problem (although it really doesn't need fixing, like VGR said its always been this way and still works fine)

In the registry its at
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII
on X86 machines and on X64 machines its at
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Square Soft, Inc.\Final Fantasy VII

Tenko Kuugen

  • Public Enemy
  • *
  • Posts: 1416
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #7 on: 2014-07-03 15:53:46 »
If the pathing isnt the issue, what would be causing this?
INFO: tried to load g:\game\ff7\/mods/bootleg/flevel/sibuki4_00.png, failed

this happens for basically all the textures in the mods folder

Kranmer

  • *
  • Posts: 766
    • View Profile
Re: hard drive mod path
« Reply #8 on: 2014-07-03 17:18:10 »
Well 1 question, does the file its trying to load exist ? if not then thats why the error is happening,
And the reason for 100's of failed lines in the app.log are usually because of a line in the ff7_opengl.cfg
show_missing_textures = yes
just set this to "no" and it usually stops all those messages in the app.log
Hope that helps.