Author Topic: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)  (Read 347140 times)

singaporygon

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2a & v1.1a)
« Reply #775 on: 2023-09-14 17:32:32 »
Hey Callisto and forum. So I'm having a big issue with the EFIGS file on the remastered version of ffviii. I installed the Demaster folder fine about 3 weeks ago, and the changes were made to the game (spells in inventory in the beginning, double draw point, etc.) So I played through the game, not really thinking anything of why enemy magic attacks were hardly doing any damage to my characters. Lo and behold, later in the game I hit for 9999 capped damage and I finally realized I did something wrong, I forgot to install the EFIGS file. So I went back, patched the regular EFIGS.dll file with the EFIGS.ips file in the mod using the link, replaced the original file with the modded file and changed the name back to "EFIGS.dll". The game runs perfectly fine until I get into a battle. The characters ready their weapons, and then the game crashes with a message saying "an unknown exception has occurred." I can toss the backed up original EFIGS.dll file back in and the game runs normally, but without break damage limit, magic damage balanced and no draw cap. I'm wondering if anyone has a solution to this issue or can tell me what I did wrong, because I want the end part of the game to be as difficult as possible.

Callisto everytime i try patch my FFVIII_EFIGS.dll file with your patching file, it goes to the An unknown exception has occurred screen when i first boot up my final fantasy 8 remastered steam game using your mod

Callisto, I'm also getting an unknown exception when I try a newly patched EFIGS.dll.

It runs fine with the older EFIGS, and some new features are in there when its running, like Heal instead of Absorb, and Tents refining to Curas instead of Curagas.

But yeah, I can't break the 9999 limit and Library draw point is still Esuna (even though Squall starts with spells), when I use the older EFGIS.

Also would you please re-upload the zzz download and method? The link on the first page is dead. Thanks.
« Last Edit: 2023-09-14 17:40:10 by singaporygon »

singaporygon

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #776 on: 2023-09-18 18:01:02 »
EDIT: ACTUALLY I WAS LOOKING AT DRAW POINTS IN HYNE THAT WAS CONFUSING ME, WHICH STILL SAYS ESUNA, EVEN THOUGH I GET DOUBLE WHEN I ACTUALLY DRAW.

So now I'm really wondering if I actually have everything working anyways, even though I still have to use the old 2019 EFIGS.dll .
In beginning of Disc 3, I've used a high-level Quistis with high-magic and a high-leveled Diablos vs Malboro and only got 9999 dmg, which makes me think the limit is still there.
And in my recollection when attacking with standard Magic and receiving damage from standard Magic from Bosses, the damage seemed relatively pitiful.

Is there anything else, other than what it says on the front page, that I can test to be 110% sure I have Ragnarok fully implemented on FF8-R?

craigmiester

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #777 on: 2023-10-02 13:08:55 »
Hey Callisto, not sure if this thread is still active or not. My friend and I have played through and finished the mod (on Lionheart/hard mode, no-exp) and we have a few suggestions/ changes that can be improved upon.

Lambo_321

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #778 on: 2023-10-19 20:15:19 »
I'm running into an "Unknown exception error" that occurs at the start of battle. The battle screen loads in, the camera pans around the battlefield and settles on to the characters, then when the ATB bars should start filling, the game crashes. I have completely uninstalled the game, installed a clean vanilla version, and the game runs normally. I installed Roses and Wine, game functions normally. When I add the "lang-en" folder from the Ragnarok standard mode, the game functions normally. But when I add the Ragnarok_mod.txt file, the game crashes at the start of battle. I have also installed a bunch of other Tonberry compatible mods and all seem to be functioning normally. It's only when I add the Ragnarok mod file that the game crashes.

I've rebooted my PC, reinstalled the game, reinstalled all mods, downloaded a fresh copy of the Ragnarok mod, run the game as administrator, run the game in compatibility mode with Win7 as administrator, reinstalled all Microsoft Visual C++ redistributables from 2008-2022, ensured I'm using the latest driver for my GPU (RTX 3070), uninstalled Microsoft One Drive, and removed the mod to make it to a later battle in the game, then added the mod back and it still crashed. I'm at a total loss as to what to even attempt next.

Description
Faulting Application Path:   C:\Games\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VIII\FF8_EN.exe

Problem signature
Problem Event Name:   BEX
Application Name:   FF8_EN.exe
Application Version:   1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp:   38ee7395
Fault Module Name:   FF8_EN.exe
Fault Module Version:   1.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp:   38ee7395
Exception Offset:   00776921
Exception Code:   c0000005
Exception Data:   00000008
OS Version:   10.0.19045.2.0.0.768.101
Locale ID:   1033
Additional Information 1:   8e0c
Additional Information 2:   8e0cbb031b705f73124165af984eb9bc
Additional Information 3:   4546
Additional Information 4:   4546e4b6f9abfac94c7f988eabde7704

Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID:   77b6dd514d7885a2e74e97f776a89e21 (1679446800159252001)

gunner_1207

  • *
  • Posts: 121
  • If your upright an above ground,its a gd day
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #779 on: 2023-10-21 19:41:07 »
for the 2013 version does this work with all the wonderful graphical mods?

Final_Figue

  • *
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #780 on: 2023-10-31 02:02:45 »
Hello.

This mod works with the Remastered version? It is compatible with other mods?

rassellek

  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #781 on: 2023-11-24 12:13:56 »
I'm running into an "Unknown exception error" that occurs at the start of battle. The battle screen loads in, the camera pans around the battlefield and settles on to the characters, then when the ATB bars should start filling, the game crashes. I have completely uninstalled the game, installed a clean vanilla version, and the game runs normally. I installed Roses and Wine, game functions normally. When I add the "lang-en" folder from the Ragnarok standard mode, the game functions normally. But when I add the Ragnarok_mod.txt file, the game crashes at the start of battle. I have also installed a bunch of other Tonberry compatible mods and all seem to be functioning normally. It's only when I add the Ragnarok mod file that the game crashes.

I've rebooted my PC, reinstalled the game, reinstalled all mods, downloaded a fresh copy of the Ragnarok mod, run the game as administrator, run the game in compatibility mode with Win7 as administrator, reinstalled all Microsoft Visual C++ redistributables from 2008-2022, ensured I'm using the latest driver for my GPU (RTX 3070), uninstalled Microsoft One Drive, and removed the mod to make it to a later battle in the game, then added the mod back and it still crashed. I'm at a total loss as to what to even attempt next.

Description
Faulting Application Path:   C:\Games\steamapps\common\FINAL FANTASY VIII\FF8_EN.exe

Problem signature
Problem Event Name:   BEX
Application Name:   FF8_EN.exe
Application Version:   1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp:   38ee7395
Fault Module Name:   FF8_EN.exe
Fault Module Version:   1.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp:   38ee7395
Exception Offset:   00776921
Exception Code:   c0000005
Exception Data:   00000008
OS Version:   10.0.19045.2.0.0.768.101
Locale ID:   1033
Additional Information 1:   8e0c
Additional Information 2:   8e0cbb031b705f73124165af984eb9bc
Additional Information 3:   4546
Additional Information 4:   4546e4b6f9abfac94c7f988eabde7704

Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID:   77b6dd514d7885a2e74e97f776a89e21 (1679446800159252001)


Hello! I have the same problem. I deleted the line from Ragnarok_mod.txt:
#ATB Wait behavior rewritten (redirection to code cave)
A9450 = E9 CC D4 6C 00 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
This helped solve the problem. I'm not sure what it affects, but the game doesn't crash anymore. THY!

heromic

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #782 on: 2023-12-03 17:45:00 »
Hi Callisto. Which lines / files have you changed to make these ATB modifications?
i have a fully customized game now and want to make just the changes on atb without overwriting entire files if possible

**EDIT** Ok i tried to overwhite all archives and doesn't seem to be working, when i select target in wait mode the time still goes on. and the enemies are still attacking like crazy.
« Last Edit: 2023-12-04 17:43:29 by heromic »

Callisto

  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #783 on: 2023-12-11 05:48:18 »
Hey heromic. ATB related changes are located in the .txt file loosely included in the DL package. Edit it so that it contains only the following lines:

Code: [Select]
600000:1000
+400000

#Status duration per ATB speed setting adjustment (to accommodate change at 844AE)
83307 = 30
83318 = 83 C1 04 56 0F AF D1 8B 4C 24 08 D1 E2 90 8D 34 49 8D 0C B1 5E 8D 04 C8 66 89 14 45 64 7B D2 01 C3

#Narrowing of ATB filling speed based on settings in Config menu
844AE = 83 C1 06 8D 0C 89 8D 0C 89 8D 14 89 C1 E2 05 89 50 10 C7 40 14 00 00 00 00 C3

#Narrowing of Summoning bar speed based on settings in Config menu (redirection to code cave)
8D8F1 = E9 87 B3 6D 00 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90

#ATB Wait behavior rewritten (redirection to code cave)
A9450 = E9 CC D4 6C 00 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90

#Summoning bar speed (narrowing per ATB speed setting)
768C7B = 90 90 8D 0C C0 8D 14 48 31 C9 8D 04 93 8B 15 38 E7 CF 01 81 E2 FF 00 00 00 66 8B 0C 45 D8 E0 CF 01 83 C2 04 0F AF CA B8 EB A0 0E EA F7 E9 01 CA 8D 0C F5 00 00 00 00 C1 FA 06 E9 6D 4C 92 FF

#ATB stops when selecting targets in Wait Mode; ATB keeps running while searching for spells in Selphie's Slot and during escape attempts even when in menus
776921 = F6 05 3C E7 CF 01 01 74 74 6A 00 E8 CF D4 88 FF 8A 88 BD 03 00 00 83 C4 04 80 F9 04 74 5F 6A 00 E8 BA D4 88 FF 8A 88 A0 03 00 00 83 C4 04 F6 C1 03 75 4A 6A 00 E8 A5 D4 88 FF 8A 88 F8 03 00 00 83 C4 04 80 F9 1D 74 35 6A 00 E8 90 D4 88 FF 8A 88 DB 03 00 00 83 C4 04 84 C9 7C 21 6A 00 E8 7C D4 88 FF 8A 88 AE 03 00 00 83 C4 04 F6 C1 20 74 0C E8 39 6A 93 FF 85 C0 74 03 31 C0 C3 B8 01 00 00 00 C3

Also set ATB Multiplier in kernel.bin to18-20 using Doomtrain tool to get adequate ATB filling speed that is not overly slow.

To those encountering crashes using the aforementioned ATB patch: I have double-checked before initially uploading it and then again after issues were reported here, but didn't encounter any crashes at the start of a battle. I also know of at least one person who got the changes working correctly.

Make sure to disable any other mods that alter the .exe file, as they could cause conflicts when used in conjunction (the hard mode included in the Lunatic Pandora package comes to mind). That's pretty much my only guess for now, sorry for the inconvenience.

kakayijo160

  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #784 on: 2023-12-11 13:57:30 »
@Callisto:Shop inventories are stored in shop.bin, a file contained in the menu.fs archive that can be extracted with the Deling tool. As there is currently no tool to edit the shop.bin file, you need a hex editor to do so. Every shop is 32 bytes each, with every item using two bytes. First byte is Item ID followed by either 00 or FF - FF means item is available right away, while 00 means it requires Tonberry's Familiar Ability to become available.                         I notice that Shop.bin doesn't contain the sale price of every item, where I can find them?

heromic

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #785 on: 2023-12-11 19:48:44 »
Thanks, Callisto, now atb works fine!
i think you haven't added all those lines in the new update, there's some lines missing there.

another thing:
how can i change the critical lv value of limit break
i inserted some values from somewhere (don't remenber who give the code) and the limit comes only when hp is very low, but unfortunately it comes only at critical lv1. i don't know how to change to other critical lv and how to change how much HP left to trigger limit. i just don't understand hexadecimal numbers.
the text i used is this:

#+400000
#Crisis Level Check
#941F0 - Start

#Formula:
#HPMod=2500*CurrentHP/MaxHP
#DeathBonus=DeadCharacters*200+1600
#StatusBonus=StatusSum+10
#RandomMod=[0..255]+160 - 942E7
#LimitLevel=(StatusBonus+DeathBonus-HPMod)/RandomMod

#Random MOD 0-255 + 160 [Set to 0 for no variance]
942E7 = 83 E1 00 90 90 90
#Default: +160, Current = +255
942F2 = 81 C1 FF 00 00 00

#Change this to EB 09 (or JMP 494329) to set 'fixed' crisis level proc
#or deactivate limits altogether with 0
#9431E
EB 09

#94329 - Where crisis level 4 checked for, can be changed to any level or 0

heromic

  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #786 on: 2023-12-14 18:18:06 »
oh, and how can i make enc-none funcional in the deep sea?
my game crashes every 5 battles down there (don't know why), and i can't reach ultimate weapon with that many battles!
if can't be done, how can i deactivate battles in that map?

albert

  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #787 on: 2023-12-16 08:27:52 »
oh, and how can i make enc-none funcional in the deep sea?
my game crashes every 5 battles down there (don't know why), and i can't reach ultimate weapon with that many battles!
if can't be done, how can i deactivate battles in that map?

Enc-None is availdable in deep sea except you use zell special methold to fix the machine, If you do that there are 3 times forced combat in every stage on the way, whatever you put on the Enc-None or not, that's a script.

About your game crash, I highly suspect of the enemy parameters has something wrong, when it be loaded it cause the crush. please make a record for enemy team of every battle in the deep sea, It's helpful for trouble shooting.

Newman0929

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #788 on: 2023-12-23 00:57:07 »
I’ve been struggling to get either version to run on the steam deck

In the  2013 version Squall has the spells in his inventory but the draw point in the library is not updating to double.

In the 2019 version I’m not seeing the spell or the draw point update.

Does anyone have any advice to get this up and running on a steam deck?

Thank You!
« Last Edit: 2023-12-23 03:24:57 by Newman0929 »

Matamanner

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2b & v1.1b)
« Reply #789 on: 2023-12-30 23:36:22 »
There are a few more enemies that use this attack, so sent a PM with a corrected kernel.bin. Thank you.

Hi @Callisto, I am loving the mod so far. Currently facing the same problem: game freezes when Tonberry King uses Arm Slash. As you said, it's probably a compatibility issue with other mods as I have installed both Succession, Ragnarok and Martial Law. Can you please share how to fix it please? Thanks very much!

Final_Figue

  • *
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #790 on: 2024-01-20 13:07:02 »
Hello Callisto.

This mod works with Chocobo World? Any advice to start in this mod? I just played the original FF8.

forkst

  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #791 on: 2024-01-27 21:00:37 »
sometimes when squall does his limit break on your ff8 mod on the ff8 2013 pc steam version, it crashes your mod alot

Lucaya

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #792 on: 2024-01-30 16:03:20 »
BOSS Fight:Schmelke Deling City Softlock

I have serious trouble to win this battle and there is no way back to lvl up anything.
The double boss is way too fast and deals a lot of dmg.

Any advice on how to beat it?
I usually die after 3 turns bc of resonance and petrifiication.
Even attempting to revive is futile.

Rikku

  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #793 on: 2024-02-04 09:51:01 »
Hi everyone.

Is this mod playable on steam deck ?
Does anyone try to install it?

Thank you

goldengoat

  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #794 on: 2024-02-12 19:38:14 »
If you're having issues with patching the remaster version there's been an issue with the demaster tool's latest version.
Use the older 1.3 Final version here:
https://github.com/MaKiPL/FF8_demaster/releases/tag/1.3.FINAL.2

skulldragon365

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #795 on: 2024-03-26 16:32:14 »
I wonder, was the AI changed in triple triad as well? I was attempting to do the early Quistis card manip and although I could get the correct card sequence, the positions played by the opponent didn't match what it should have been and make it impossible to win with previous strategies. Was this intentional or a byproduct of changes?

Rikku

  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #796 on: 2024-03-27 09:30:14 »
Hi, all.

Does anyone know how to install this mod on a Steam Deck ?

setafd

  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #797 on: 2024-03-28 00:29:44 »
Hi, all.

Does anyone know how to install this mod on a Steam Deck ?

yes, I recommend installing FF8 on your PC and on your Steam Deck, installing the mod over your PC installation, and then copying and replacing the PC installation over your Steam Deck installation

Malekith

  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #798 on: 2024-04-06 18:14:00 »
Any news about new version?
I'm looking forward to do my 3rd run in lionheart.

A fix I would like to see that would improve game a lot is limit being rolled only once ATB fills and not refreshable.

Triple nerf to 1-2 uses would be much more preferable than complete removal.

Also due to how SPR/VIT formula works gets a too strong later on (and very weak early).

Is there any way to have an harder difficulty?

Squall_Lokhart

  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [FF8PC-Steam] Ragnarok Rebalancing Mod (v1.2.3 & v1.1b)
« Reply #799 on: 2024-04-26 22:42:22 »
Hi all,
i would like to learn how to mod this game to make some tailored customizations to my liking
is there any guide that allows us to learn this?

also, i like the lionheart mod a lot, but knowing that it's not possible to farm rosetta stones in district prison did disappoint me
so the change i would mostly like to make is to make possible to have enc-none ability with diablos again, so maybe if i can't learn so easily how to mod, if anyone could only lend me the piece of code necessar to adjust this, would be enough for me