Author Topic: Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]  (Read 761770 times)

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #500 on: 2009-06-04 14:04:05 »
Slight problem on my laptop. Even with battleswirl_framelimiter and vsync set to true, the swirl isn't working.

Most of the time the game flickers from black to the last rendered frame rapidly while the swirl is meant to be displayed. Other times, it'll just be skipped as if it wasn't there.

It is probably another limitation with my GL, but I thought I'll mention it in case it is fixable.

That may already have been fixed actually, there was a problem with GLs that don't have FBO support that would cause all framebuffer effects to fail.

polaris_027

  • Guest
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #501 on: 2009-06-04 14:24:12 »
UMM..how do you change the resolution?

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #502 on: 2009-06-04 14:28:36 »
UMM..how do you change the resolution?

Open ff7_opengl.cfg with notepad and edit "set window size" and "custom internal resolution" as desired. After you've done that, just save (and make sure you don't change the file name).

There are instructions in the document itself.

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #503 on: 2009-06-04 14:31:52 »
@Aali

The laptop that doesn't work with
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0

works with
window_size_x = 1280
window_size_y = 960

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0

The problem is that it only supports 1280x800 so the game exceeds the screen.

What should I do?

Kudistos Megistos

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 3929
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #504 on: 2009-06-04 14:33:57 »
Have you tried setting internal resolution to 1280x960?

That's what I do with my laptop (1440x900). It looks good  :wink:

Grimmy

  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Join in my tarnished light.
    • View Profile
    • GrimmyGames
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #505 on: 2009-06-04 14:38:10 »
You could run @ 960x720. Then it won't exceed your screen. Also that's a good size for window mode.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #506 on: 2009-06-04 15:18:18 »
Err, people, don't set internal resolution unless you have a very good reason to do so. prevent_rounding_errors will automatically find the optimal configuration for your system. (Unless you're JUST above some multiple of 640x480 and have FBO support, that could be a bit of a waste of resources since it will render in the nearest higher multiple, but this is pretty much the only case where you might want to change the internal resolution manually)

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #507 on: 2009-06-04 15:46:32 »
OK I'll show all results using Laptop with maximum resolution of 1280x800

All of this have
preserve_aspect =  true
fullscreen = true
prevent_rounding_errors = true/false just the same I guess

1. (WORKS BUT WITH PROBLEMS) Works but exceeds screen size so the screen is cropped.
window_size_x = 1280
window_size_y = 960

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0

2. Error: Internal Resolution Too high,... ; Asks me to write emergency save ; Then closes.
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0

internal_size_x = 1280
internal_size_y = 960

3. (WORKS BUT WITH PROBLEMS) Error: No useful indirect path found,... ; The game loads at upper left corner and not full screen you can still see windows (a lot on the right side and buttom)
window_size_x = 960
window_size_y = 720

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0

4. Error: Internal Resulution too high,... ; Asks me to write emergency save ; Then closes.
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0

internal_size_x = 960
internal_size_y = 720

5. Error: No useful indirect path found,... ; Asks me to write emergency save ; Then closes.
window_size_x = 1024
window_size_y = 768

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0

6. Warning: Your graphics driver does not support NPOT textures,... ; Error: Internal Resulution too high,... ; Asks me to write emergency save ; Then closes.
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0

internal_size_x = 1024
internal_size_y = 768

7. Error: Asks me to write emergency save ; Then Closes
window_size_x = 0
window_size_y = 0

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0


whew, mannn that's a lot of trial and error please help

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #508 on: 2009-06-04 15:50:53 »
If only number 3 goes full screen then I'll have no problem.

3. (WORKS BUT WITH PROBLEMS) Error: No useful indirect path found,... ; The game loads at upper left corner and not full screen you can still see windows (a lot on the right side and buttom)
window_size_x = 960
window_size_y = 720

internal_size_x = 0
internal_size_y = 0


Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #509 on: 2009-06-04 17:10:55 »
Seems like you have some really shitty drivers for your graphics card there.. I have to ask though, why didn't you try 1280x800?

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #510 on: 2009-06-04 17:19:59 »
sorry I forgot to post it it kinda says NPOT

Idec Sdawkminn

  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • -im the real idec (REALLY)-
    • View Profile
    • My Facebook
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #511 on: 2009-06-04 17:26:02 »
Seems like you have some really sh*tty drivers for your graphics card there.. I have to ask though, why didn't you try 1280x800?
Heh, that's what I was thinking. I have a 24" widescreen and I set the window size to 1920x1200, which is 16:10, leaving the internals to 0. It shows the game perfectly with black on the left and right. I set it to 1280x720 when doing a Youtube video.

sorry I forgot to post it it kinda says NPOT
From your examples, the only time it said NPOT is when you set the internal resolution to 1024x768. Are you trying the window size as 1280x800 and the internal resolution to 0? The aspect ratio option should make the game 1066 or 1067x800 while the screen is 1280x800.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #512 on: 2009-06-04 17:32:46 »
Ah, well, if you don't have NPOT textures that won't work since it can't scale the output.

Your best bet is probably 640x480 window mode. Unless you can get newer drivers for your card.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #513 on: 2009-06-04 19:39:02 »
What the... Why did you censor out your name?

Aint my name.  Someone chose a stupid name for cloud and I havet bothered removing it :P

Hellbringer616

  • *
  • Posts: 1913
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #514 on: 2009-06-05 00:33:03 »
Another great update for a great driver, Thanks Aali  :-D

obesebear

  • *
  • Posts: 1389
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #515 on: 2009-06-05 03:04:17 »
Now I'm not sure what all your driver can accomplish, but I was wondering...
When running in windowed mode if you click the X to close FF7, the process is still running meaning the task manager must be opened to stop it... can your driver eliminate this?

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #516 on: 2009-06-05 03:05:12 »
Now I'm not sure what all your driver can accomplish, but I was wondering...
When running in windowed mode if you click the X to close FF7, the process is still running meaning the task manager must be opened to stop it... can your driver eliminate this?

Doesnt do this in vista x64 which is a welcomed change in windows.

But drove me mad in xp.

Aali

  • *
  • Posts: 1196
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #517 on: 2009-06-05 03:24:39 »
Now I'm not sure what all your driver can accomplish, but I was wondering...
When running in windowed mode if you click the X to close FF7, the process is still running meaning the task manager must be opened to stop it... can your driver eliminate this?

Works For Me(tm)
I'm running XP, but there's no reason why it shouldn't work on any version of windows. FF7 should recieve its WM_CLOSE message all the same.

drfeelgud88

  • *
  • Posts: 1355
  • da DOC iz here!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #518 on: 2009-06-05 04:29:27 »
ya i remember i had to end the process in order to play ff7 again.. ya it was a pain for XP but on my vista there's no need... finally a good thing in vista that deals with ff7 haha  :-P

Terid__K

  • Guest
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #519 on: 2009-06-05 04:44:20 »
Turn off compatibility mode if you have it on. That's what prevents the process from closing if you're in Windows XP.

By the way, the frame rate is dropping considerably in areas that have too many models together. It doesn't matter what resolution I play at, the performance hit is always the same. A good example of this is the house full of cats in Wutai. This sort of thing never happened with the default D3D driver.

EDIT: I'm playing on XP SP2, if that helps.
« Last Edit: 2009-06-05 04:58:31 by Terid__K »

Covarr

  • Covarr-Let
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3941
  • Just Covarr. No "n".
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #520 on: 2009-06-05 04:48:19 »
Turn off compatibility mode if you have it on. That's what prevents the process from closing if you're in Windows XP.

If I turn off compat mode, FF7 Music stops working.

DLPB_

  • Banned
  • *
  • Posts: 11006
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #521 on: 2009-06-05 04:54:37 »
Turn off compatibility mode if you have it on. That's what prevents the process from closing if you're in Windows XP.

By the way, the frame rate is dropping considerably in areas that have too many models together. It doesn't matter what resolution I play at, the performance hit is always the same. A good example of this is the house full of cats in Wutai. This sort of thing never happened with the default D3D driver.



Vista X64 SP2, Geforce 7900 GS Latest drivers, Latest fraps, 640*480 window mode (full screen makes no difference either), vsync


Since you brought this up I will bring up some issues I have with graphics, these didnt occur in XP like this.  But for reference:

XP x86.   All graphics fine, except field graphics i.e in towns. 

In town/field:  Played at 29-30 fps but stuttered all the time.  Refresh rate of monitor had no affect.  Recorded at 27-28 with fraps and stuttered all the more.

Vista X64:

All graphics fine except field graphics.

In town/field:  refresh rate seems to matter a lot....

Anything other than 60 Hz and the field frame rate is 25.  It will also record at 25.  Funnily enough it seems to play smoother like this but obviously it is too slow anyway. 

At 60 Hz:  Plays at 30 fps with same stutter issues as Xp, but again will record at 25 fps.

----------

I am baffled.  It seems now that vista doesnt like vsync with refresh rates not divisible by the original frame rate ??

Maybe it is just my gcard?? I dunno....
« Last Edit: 2009-06-05 05:52:50 by Seifer Almasy »

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #522 on: 2009-06-05 05:50:33 »
Finally got it working on the laptop 1280x800

1. I upgraded the driver to the latest from Intel.com
2. intalled ff7_opengl-0.6.7b

use_shaders = true

window_size_x = 1280
window_size_y = 800
preserve_aspect = true/false
fullscreen = true

prevent_rounding_errors = false ; when I set this to true the image at the top gets messed up when I start to move and the screen scrolls or I open the menu.
Setting it to false made the game work very good.

enable_vsync = true

Thanks a lot Aali for the new driver. This driver just keeps getting better and better.
use_shaders switch nice nice nice :-D
The laptop is fine now

The only problem left is on the PC with GeForce FX5500 where
preserve_aspect = true doesn't work.
I already checked that I have the latest drivers.
Overall it works fine.

« Last Edit: 2009-06-05 06:07:05 by moses7 »

Drahcir

  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #523 on: 2009-06-05 06:49:49 »
Slight problem on my laptop. Even with battleswirl_framelimiter and vsync set to true, the swirl isn't working.

Most of the time the game flickers from black to the last rendered frame rapidly while the swirl is meant to be displayed. Other times, it'll just be skipped as if it wasn't there.

It is probably another limitation with my GL, but I thought I'll mention it in case it is fixable.

That may already have been fixed actually, there was a problem with GLs that don't have FBO support that would cause all framebuffer effects to fail.

Just tried your latest version, while the "ERROR: GL_INVALID_OPERATION" is no longer in the log, the swirl still isn't displayed.

moses7

  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Custom graphics driver for FF7/FF8 [v.1-.7.6]
« Reply #524 on: 2009-06-05 08:33:45 »

[/quote]

Just tried your latest version, while the "ERROR: GL_INVALID_OPERATION" is no longer in the log, the swirl still isn't displayed.
[/quote]

Try patching it with YAMP, I did it on the laptop where
battleswirl_framelimiter = true didn't work
and you can't almost see the swirl because it's too fast.