Author Topic: Full screen error  (Read 12152 times)

Enkixx

  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Full screen error
« on: 2010-11-11 02:19:53 »
I have done all I can think to do about this. It was working just fine before a week hiatus and the full screen just doesn't want to cooperate. I tried re-installing it twice. I just recently tried to play in full screen with just the basic package. Had yet to install Aali's Open_GL or Team Avalanche's install and the full screen came up just fine, but the moment I installed Aali's, I get an error saying that it couldn't set the requested full screen resolution.

Code: [Select]
# ff7_opengl-0.7.9b config file



## USER OPTIONS ##
## If you just want to play the game, these are the only options you'll want to change.

# set the window size (or fullscreen resolution) of FF7
# 0 means use original resolution (whatever ff7.exe provides)
# preserve_aspect adds black borders as needed to preserve a 4:3 aspect ratio
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0
preserve_aspect = yes
fullscreen = yes

# mod directory
# subdirectroy of mods/ where textures will be loaded from
# does not affect the old external textures feature, those should still go in textures/
mod_path = none

# check your driver settings if this option doesn't seem to work
enable_vsync = no

# limit snowboard, coaster and highway minigames to refresh rate / 2, i.e. 30fps for a 60hz display mode
# vsync must be enabled and working for this to have any effect
minigame_framelimiter = on

# same thing, but for the battle swirl
battleswirl_framelimiter = off

# allow FF7 to use linear filtering for its textures
# some things look slightly better with this option on, but alot of textures just lose their detail
linear_filter = off

# plugin used to play music, the FF7Music plugin MUST be enabled for FF7Music to work.
# If no music plugin is loaded the game will play MIDI as usual but FF7Music will NOT work.
#music_plugin = plugins/ff7music.fgp



## ENHANCEMENTS ##
## All the little extras that weren't part of the original game, default options include only trivial bug fixes.

# make all dialog boxes transparent, same effect as the transparent dialog boxes YAMP patch
transparent_dialogs = on

# allow max hp/mp to go over 9999, same effect as the YAMP patch by dziugo
break_9999limit = yes

# include armor in magic defense calculation
mdef_fix = yes

# expand battle viewport to cover entire screen and make the battle menu transparent
new_battle_interface = on

# post-processing shader, used to apply fullscreen effects
post_source = shaders/bloom2.post
enable_postprocessing = no



## ADVANCED OPTIONS ##
## Don't fiddle with these unless you know what you're doing.

# use shaders, if available and supported
# turn shaders off to use the OpenGL 1.1 backend
use_shaders = yes

# prevent glitches due to rounding errors by rendering in the nearest (larger, if supported)
# multiple of the original resolution and up/down-scaling
prevent_rounding_errors = yes

# enable alpha blending for textures without an existing blending effect
fancy_transparency = on

# display frames per second counter in upper right corner
show_fps = no

# display some real-time debug information
show_stats = no

# store external textures in a compressed cache for increased performance
# compression is not lossless, some artifacts may appear when this option is in use
# texture cache does NOT update automatically if the source image changes, however, deleting anything from the cache
# will cause that file to be recreated from the source
compress_textures = yes

# replace FF7's default framelimiter timer source
use_new_timer = yes

# use a more stable (but less accurate) timer to control FF7's framelimiter
# this option has no effect unless the use_new_timer option is on
use_stable_timer = no

# plugin used to play movies, FFMpeg is the only choice for now
movie_plugin = plugins/ffmpeg_movies.fgp

# vertex and fragment shaders
vert_source = shaders/main.vert
frag_source = shaders/main.frag

# YUV fast path shader
yuv_source = shaders/yuv.frag



## MODDER OPTIONS ##
## These options are mostly useful to modders and should not be enabled during normal play.

# read files directly instead of using LGP archives
# for example; if FF7 is looking for aaab.rsd in char.lgp, this option will make it open direct/char/aaab.rsd first,
# if this file doesn't exist it will look for the original in the LGP archive
direct_mode = off

# show every failed attempt at loading a .png texture
show_missing_textures = no

This is the CFG file settings I just recently tried with. Please help me out.
« Last Edit: 2010-11-12 05:20:00 by Enkixx »

titeguy3

  • *
  • Posts: 1283
  • A jack of all trades
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #1 on: 2010-11-11 02:24:42 »
you're trying to run it in fullscreen 640x480. Specify your monitor's optimum resolution to get it to work.

Enkixx

  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #2 on: 2010-11-11 14:07:12 »
1366 x 768. I tried setting it to that already though... didn't work

philman

  • *
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #3 on: 2010-11-11 19:55:17 »
try put window size for fullscreen resolution ex: window size (my is 1280x1024) and fullscreen=yes

but if you have team avalanche graphical overhaul see if you is lower or high quality.

sl1982

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3764
  • GUI Master :P
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #4 on: 2010-11-11 20:39:46 »
You need to change window_size_x and y to the desired resolution. Leaving them at 0 will not work.

titeguy3

  • *
  • Posts: 1283
  • A jack of all trades
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #5 on: 2010-11-11 20:45:46 »
if it isn't working, run the game along with FF7Music. I can tell you what the problem is with a look at the contents of FF7Music's debug console.

Enkixx

  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #6 on: 2010-11-12 05:17:39 »
I have tried to set the resolution to many different settings including 1366 by 768, and it has failed over and over again. I have re-installed is about 3-4 time now and haven't installed Avalanche since the first time figuring that it may be the problem but to no avail. I installed FF7music and can post whatever needs to be posted but I am not completely sure what you are talking about...but...

Code: [Select]
INFO: FF7/FF8 OpenGL driver version 0.7.9b
INFO: Auto-detected version: FF7 1.02 US English
ERROR: failed to set fullscreen mode
INFO: Intel Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family 2.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2141
INFO: OpenGL 2.0 support detected
INFO: Found swap_control extension
INFO: Max texture size: 4096x4096
INFO: Number of texture units: 8
INFO: Original resolution 640x480, window size 640x480, output resolution 640x480, internal resolution 640x480
INFO: Shader limits: varying 41, vert uniform 512, frag uniform 1024
INFO: vertex shader compile log: No errors.
INFO: fragment shader compile log: No errors.
INFO: main program link log: No errors.
INFO: FFMpeg movie player plugin loaded
INFO: FFMpeg version SVN-r21874, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 Fabrice Bellard, et al.
LOCK UNLOCK TEST
MATRIX INITIALIZE
INITIALIZE DD/D3D END
initializing sound...
creating dsound primary buffer
reading audio file
loading static sounds
sound initialized
INITIALIZING MIDI...
selecting device 0:Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth, mid=1, pid=27,
midi data type: GENERAL MIDI
using midi data file: C:\Program Files\Final Fantasy 7\Data\midi\midi.lgp
midiOutGetVolume returned: ffffffff
MIDI INITIALIZED
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
set music volume: 127
MIDI set master volume: 100
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Entering MAIN
Exiting MAIN
START OF CREDITS!!!
INFO: G:\FF7\Movies\eidoslogo.avi; truemotion2/pcm_u8 320x240, 15.000000 FPS, duration: 10.133333, frames: 152
set music volume trans: 127->0, step=60
MIDI set volume trans: 127->0; step=60
MIDI stop - OK
MIDI stop - OK
END OF CREDITS!!!
Entering MAIN
set music volume: 127
MIDI set volume: 127
100% of 127 = 127
Exiting MAIN
START OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
WM_CLOSE
END OF MENU SYSTEM!!!
Field Quit
MIDI stop - OK
resetting MIDI driver volume - OK
UNINITIALIZE DD
END UNINITIALIZE DD
Pretty sure that was what you are talking about though.
« Last Edit: 2010-11-12 05:19:18 by Enkixx »

ice_cold513

  • *
  • Posts: 494
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #7 on: 2010-11-12 07:22:45 »
My GF got the same gcard in her laptop
I had the same problem too, till i updated the drivers for it then it broke again then i had to right click the desktop pick graphics properties

wait for it to load and pick
display
scaling   Maintain aspect ratio


full screen now works for me

Enkixx

  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Full screen error
« Reply #8 on: 2010-11-12 20:16:00 »
Thank you for that, seems to be fine now!