Final Fantasy 7 > General Discussion

FF7 Exp/AP Mod?

(1/2) > >>

Proloe:
Hey, so I'm pretty new to the FF7 modding scene. I'm not looking to modify things too much as I'm trying to play through the game effectively for the first time. My main concerns are just to clean up some of the graphics, add some QoL elements, and make the game a little bit less grindy.

I've got 7th Heaven installed and am working through the mods in the browser there, but one thing I'd like to do is to reduce some of the grinding by just increasing the EXP and AP awarded form battles, so that I don't have to worry about ending up under-levelled (my last attempt at running this game without mods had me blocked by being about 20 levels below what the game expected from me). I don't see a mod that can achieve that, only mods that make the game harder, or just give me EXP immediately, which isn't what I'm looking for. Does anyone know of any mods that might help with this, or how I could construct one myself?

Sega Chief:
The Bahamut tool can mass-edit enemy data, so what you could do is x2 the EXP given.

https://forums.qhimm.com/index.php?topic=18071.0

Target the game's scene.bin in FF7/DATA/BATTLE (1998 PC/7h version) or FF7/DATA/LANG-EN/BATTLE (Steam version).

As for making it into an IRO for use with 7h, the 7h Launcher has tools for doing this. Best way would be to visit the 7h site to read the documentation and/or unpack a pre-existing IRO and repurposing it into a new one with your adjusted scene.bin.