Author Topic: Did Halkun die again? (A Little off-topic)  (Read 8650 times)

halkun

• Global moderator
  • NicoNico :)
    • View Profile
    • Q-Gears Homepage
Did Halkun die again? (A Little off-topic)
« on: 2007-07-21 18:42:22 »
Hi, I'm not dead....
     Just wanted to give you guys a heads up on what I've been doing. The long and the short is that I've started a indy game comapny and I've been busy working on my first game.

Yea, remember that ""Pineapple Chronicle" thing? You know, where you were stuck on an island with a Japanese girl and you had to learn Japanese in order to survive with her. That's the game I'm working on full-time now. I'm taking what I learned from Q-gears and applying it to my game. Now I'm not taking any of the Q-gears code, this game will not be open source. Mostly I'm taking management ideas and frameworks I've learned while taking apart FF7.

Now, I'm not a game programmer. I was, at one time, a relational database programmer for the local police department. Even though you would think programming is programming, creating a game is massively different then writing parsers to convert VMS reports into SQL commands and depositing them into the correct table with the correct relational keys. But, as I have recently graduated college, I have now found myself with a disproportionate amount of time on my hands. Taking my skills I have accumulated over the years, I've decided to start an indy game company.

For those shocked by this, yes, I can actually code too. (Cyb has seen me slip when I say I don't and then all of the sudden I'm writing XML parsers for the Q-Gears homepage, and slipping code into the source tree.) Actually, in my downtime I've been learning C++, and have a good framework for my project going. Most of what I've been doing is throw-away prototypes, but it's shaping up into a really cool thing.