Author Topic: Make text into subtitles  (Read 7960 times)

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Make text into subtitles
« on: 2016-08-22 18:23:22 »
Anyone know how i can achieve this? I would like it to be like FFX style

For FF7 lol, how did i forget this ...
« Last Edit: 2016-08-22 20:18:25 by Tsunamix »

JWP

  • *
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #1 on: 2016-08-22 18:32:48 »
Which FF game are you trying to do this with? You haven't mentioned it or put it in the topic

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #2 on: 2016-08-22 18:41:59 »
I had a look at this before - it can be done (if you mean FF7).  But here's why I didn't do it: It doesn't work without voices.  You'll find it hard to know who is talking and will be continually glancing down to the bottom of the screen - which takes you away from the story and characters.

If you still want to do it - you will need either Makou Reactor - or touphScript.  Every dialogue will need to be manually changed into longer line sentences (page breaks can still be used) - and the box manually placed.  It will be a monumental effort.  Using touphScript and perhaps some programming you could maybe make the text and boxes go where you want automatically, and then clean up the ones that went wrong.  Otherwise - good luck!

PS you can use my tool BoxFF7 to preview a change in realtime.
« Last Edit: 2016-08-22 18:43:52 by DLPB »

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #3 on: 2016-08-22 19:29:33 »
Perfect,  i did think Box FF7 would do it. The only reason i haven't tried this was with my voices mod i would have to release the subtitle change too. I haven't got the program to work with 7H yet so it'll be standard. How would i get the new text areas back into the game? So i can release the Flevel after with the pack

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #4 on: 2016-08-22 19:48:33 »
ts and makou change flevel directly.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #5 on: 2016-08-22 20:18:46 »
Okay i got it all. This is gonna take a while but meh. Can i make the boxes .. not be box's using MR too? Transparent like or do i hex that
« Last Edit: 2016-08-22 21:10:36 by Tsunamix »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #6 on: 2016-08-22 22:18:20 »
MR can set windows to transparent - and you'll need to do that to every window.  Or - better yet - just hex edit to get rid of them.  But you may need certain windows to exist.  If so, don't hex edit.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #7 on: 2016-08-22 22:28:44 »
Yup, you're getting myn ext thing before i even say it. When it comes to having subtitles i need them boxes transparent but when it comes to choices i need them not to be.

EDIT: I got the transparency sorted along with the subtitle effect. Only thing i need now is how do i make the pointer hand start at option 0..

Example

        Yes
        No -- Pointer starts here, i can move it up but i'd like it to start there
« Last Edit: 2016-08-23 00:02:04 by Tsunamix »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #8 on: 2016-08-23 00:07:24 »
If you want it to start at that point, you simply set the temp var (this will be [5][ x ]).  Set it before the option operation.  Line 0 = first line.  So if you wanted it to start on line 2, you'd use

Code: [Select]
[5][x] = 1
If the var set operation doesn't exist - create it.

Look at other examples in other fields, and you'll see how it's done.
« Last Edit: 2016-08-23 00:09:22 by DLPB »

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #9 on: 2016-08-23 00:20:57 »
Got it, can't believe i missed that. Is there any way to use that extra black section at the bottom? I'd like to be able to move the text down a little more.

I can do it with Box FF7 using the Shift technique but can i do the same in MR? It actually makes a big difference
« Last Edit: 2016-08-23 00:49:34 by Tsunamix »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #10 on: 2016-08-23 00:59:05 »
I am not sure.  But moving it down will have negative effect on Steam version. It will be obscured if too low.  You are much better off making it appear in the game area.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #11 on: 2016-08-23 01:27:07 »
Fair enough, thanks for your help

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #12 on: 2016-08-23 18:08:09 »
Do you have a way to install MO +Reunion without 7H? I did try it using your installer but it wasn't the same. For my Ultrasound and subtitle mod i'll be using these also but to make the subtitles i'll need your new font and stuff. I have no clue how to make everything compatible. Even if i make it work with 7H is it possible to join the 2 Flevel's together and still work with MO?

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #13 on: 2016-08-23 18:13:44 »
The older Reunion is the only thing that now supports the MO.  It explains it on the main post.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #14 on: 2016-08-23 18:15:36 »
The translation wont be the same then though will it? Okay can i use the IRO file, go into because-On/flevel and put them into 1 flevel somehow

EDIT: Well i'll be going through every piece of text anyway to subtitle it so i can change them as i come along. But can i still make it compatible with MO. There is no specific placements affect that is there? Like with the HEX
« Last Edit: 2016-08-23 18:18:08 by Tsunamix »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #15 on: 2016-08-23 18:31:31 »
That's the downside. It will be the old text.  I don't support the modern font or MO anymore since it doesn't fit in with the original style at all.  The engine just wasn't designed for it tbh.

It will be a lot of messing on your part if you need MO to have latest text.   :) 

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #16 on: 2016-08-23 18:49:02 »
Well, what im doing so far is playing your's through 7H and then running running my own and using MR to edit the text. I just really don't wanna have to try recreate your stuff. Waste of time and wont be as good. I'll do all the text myself as long as it will fit with MO.

EDIT: I just tried adding extra crap to a script and run it through 7h with MO but without reunion and it works fine. Would you up for adding my stuff when im finished to your pack for a collaboration mod. Have a subtitle style on/off but can not be on while reunion is?
« Last Edit: 2016-08-23 18:56:52 by Tsunamix »

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #17 on: 2016-08-23 19:13:03 »
The Reunion must remain separate.  It's far too much work for me to start adding other mods and what not.  It's a simple standalone installer now :)  But you are welcome to release your own mod - or ask 7H maintainer if you can add it. I am far too busy for anything else - and that's also one of the reasons MO was removed.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #18 on: 2016-08-23 19:20:41 »
Well i've actually played around with your IRO a lot myself for personal changes and used it to learn how to code xml files. I think i can do it entirely myself and just send it to you. But if you plan to scrap MO then i just might make my own if you don't mind

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #19 on: 2016-08-23 19:31:22 »
Yeah it's fine.  I'm definitely done with MO permanently. The original font and so on are supported in latest Reunion and menus have been cleaned up with it.

Tsuna

  • Global moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 792
  • Working together to create awesome things!
    • View Profile
    • The home of Tsunamods
Re: Make text into subtitles
« Reply #20 on: 2016-08-23 19:35:48 »
Alright cool. That's me busy for a long time then haha. Thank you